#275


 

In Sakuranaoka Academy’s gymnasium, all the students had gathered, their eyes fixed on Koizumi standing on the stage.

Representing the Student Council, Koizumi was addressing the entire student body, delivering some reminders for the winter break.

 

“Today is the last day of school for this year. I know many of you will be heading home for the holidays, so please take care of your health…”

 

On the morning of December 23rd, which marked the last school day of the year, the closing ceremony was being held.

Koizumi, the new Student Council President, stood on the stage, delivering his speech in an exemplary manner.

 

I stood near the wall of the gymnasium along with the teachers and the Student Council. As I watched him, I couldn’t help but heave a sigh of relief, knowing that our activities as student council members for the year had come to an end.

Winter break was just a short period, and the third term would start right after the New Year.

 

Before I knew it, we’d sent off the third-year students at their graduation ceremony, and we were about to advance to our third year.

Looking back, time had passed so quickly. Especially since I wasn’t involved in any clubs or activities, the time seemed even shorter.

While I was pondering the perception of time, Shiraishi muttered beside me.

 

“Senpai, did you accept the invitation from Shizuku-senpai and the others for Christmas?”

 

“I accepted it, I accepted it… I even cancelled the much-anticipated Christmas chicken.”

 

When I told Kaede and my mom about the Christmas party at Miyashita’s house, they were overjoyed.

Yes, they were utterly shocked, as if it were a miracle. Not because of the idea of spending time with someone but because the phrase “Christmas party with girls” was more unexpected than anything else.

Indeed, even looking at my own calendar, I couldn’t help but wonder if it was some event from a different social hierarchy within the school.

I replied casually to Shiraishi, and she frowned with an air of dissatisfaction.

 

“Not showing up on the day is out of the question, from a human standpoint.”

 

“…It’s quite upsetting that you are assuming that I would bail out on the day.”

 

While I will firmly reject that notion, I won’t simply skip the event without notice. I might lower my voice and pretend to have a sore throat or some minor illness on the day.

When I become a working professional, I need to improve such skills. Maybe I’ll even become a self-taught expert and create an online video titled ‘How to Skip Work Like a Pro! Secret Techniques for Handling Absences!’. The image of getting bashed by the majority of viewers flashed before my eyes.

…Maybe I should refrain from that idea.

 

The ceremony progressed smoothly, but the final, drawn-out speech from the principal, lasting over thirty minutes and significantly surpassing the scheduled time, tested everyone’s patience. Nevertheless, the closing ceremony concluded successfully.

As we walked back to the student council room, the atmosphere within the school was filled with a sense of liberation, as if we’d been released from captivity. The noon bell chimed, and students discussed plans for the upcoming meal at a family restaurant, their last-minute Christmas preparations, and their schedules for the year-end and New Year.

 

Some students, on the other hand, dashed out of the school building as soon as the chime rang. Perhaps it was a game release day? Yeah, it had to be a new video game. They were in a hurry to get home to the world of gaming, not spending time with school friends.

Everyone has their own way of enjoying their free time and pursuing their interests, so I hoped those students who sprinted home would remember to stay safe and not rush into traffic accidents.

 

I opened the door to the student council room, reminding them of the importance of safety, and found only Koizumi inside. He greeted me with a smile upon my arrival.

 

“Thank you for your hard work. Do you think I behaved appropriately as the student council president?”

 

“It’s fine. I think I would have stumbled on the first sentence.”

 

I’m sure nobody doubted his words or behaviour as suitable for a student council president. There was no need to worry, but Koizumi still expressed concern, probably because he had just experienced the school’s closing ceremony on the stage for the first time.

While I was silently helping Koizumi take over some of the documents that he had been sorting out by himself and putting them away in their respective files, Koizumi said this.

 

“Does Christmas look okay?”

 

“You worry too much…

 

I can’t help it, really. I ended up laughing out loud and revealing my true thoughts, and Koizumi responded with a wry smile.

 

“We did get unexpectedly involved the other day, though.”

 

“In the end, was Miura okay?”

 

“Yeah, well, I had another meeting scheduled on the day of the Christmas event, so I declined other invitations. I proposed that we use the school facilities for a New Year’s celebration with a big meal, and she seemed to cheer up when I asked her to attend that meeting.”

 

“…”

 

What’s with that? I’ve never heard of such a plan before.

Does this mean we’ll be working during the New Year’s holiday?

Hey, are we running a black company in the student council?

 

And then, there’s Miura. I’m not really in a position to say this, but is it okay for her to compromise on her Christmas plans for a student council meeting?

Is it something like, as long as he doesn’t go to another girl’s event on Christmas, it’s fine?

Or maybe, just being able to spend Christmas together is already great from her perspective.

 

Well, I guess if I want to know more about that, I could casually bring it up with Shirashi and steer the conversation toward girl talk, so I should refrain from meddling in Koizumi and Miura’s affairs for now.

 

“The second term went by in the blink of an eye, didn’t it? Akane-senpai will graduate in the third term too…”

 

Koizumi muttered softly with a somewhat sad expression. I shook my head in response.

 

“Don’t get too sentimental; there’s still some time left. Our job is to ensure she doesn’t leave the school worried.”

 

It’s the responsibility of her juniors and a way to show gratitude for everything she’s done for us.

Before I knew it, we had finished organizing the documents we were working on together. Koizumi handed me the files I had been sorting, and I asked if there was anything else he needed to do.

 

However, Koizumi shook his head, saying there was nothing else to do before the year ended. Alright, then. Shall I head back?

I could inform Shizuku and Kirasaka that the work was done, and they’d probably suggest we go for lunch.

 

I had already messaged Kaede that I didn’t need lunch, but then I remembered something and turned to Koizumi.

 

“When you have the plans set for activities in the new year, make sure to let me know.”

 

“Sure, I’ll definitely keep you informed. And, Shinra-kun, do your best to have a happy new year.”

 

“Ah… happy new year.”

 

I could sense the words ‘do your best’ included Christmas too.

But he didn’t say it out loud. In those words, I felt like he was telling me that there was still something important left for me to do before the year’s end.

 

However, we exchanged vague words without spelling it out. I replied with a wry smile and bid him farewell.

With my bag on my shoulder, I glanced back at the student council room one last time before leaving. The next time I’d be here would be to welcome the new year.

And with that, I completed my final task for the year and headed home.

 



1 Comment

  1. Mirilu says:

    Oh yeah, this was just about a guy’s character development but also had romance, huh. Tbh, I totally forgotten about that but perhaps we’ll get some spicy developments in the romance department of this novel.

    Like

Leave a Comment