#244


Later on, when Shizuku and Kirasaka eventually returned to the classroom after that incident, the boys in their group were still chatting and giggling.

And then, they apparently proposed the idea of merging with Yuuto’s group as a common opinion.

The result goes without saying.
They readily agreed.

To be honest, enjoying the school trip was the goal. It must have been an unexpected proposal to be able to share the same group with Yuuto.

After obtaining the boys’ approval, the two of them headed to the staff room.

They brought up the idea of merging with the homeroom teacher and conveyed that all members were in agreement.

Upon receiving the updated list of members from the teacher, they returned to the student council room with smiles on their faces.

The way they walked to the student council room was so light that not only I but all the members must have guessed it from just one glance at them.

Gradually, the atmosphere within the classroom became more peaceful. As days passed, the second-year building underwent a transformation, generating anticipation.

And on the day before the school trip, I was calling my mother on the international phone from my living room.

The reason was to ask what souvenirs she would like.

After a few rings, a familiar voice came through the receiver.

 

“Yes, yes my dear son?”

 

“How did you know it’s not Kaede…”

 

As soon as we started talking, I couldn’t help but wonder if this person might be an esper.

Maybe it’s mother’s intuition.

Hearing my mother’s voice after a long time brought a subtle sense of calm, and a smile appeared on my lips.

 

“Since it’s the school trip tomorrow… is there something you’d like me to bring back?”

 

“Mom would be happy with anything Minato buys for me.”

 

She has the same youthful voice as always. This time, I couldn’t help but smile wryly.

The contrast in a call with Dad is remarkable…

However, if there’s nothing specific she wants, I’ll just choose something from Minato-kun’s list of choices, so something like sweets would be fine.

As I was thinking of appropriate parting words, mom said to me first.

 

“Take care and have a great trip, Minato.”

 

“It’s not like I’m traveling alone. You don’t need to worry so much.”

 

“A mother always worries about her child.”

 

I could imagine my mother’s gentle face as she said that.

She’s probably smiling and squinting her eyes.

Thinking that, I suddenly felt embarrassed, which is typical for a teenage boy.

 

“Well then, I’d better go.”

 

“Ah, wait, Minato.”

 

As I was about to say goodbye and hang up, she interrupted me.

Then there was silence for a few seconds.

“…Did you have something you wanted me to bring back after all?”

 

“Umm… no, it’s nothing. Good night, Minato.”

 

When she said that, she gently placed the receiver down as if nothing happened.

The sound of the call ending echoed, leaving a slight sense of unease.

“She usually calls me ‘Minato-chan’…”

 

There’s something she still can’t say.

Both Mom and Kaede are terrible at keeping secrets, which is easy to guess from the way they speak.

A slight unease churned in my chest, but there’s no point in endlessly pondering about what I don’t know.

I proceeded with the packing that I had stopped halfway through.

The day of the school trip arrived.

In front of the Shinra house, a luxury car was parked.

You could tell it was a high-end car at first glance.

At 6 in the morning, I, Shizuku, and Yuuto were going to the airport in the Kirasaka family car. We handed our luggage to the driver, Kuroi-san.

Next to Kaede, who came out to see us off, there stood President.

At President’s suggestion, she would be looking after Kaede during the three days I was away.

 

It’s reassuring to have President by her side in the absence of our parents.

It was surprising that they had interacted and bonded during the cultural festival, but Kaede accepted President’s offer without any resistance.

 

“Take care and enjoy your trip, Nii-san.”

 

“I’ll do my best… I’ll send photos.”

 

After Kuroi-san loaded the last piece of luggage into the trunk, I gave my thanks and then got into the car. I waved lightly to my sister before getting in.

They watched us until the slowly moving car was out of sight.

Inside the car, Shizuku and Yuuto were chatting, while Kirasaka was quietly opened a bookmarked page in her book.

The most significant event of our high school life had finally arrived. I wondered what kind of experience it would be.

Enough of that, back to present.

Waking up early in the morning, the journey to the airport in the car, my consciousness gradually became hazy.

It’s not that I’m sleep-deprived, but it’s just that early mornings and I don’t get along, so I’m tired.

I lean back and close my eyes, partly because the seat I’m sitting on is unnecessarily comfortable.

 

Whenever the car sways and Shizuku’s and Kirasaka’s shoulders touch mine, I open my eyes with a jolt and close them again.

But gradually, I began to feel that the occasional touch on my shoulders wasn’t just due to the car’s movement.

It’s a slow, subtle feeling, like being pulled slightly left and right, that travels through my arms.

 

It’s a slow but unnatural sensation that keeps me awake.

However, just before I lose complete consciousness, voices from both sides reach my ears.

 

“Kirasaka-san, please let go of Minato’s hand.”

 

“And maybe you should let go of the arm you’re casually holding onto too?”

 

Yeah… it’s my fault for closing my eyes and trying to sleep.

But I whispered in my heart before letting go of my consciousness that I was embarrassed to ask them to quit arguing with each other in the car with Yuuto and Kuroi-san present.

 

Time flies when you are asleep.

Yuuto’s voice woke me up to a large building outside the window.

‘Haneda Airport Parking’

 

I noticed something when I put strength into my legs to loosen my stiff body.

Both of my shoulders are unusually heavy.

And then, a gentle floral scent tickled my nostrils.

Moving my gaze to the side, Kirasaka was sleeping with her head on my right shoulder and Shizuku onto my left shoulder.

 

“You’ve got a flower in both the hands”

 

“Or, more accurately, a head on both the shoulders”‘

 

When I jokingly muttered in a low, sleepy voice, Yuuto, who had already taken down his luggage, gave me a sharp shove.

 

How can I wake them up in a situation where even my arms are pinned down?

Can someone please tell me?

A gentle wake-up call in the ear is the protagonist’s way.

And since I am not one ….I woke them up with a light head butt for now.

 

I’ll call this the ‘Morninghead’.

As a new way of waking up, I even have to summarize it in my graduation thesis and present it.

After grabbing my luggage and thanking Kuroi-san for the ride, the four of us stepped inside the airport.


<BbX> : Yeah, I’m back, I was procrastinating as always.


2 Comments

  1. jasad says:

    welcome back~ ^_^
    thx for the new chapter~

    Like

    1. BrutalBotX says:

      Glad to have ya’ll back too. 😆

      Like

Leave a Comment