SS-Days without brother-1


This is from Kaede’s perspective.

 

I watched as the car my brother had boarded grew smaller in the distance, waving my hand continually.

Then, a senior standing beside me asked.

 

“Kaede-chan, may I come in?”

 

“Yes, please.”

 

I accepted the president’s request and stepped forward to open the door. Extending my hand to gesture her in, the president smiled and entered the house.

Now we were alone in the living room. Just a short while ago, the seat where my brother used to be was empty. My gaze was fixed in the same place, and I already felt dejected knowing that I would witness the same scene for a few more days.

 

I couldn’t help but worry if my brother would be alright during the school trip. I let out a sigh, feeling like an overprotective parent.

The president, seated across from me, seemed to have sensed my thoughts. She gave a wry smile and spoke.

 

“Kanazaki and Rei are there too, so don’t worry about your brother. He’ll be fine.”

 

“Yes, that’s true… But I can’t help but think he might do something.”

 

Of course, I had many worries about his daily life. Despite being bad with mornings, would he wake up on time and eat his meals alone? He would be wearing his school uniform, and after he got back, would he hang his shirts on a rack to keep them wrinkle-free? The list of details was endless.

However, my biggest concern was my brother’s behaviour. No one, not even me, who had spent the most time with him, could understand that.

My brother was genuinely unpredictable.

 

“President-san do you think my brother would be able to make friends during the school trip?”

 

A simple question.

I wasn’t sure who would understand best how he interacted with friends. That person would be the president, who had seen his actions at school the most.

It was something to calm me down. But President glanced upward for a moment and then replied.

 

“Well, it’s most likely impossible.”

 

“Yes, I thought so too.”

 

I sighed, slumping my upper body onto the desk.

Yes, that’s right. I also felt that way.

My brother was almost certainly not going to get along with others, and the people around also won’t make an effort to get along with him either.

 

I hoped my brother would have a fantastic school trip. That would be the best thing. But for some reason, considering my brother’s personality, I had an inexplicable worry that he might do something unnecessary, and that concern swirled in my heart.

In times like these, if only we were in the same year and attending the same school…

Yes, that’s right. If we were twins, I could have stayed by my brother’s side.

Such thoughts, though pointless to voice, crossed my mind. Watching my expression, the president smiled happily.

 

Her chestnut coloured hair was beautiful, and even though she was only two years older, she looked very mature. It must be her aura.

…I wonder if my brother prefers women who exude this kind of mature atmosphere?

 

Most of my thoughts revolved around my brother. Even though it was just for a few days, I started to feel anxious about not being able to see him.

In the living room, we shared a quiet moment, and time flew by. As the time to leave for school approached, president and I changed into our respective school uniforms.

We carried our bags and met in front of the entrance. President spoke.

 

“I’ve been asked by Shinra to pick you up from your school after school.”

 

“Is it really okay…? Thank you very much.”

 

It seemed my brother had also been worried and asked the president to take care of me in his absence. Two thoughts crossed my mind: why did he ask a woman for help, and at the same time, relief that it was not a man, both of which were contradictory.

Well, I’m just feeling uneasy, imagining my brother asking the president for help, that’s all!

 

After parting ways with the president near our house, I returned to my usual daily life. As I approached the school, I greeted my familiar classmates.

Entering the classroom and taking my seat, I reached into my bag for the day’s materials. Suddenly, my gaze fell on my smartphone screen.

 

There might be a message from my brother. I looked at the screen with anticipation, and there was indeed a message. However, the sender wasn’t my brother as I had hoped; it was a message from Shizuku-chan.

The message was short.

 

“First time on an airplane, sleeping like a log!”

 

The attached photo showed brother with his head resting on the window frame, sound asleep.

 

“Truly… so typical of Nii-san.”

 

Certainly, brother might have been excited about his first airplane ride. However, he, who wasn’t a morning person, must have succumbed to drowsiness in the airplane and closed his eyes.

 

“Thank you! Please take care of my brother!”

 

I typed a reply and sent to Shizuku-chan.

Then, there were no more messages, from Shizuku-chan or brother.

As my classmates continued with their usual school day, I found myself discussing about why he hasn’t contacted me. Even miniaturized versions of myself debated the reasons, but ultimately concluded it, it was because the person in question was brother.

I really… want you to contact me.

 

My supposedly enjoyable school days and delicious lunches seemed strangely unappetizing because the person I was yearning for was not at home.

I might be considered a bro-con, but I couldn’t help it. My life was powerless without Shinra Minato.

 

Now that he has gone far away to Okinawa, my energy was already starting to wane on the first day. I was left worrying about how to replenish my brother energy.

During the lunch break, some classmates tried to engage in conversation, but it was as if they weren’t there. My love for your brother was well-known, so they likely understood my preoccupation.

 

Only three days, less than half a week, yet the thought of enduring even half a day felt excruciating. Even a brief moment of time seemed like a burden.

 

“Haa…”

 

I can’t remember how many times I’ve hear myself sigh today. And that was after I’ve told brother that sighing makes happiness run away.

 

Nii-san… please come home soon.

If possible, come back in half a day…

Thus, my the first of three days without brother began.

 



Leave a Comment