246 


 

The students of Sakuranaoka Academy, after arriving at Naha Airport, boarded a bus arranged by the school, heading towards Shuri Castle.

Along the way, the bus guide told us about the history and various information about Okinawa.

As for the general information, each student does their own research before going on the school trip.
However, the guide, who spoke eloquently about detailed local knowledge and other details, was a pleasure to listen to.

However, there were many who were already starting to doze off.

 

“…”

 

Sitting by the window inside the bus, I gazed at the Okinawan scenery.
It was noticeably different from Kanagawa, where I lived, in terms of architecture and shops.

While the airport area was modern and developed, taking a drive through the city revealed distinct differences.
The predominant use of red in the color scheme, the presence of Shisa statues in various places, and even the appearance of convenience stores surprised me.

Even the major convenience store chain, which usually had a blue theme, had changed its exterior to a dark brown here.

The cityscape, which is different from the usual, is interesting to see as a tourist.

 

A school trip’s primary purpose was for students to visit historically significant places and learn from firsthand experiences.

Reflecting on my middle school trip to Kyoto and Nara, I couldn’t recall any particularly enjoyable memories.
However, I vividly remembered feeling awe at historical and cultural sites, realizing the significance of history and technology.

 

During that trip, we didn’t have any extra worries, and Yuuto chatted happily while Shizuku was also unusually excited.

Travel had a way of liberating people’s hearts.

Without exception, this time is the same.

 

Some students asked questions during the bus guide’s explanation, not necessarily because they were deeply interested but because of sheer excitement.

Brightening the mood inside the bus, making conversations lively, and being at the center of discussions was enjoyable for them.

I looked at Yuuto, who was sitting next to me, handing me the gum he had brought with him, and I silently accepted it.
Smiling, he too tossed one into his mouth.

Turning his gaze towards our classmates, Yuuto leaned slightly forward and called out to the students from the central aisle in front of us.

 

“Do you both want some gum too?”

 

“It’s alright.”

 

“I’ll refrain.”

 

Although their responses were lost amid the bus’s chatter, they reached us clearly.

I couldn’t see his expression, but I couldn’t help but smile bitterly as he was immediately refused.

Reluctantly, Yuuto straightens his posture and lets out a breath as he looks outside the window.

 

We’re close to our destination.

Since the name of Shurijo Castle can be seen here and there on signboards, etc., it is likely that the crowd will last for a while.

However, this closeness also represents human relationships.

 

If there are no designated seats on a train, the seating will naturally be decided by faction or influence.

Quiet students in the front, noisy students in the back.

High school students are simply divided into two like that.

 

When we were getting on the bus, Yuuto and his friends, regardless of gender, were calling out to them from behind, but we sat down a little in front of them.

Nakayama and Miyashita were at the back of the line, as well as many mischievous students with bright hair.

They could be described as ‘sunny’ students.
In terms of the school’s social hierarchy, these upper-tier students carried themselves with confidence and were making a commotion.

Some of the students sitting in front of them glanced back with slightly furrowed brows, but none of them uttered a word of complaint.

 

It was an unspoken agreement.

As long as the teacher didn’t find a reason to intervene, this was a lawless zone…

But speculatively speaking, our bus seemed somewhat quieter than the others.

 

The reason was straightforward.

There were three students on this bus who held significant influence and power.

Shizuku, Yuuto, and Kirasaka.

As long as these three were around, the students in the back couldn’t get away with being too rowdy.

The classmates who wanted to make this trip a great memory by involving these three had already stumbled in securing seats on this bus.

 

 

“We’ll be arriving shortly.”

The female guide announced, causing the students to momentarily raise their voices in excitement.

They quickly stored their valuables and minimal writing tools in their uniform pockets, preparing for the upcoming stop.

Once the bus parked at Shuri Castle’s designated parking area, each class gathered together and began walking toward the site.

 

“…It’s a Real Shisa.”

 

“It’s the real thing, the real Shisa.”

 

The Shisa guardian statues sitting just in front of the large gate were weathered due to the elements.

But that was part of their charm. Yeah.

 

I didn’t miss the moment when Kirasaka passed by.

Thinking of sending a photo to Kaede, I activated the camera on my smartphone for the first time in a while and took a picture.

After capturing all the permissible areas on camera, it was finally time to proceed to Shuri Castle’s main hall.

 

Passing through the gate and entering what appeared to be a large hall, the view opened up to reveal a collection of predominantly red buildings.

 

“From now on, it’s the Shuri Castle…”

 

As we looked at the historical significance of the buildings before us, the guide provided detailed explanations, including the time when it was designated as a World Heritage site.

 

“It’s amazing… I wish I could show this to Kaede-chan.”

