#288


 

I check my outfit in the full-length mirror hanging on the wall. I’ve pulled out one of the decent winter clothes that had been sleeping in the depths of the closet, and after the final check by my sister Kaede, everything should be fine.

Even so, it’s certain that I’m not used to wearing this.

After Kaede nods several times beside me, her expression suddenly changes to one of anxiety.

 

“Do we really not have to tell Shizuku-san and Rei-san?”

 

“It can’t be helped… It’s President’s request.”

 

Adjusting my collar, I reply to Kaede’s words.

In the end, I haven’t told Shizuku and Kirasaka about today’s events. It’s President’s own request, and my intuition tells me that if the two of them find out, it might lead to various troubles.

From Kaede’s perspective, it might be awkward to support the president since they are the ones she is close to.

 

How many times have we repeated this conversation since morning?

Finally giving up on the unchanged response, Kaede lets out a sigh.

With the essentials packed, I put my wallet and smartphone in my pockets and change into outdoor shoes at the entrance. At that moment, Mom peeks out from the living room.

 

“Minato-chan, are you going to be back late?”

 

“It’s not like I’m going far… I’m just going to cheer her, so I’ll be back before it gets dark.”

 

It’s like a conversation between elementary school kids. Being a worrying mother might be an itch of age, but the fact that the quiet home of just the two of us has regained some liveliness is heartwarming. The interactions between us, parent and child, which have been absent for a long time, are now warming my heart.

Opening the entrance door and announcing, ‘I’m off’, to the two who see me off, I’m bid farewell with a gentle smile and a small ‘Take care’.

 

The university where President is receiving a recommendation is the only private university established in the rural town. The word ‘rural’ tends to evoke only negative aspects, but in terms of universities, it seems not such a bad place after all.

The campus is spacious, and students are rarely forced to endure the hardships of commuting in the city. Well, roughly speaking, students can spend their time in a relaxed environment and focus on their studies.

As for why President didn’t choose a famous university or a specialized school, I heard it’s because she loves her hometown.

 

Walking towards the cafe near the university designated as the meeting place, I reflected on past conversations.

Even so, I rarely visit the university area in town, especially since it’s near the mountains, unless I have some business there.

 

Having a cafe near the university or overflowing with local love—these are pieces of hidden information that even Minato, who might be chosen as a future local ambassador, might not be aware of.

As I approached, the scenery, which was nothing but houses and fields, revealed individual restaurants and convenience stores, likely privately owned.

Among them, on the terrace of a stylish coffee shop with a wooden exterior, I saw a woman in a familiar school uniform.

As I approached her, she seemed to have noticed me, smiled, and closed the book she had been reading.

 

“…Sorry to keep you waiting.”

 

“No, you came earlier than the agreed time, so don’t worry about it.”

 

The time was about ten minutes earlier than the agreed-upon time. I thought I had arrived first, but President was already waiting at the cafe.

Sitting in the opposite seat, a waiter came out with a menu and greeted us. I decided on a black coffee to seem sophisticated, but in reality, I ordered a hot cocoa. Moreover, with plenty of milk and sugar.

The waiter seemed to direct a somewhat maternal gaze at me, probably surprised by my overly sophisticated choice of hot cocoa.

 

Taking a moment to relax, I observed the expression of the woman sitting across from me. If she showed any signs of nervousness, indicating the approaching exams, I planned to avoid discussing the exams as much as possible and use words to distract her. However, what I faced was the usual expression of President, unchanged.

 

“…Surprisingly, you seem natural.”

 

“Would you have preferred to see me all tense and stiff from nervousness?”

 

“Actually, it would’ve been a rare sight, so I was looking forward to it.”

 

While waiting for the ordered cocoa to arrive, I sipped on the cold water. Since I had walked here and my body was a bit heated, the cool water felt pleasant.

As it has become quite cold recently, I wondered if it’s okay to be seated on the terrace. If there were vacant seats inside, it wouldn’t be bad to suggest moving. However, President, anticipating my thoughts from the movement of my gaze, spoke first.

 

“The inside of the shop is too warm, and I might get sleepy. I can’t afford to relax that much.”

 

“…I see.”

 

If that’s the case, there’s no need to worry.

Now, now, I wonder what words I should use to fulfill my role after being called.

The lack of experience in interacting with people directly correlates to a limited stock of conversation. Weakness in choosing appropriate words for the situation, in other words, that’s what it is.

Twisting my thoughts, the words that came to mind seemed to tell the story of my personality, and I almost chuckled.

 

“You seem like you’d be the student council president at university too.”

 

“…?”

