#237

 


While the students were chatting and praising each other’s student councils, only the student council presidents of the two schools were looking at each other without exchanging a word.

 

The result of the voting was a victory for the Sakuranaoka School side.

No one could complain about the result, since it was the result of votes, not some opinion.

 

From the point of view of everyone except Sera, this contest was part of the excitement of the festival and a place for exchange of ideas.

It would be good if we could make a connection so that this would not be a one-off event.

It may be that school events, and the students involved in them, are meant to be a beacon for others to follow.

 

Sera, however, differs slightly.

There is no doubt that she, too, is walking as a beacon for the juniors I just mentioned.

Otherwise, no one would be interested in following her.

 

However, she is equally concerned about winning over one student, Hiiragi Akane, and has made the most of school events to compete.

Her approach differs from those around her.

 

It would not be surprising if they had an argument.

Well, she doesn’t seem like the kind of person who would act so childishly, so I watched them from a little distance.

 

While I was thinking about just which of them would open their mouths first, Sera’s appearance started to change.

Her gaze dropped down, her shoulders shook, and her fists clenched tightly.

 

At the sight of this, a bad image played in my brain.

She might lean forward and raise his clenched fist. …Such thoughts ended up being groundless as soon as Sera looked up.

 

“Aaaaahhh! I’ve lost!”

 

“…”

 

The stiff atmosphere vanishes in an instant as she tosses her glasses and slumps to the ground, seemingly not thinking a millimeter about getting soiled by sitting on the ground.

 

The fist that was clenched repeatedly against her own thigh, and large drops of tears were pooling in the corners of her eyes.

Not only me, Shizuku and the others, but also President stood there with their eyes wide open at Sera’s sudden change.

 

“President, please don’t cry like a child.”

 

“Just a little more time, a bit more!”

 

“No, we have to follow the rules.”

 

The student standing by Sera’s side was a female student whom I had frequently seen since the preparation stage.

I believe she was the vice president.

 

The fact that she is used to Sera’s sudden changes, and is handling the situation as if she were her sister, suggests that this kind of situation is an everyday occurrence for her as vice president.

Having the person she trusts the most and who is closest to her by her side must be reassuring to Sera.

 

“No, no. I hate it!” President chuckled at Sera, who was still sitting down, saying something that even an elementary school student wouldn’t say.

 

“I’m sure this isn’t the last time we’ll be in the same place… so I’d be happy if we could continue to have friendly competition.”

 

 

“…”

 

At President’s words, Sera stared at her jitters and fell silent.

The way she reaches out her hand gently is a scene that looks like it could be out of a painting somewhere.

 

…Is this really a high school festival?

It is shocking to see a scene that’s hardly believable spread out before my eyes.

 

A woman as gentle as the Holy Mother reaches out her hand to a young child.

Hino’s single-lens camera must be for this moment.

 

It’s really photogenic, nice-natured looking.

I’m just putting words together without really understanding what they mean, to be honest.

I mean, why do they want to put katakana words together, those college students with a camera hobby?

 

I look at the smiling scene in front of me, thinking that I should ask Hino-kun about it sometime.

 

“But this would be my last chance to compete with you…”

 

Sera herself had told me before that this would be her last chance.

Both of them are in their third year of high school, so the chances of them getting involved after going on to higher education are slim.

 

There is a saying that friends of friends are strangers, but to be honest, sometimes I think the word ‘friend’ is also ambiguous.

After graduating from school, most of us spend our lives without having anything to do with each other.

It is not uncommon to hear stories of people who said they were friends but never saw each other after graduating from school…

 

The only people who see each other after school are those who can be called best friends.

In other words, what kind of relationship is a friend?

 

Is it just me, or do I feel that the friendship of the students surrounding Shizuku and Yuuto who call them friends, is not really real but just being always conscious of each other, setting their sights on them and just fulfilling their desires?

 

Sera’s small murmur made President’s mouth relax with a surprised expression on her face.

She lets out something that resembles a slight sigh and shakes her head.

 

“It’s not the last time, I’m planning to attend college somewhere I can commute from home… and as long as you want to be involved in the future, I’ll be happy to oblige.”

 

“Eh…?”

 

Sera is not the only one.

Koizumi and Miura, as well as students from both schools who were nearby, let out a gasp of amazement.

 

Who would have thought that a student who is hailed as the greatest genius of all time, even if it is a small place in a town near the countryside, would not leave the countryside to attend college?

 

Without exaggeration, she is more than capable of going on to the most prestigious universities in the country.

She has tons of potential.

 

In the back of their minds, the teachers must be hoping that some of their graduates will go on to famous universities.

In her third year, she should have been offered a place to go on to higher education.

 

However, President chose this town.

tudents were astonished by this and let out a voice.

 

“I love this town… and I want to work here in the future.”

 

She lifted her gaze from Sera and looked up to look around her, and then looked at us.

I had never heard her talk about the future.

I had expected her to be a researcher or a business manager, but to want to be involved in a rural town, she really is an extraordinary one.

 

“Anyway, this is not the last time. You can challenge me again when you want to.”

 

She stood up straight and confidently told her with the dignity of the winner, attracting the attention of many students.

 

Unexpectedly, Sera could not hold back the tears that were welling up in the corners of her eyes and embraced the vice president.

Stroking her head, the vice-president smiled wryly and gave President a small bow.

Nodding back and turning on her heel, President returned to us and said.

 

“Now then, let’s return to our primary duties. Everyone go back to your scheduled places and cooperate with the management.”

 

With these words, Koizumi and the others returned from being students who were enjoying the festival to being in charge of the operation.

As I was about to follow the people who had scattered to do my patrolling part, I was called from behind.

 

“Minato-kun, will you be participating in the evening festivities after the closing ceremony?”

 

President and Kirasaka were standing next to Shizuku when she asked the question.

The night after the festival… I honestly don’t intend to participate in it.

As for the after-party, it is an individual participation, just bring what you have too much of and make a lot of noise.

 

That is the main stage for energetic people.

Many of the other students will go home.

For the students who are not invited to the event, it’s just a painful time.

 

Naturally, I don’t participate in the party, but as long as they call me, I guess I’m going to join them.

 

 

“No, I’m not in.”

 

“Well, if so …could you give us a few moments of your time?”

 

She turned her gaze toward the rooftop that I used to spend my boring time on.

She seemed to be asking me to come there.

Kirasaka and President seem to be waiting for an answer without uttering a word.

 

“…I’ll come when I’m done with my work.”

 

“Thank you!”

 

When I gave a short reply, I could not help but sigh at the appearance of my childhood friend who was delighted, with her expression beaming like a flower.

 

Kirasaka, perhaps relieved, dropped her shoulders and quickly stepped in a different direction and walked away.

 

The only ones left were me and President..

 

“Shinra was patrolling right? I’ll come around with you.”

 

“…”

 

“Don’t look like you don’t want to, come on, let’s go.”

 

No, I don’t like it.

It’s very noticeable, isn’t it? Or rather, it makes it impossible to skimp in the name of patrolling.

 

However, in my position as assistant, I have no choice but to obey the chairman.

Is this what you call an engaged relationship? …I don’t want to be a member of society.

 

Making her way through the crowd with her long brown hair waving, I followed the senior who was walking ahead of me.


<BbX> : Thought I’d try becoming more productive, so here’s the chapter for the consecutive 3rd day, dunno how long it’ll last tho. 🙂


Leave a Comment