 

“Her school is either going to Kyoto or Hokkaido, right?”

 

My sister wouldn’t have the chance to see this scenery unless she comes on a trip herself.

Shizuku, who was next to her and knew about it, muttered a little sadly.

Kirasaka, who was also nearby, seemed uninterested, probably because she had a vacation home.

 

“How about all of us coming again next time?”

 

“Troublesome…”

 

Going to the airport, enduring a long journey, exploring an unfamiliar place…

It all depended on whether you found it enjoyable or not.

Honestly, I didn’t like traveling far, even within the country.

Or rather, I didn’t want to leave my house at all.

I aspired to be the ultimate shut-in and wished for a future with self-employment and remote work.

 

However, my response was likely already anticipated, and no one paid it any mind.
So, Shizuku asked Kirasaka the same question without acknowledging my opinion.

 

“How about you, Kirasaka-san?”

 

“If Kaede-chan wants to go, I’ll make arrangements for the flights and accommodations. It’s only natural to do this much for my future little sister.”

 

“Then it’s settled, except for the part about your future sister.”

 

…What about my opinion?

Well, I won’t give you my sister.

 

Even if I say something like a father in a drama, I have the confidence to declare in front of her boyfriend that I wouldn’t hand her over to him.

I even had a plan ready, like taking her outside and then letting her go home alone as a way to test her. It was all perfectly thought out.

 

The two exchanged a brief, sharp gaze but quickly returned to their usual expressions.

Although I said it’s a hassle, I don’t intend to return back without making any memories, so I just tried to remember the scene in front of me.

 

After enjoying it enough, I noticed that a group of people had gathered at the edge of my field of vision.

Mostly led by Yuuto, many students were engaged in taking photographs.

…Is he an idol?

 

While making my way to a place with explanations about Shurijo Castle, I thought of listening in on their conversation, but it turned out to be something trivial.

 

“Aya, I want to take a picture with Ogiwara-kun, so please take a photo for us.”

 

“I want to take one next—”

 

“Hurry up! We’re running out of time, you know.”

 

Nakayama grabbed Yuuto’s arm and led him to the best photo spot.

As for Miyashita… or rather, her name is Aya, I just found out.

 

Miyashita, seemed like she was about to ask for a turn, but Nakayama promptly urged her to hurry up.

Although it was a slight change in her expression, she showed a dissatisfied look.

 

However, Nakayama didn’t pay any attention to such a small change.

Even though they were friends, there was already a clear hierarchy between the two.

 

Yuuto, feeling uncertain about whether he should intervene in their exchange, turned his gaze toward the camera.

I was behind them, and our gazes naturally met with Yuuto’s.

In his gaze that seemed to seek assistance, I couldn’t help but let out a sigh.

 

If our relationship had been shallower, I would have had to wonder about the meaning behind those eyes.

Even though I knew there was a need and that it wouldn’t lead to anything good for me, I walked over to where the three of them were.

 

“Okay, cheese… I got it, Yuu(Nakayama). This time—”

 

“Thank you! Everyone moved ahead, didn’t they?”

 

Nakayama received her smartphone back from Miyashita and went on to follow her classmates to the next destination.

As she sadly watched their departing figures, Nakayama held her own smartphone in her hand.

 

“…Yuuto, hurry up.”

 

I said as I stopped next to Miyashita.

I felt a momentarily displeased look directed at me from beside me, but I’m currently the ideal classmate.

I held out my hand and told her.

 

“Ah, thank you…”

 

Miyashita tidied her black hair and then handed me her smartphone.

Standing next to Yuuto, she adjusted her clothing and blushed slightly while turning her gaze towards me.

 

Fortunately, she was using the latest model of the smartphone I use, so there were no issues with the operation.

It was difficult to fit both of them in the frame with the building, so as I repeatedly shrunk the screen, Shizuku and Kirasaka peered at the same screen as if sandwiching our faces.

 

“A little farther apart might be better.”

 

“Is this okay?”

 

In response to Shizuku’s comment, Kirasaka adjusted the screen with her white fingers.

In accordance with that, I called out…

 

By the way, I’ve never really done photography of people before.
Do I just say ‘cheese’? I heard it can vary by region.

Since everyone seemed puzzled by my lack of pressing the capture button, I felt their eyes on me, so I decided to say something appropriate.

 

“Maltese.”

 

“A dog?”

 

“It’s a dog.”

 

The words I randomly chose received comments from both sides. For a moment, Yuuto and Miyashita had a vacant look on their faces, but then they smiled happily.

The captured expressions in the camera were photos of those smiling faces.

 

…Maybe I should become a photographer.

The cameraman accidentally took a shot that was beyond his ability.

 


 

Leave a Comment