The yard and the Dog

 


 

The school festival was over, and it was a time before the arrival of full-blown winter.

In the yard of the Shinra household, us siblings are sitting side by side, holding our knees.

 

Our gazes were straight ahead in the same direction.

Something that is common in many other households, but did not exist in the Shinra family, was in front of them for a short period of time.

 

“Woof!”

 

“Gu~”

 

“So cute.”

 

A small, brown, cotton candy-like fur wrapped dog.

A toy poodle was running around the Shinra family’s yard in every direction.

 

The siblings were looking at it with a curious look on their faces.

No, seriously, isn’t it too cute?

 

It’s cute all the way round.

The dog’s name is ‘Nico’, and it looks smaller than other dogs I’ve seen in the neighborhood, perhaps because of its small skeleton.

 

Indeed, I was impressed by the smiling expression on its face as it sat on the floor and looked at me, which made me think that the name was appropriate.
<BbX: Nico-nico means something along the lines of smiling.>

 

Anyway, if you ask why there is a tiny poodle in our house, there is a long and grandiose reason for it.

 

A neighbor went on a trip.

Yup, that’s the whole reason.

 

To explain more precisely, the old couple who owned the house on the opposite side of the street from the house with a cat, having their children had all grown up and left, won a trip to a hot spring in the shopping arcade.

So we decided to take care of their pet for a day since they were going on a two-day and one-night trip.

I didn’t realize that the shopping district was also holding a lucky draw amidst the excitement of the cultural festival. I wish I had participated when I went there with Shizuku.

 

Kaede, of course, did not refuse, and since it was the weekend, I had no reason to say no. So I agreed.

However, when a dog is in front of you, you don’t know how to treat it.

How to treat dogs for inexperienced dog owners… While thinking of a suitably cool line, I scrolled the screen of my smartphone that I rarely used.

 

The amount of exercise, the appropriate time of day to eat.

There are so many things I don’t understand, and I’m looking up precautions in addition to the information I’ve heard from the owner.

 

“Woof! Woof”

 

“Gu~ gu~!”

 

Communication between dogs and humans.

 

Kaede’s face breaks into tears as she rolls the ball in her hand and Nico runs to get it, his short tail wagging wildly.

Even with just this, her face is still on the verge of crying.

 

…It’s not bad, is it?

It would be great to have them travel once a week and I can keep them for them, no problem at all.

It’s easier than a pet hotel and free of charge, that’s the Shinra family.

 

However, when the yard of our supposedly quiet home became lively, the whole house naturally seemed to have changed in a bright and cheerful way.

Because it’s just the two of us, I had long since forgotten about it.

 

“Haa …it’s too cute.”

 

Kaede muttered as she sighed entranced with both hands on her cheeks.

She’s completely melting down…

 

Well, it’s true that even among small dogs, it’s even smaller due to its skeletal structure, and with its lovely eyes and nose, plus the fact that it’s so friendly, anyone would fall in love with it.

 

Nico, who somehow dropped the ball I was supposed to have thrown at Kaede’s feet next to me, raised his gaze, wagged his tail from side to side as if to say, ‘Praise me.’

 

…It’s a shame, Nico-kun.

But it’s also good.

 

I forgive you even if you don’t bring it back to me for being too cute.

I don’t feel sorry that he didn’t bring it to back me.

If I just didn’t think so, I wouldn’t have such thoughts.

 

For a while, Kaede stroked it’s head and tummy, and when I was relaxed watching it walk around the garden, I heard a small murmur from next to me.

 

“Did something good happen to you, Nii-san?”

 

“…Nothing particularly.”

 

I think back and recall if anything good has happened recently.

Nope, end of story.

 

Still thinking of something that comes to mind, Kaede continues and opens her mouth.

 

“Up until the school festival, you could say that brother was a little overwhelmed… I felt like you were pushing yourself too hard, but now that’s not the case.”

 

I was convinced while looking at Nico running around happily a little ahead of me.

Certainly, there have been some changes.

 

But is it because we are a family that she noticed the slightest change?

Or is it that my sister has a better eye for observation?

 

Either way, I spoke a few words to Kaede, who was waiting for an answer.

 

“A burden has been lifted from my heart …well it may only be temporary.”

 

It’s true that what Shizuku said to me on the rooftop did lighten the burden on my heart.

It may be a postponed thing, but at that time when I was feeling impatient with myself for not changing, the affirmation of being unchanged may be a good thing like Kaede said.

 

“I don’t expect you to talk to me because we are siblings …as long as my brother is spending his time as usual, that’s all that matters to me.”

 

Kaede told me with a smile and leaned in close to my arm, filling the space that was about one person’s worth of empty space.

A breath of relief escapes me as I feel the slightest warmth on my arms through my clothes.

 

 

“If I would’ve stumbled, would you have taken care of me?”

 

“Yes, you can count on me for that.”

 

I pat my smiling sister on the head and direct my gaze forward.

It’s an ordinary day, but the fact that I was able to make time for an aimless conversation with my sister is probably thanks to the fact that Nico is staying with us.

 

That’s why I fed him jerky for snacks.

Definitely not because I want him to feel attached to me or something.

 

No, definitely not.

This day became a day when a sister and her brother spent talking about trivial things.

 

I thought I was a self-proclaimed cat person, but dogs are not bad either.

They are visibly sweet and responsive, which is more enjoyable than anything else.

 

However, I will never forget the way he ran up to my sister when we parted on the last day.


Leave a Comment