 

In response to those words, President changed the smile she had and looked somewhat surprised. …Did I say something strange?

President is the type who likes to keep a clear boundary between her personal life and work, and it’s not that she dislikes being in a leadership position within an organization.

So, even at university, I thought that wouldn’t change, but…

Quietly waiting for President to speak, she muttered softly.

 

“In the past few days, everyone I meet has been saying things like ‘do your best, you’ll pass for sure,’ so I thought you would say something like that too.”

 

“Regardless of the form, there’s no one who isn’t doing their best before an exam… Besides, I’m not an examiner, so anyone can fail.”

 

Some people become overly sensitive before exams, even dropping things, but it only has a negative effect. A certain level of composure is necessary to bring out one’s true abilities. Knowing that, but being pushed to the point where one can’t think clearly is what makes exams tricky.

If you want me to say it, I’ll say it as many times as you want. However, the words ‘of course you’ll pass’ should be recognized as a kind of double-edged sword.

It unknowingly imposes the pressure of not allowing failure, like a blade thrust into your back.

That’s why those of us in the position of cheering others on should talk about things further ahead, such as future plans and things to look forward to.

 

Well, it’s just my theory that I consciously adhered to during Kaede’s exams. It’s neither correct nor incorrect; that’s about it.

So, finally warming my palms with the hot cocoa that had just arrived, I spoke.

 

“When I was taking exams, I’ll have President help distract me.”

 

“Hehe… Ah, I’d gladly accept that when the time comes.”

 

President replied in a way that seemed to say, ‘Leave it to me’, with her chest puffed and a slight wry smile appeared on her face, but it quickly disappeared. President, after returning her chest to a normal state, directed a meaningful gaze.

 

“Can we talk for a bit?”

 

“…Sure.”

 

Responding quietly, I placed the cup I was holding on the table and closed my eyelids, tilting my ears to listen to the words being spoken.

 

“I am aware that I am blessed, and I have no regrets about my actions. However, I’ve been thinking lately, why was I born a year earlier than you guys?”

 

The sad voice, which I had never heard before, easily conjured up the scene President was imagining. Our figures, wearing the same uniform, carrying the same textbooks, side by side.

 

“We should have become good friends, sharing joys and sorrows together, not as senior or elder sister, but just as good friends… I wanted to spend more time with you all.”

 

“…”

 

Lifting my closed eyelids, I turned my gaze to the woman in front of me. President, who had lowered her head slightly, had a shy smile on her face, as if feeling embarrassed after confessing her true feelings.

Time is cruel, and no matter how much we think or wish for the same thing, it won’t rewind. I share the same sentiments as President’s words.

She has been the one to guide us, to hold us together. However, discussing unfulfilled wishes together will only magnify the loneliness in President’s heart, leaving a sad conclusion.

 

“For me, the student council is not just the name of an organization…”

 

Why did she suddenly think that way? But I continued without caring.

 

“Hiiragi Akane is there, giving us instructions and taking actions together. That’s what the student council means to me… and it won’t change even if President graduates.”

 

I couldn’t articulate my words well. It didn’t seem like I was telling her the words she was expecting to hear. However, I wanted to convey to her what the student council meant to me.

 

“So, this place’s the student council too… even if you go to university, please call me to the student council again.”

 

There are troublesome aspects, differences in values, differences in personalities, and the difficulty of spending time with others. However, considering all that, the student council, which I was forcibly recruited into by President, was a very comfortable place.

In the tiny moments of life, which can be counted on the fingers of both hands, it’s one of those precious things that should not be lost.

 

My words, their meaning—whether they reached her even a bit, I can’t be sure. The slight silent air between us intensified the cold that should have chilled my body.

… My lack of speaking skills is frustrating. Can’t there be a simpler way to convey emotions, or is that too much to ask? Lost in such thoughts, President suddenly stands up.

The cup on the table still holds coffee, and there’s more than enough time before the originally discussed exam time.

Is she heading to the restroom?

Thinking so, I observe as she casually starts handling her belongings.

 

“P-President?”

 

“I-I just remembered something I need to take care of. I can’t approach the exams with a state of mind unfitting for the occasion. I’ll head out first!”

 

Without lifting her face, she places her payment on the table from her wallet and turns away.

Did I say something wrong…?

 

In that fleeting moment of reflection, I don’t recall saying anything that could have upset her.

As she moves away, I’m torn between standing up and following her. However, she pauses mid-stride, turns around, and looks back.

Her expression, unlike when she revealed her feelings, is notably brighter.

 

“Thank you, Shinra.”

 

Briefly, she says so and swiftly departs from the cafe.

But I feel relieved.

In that case, I probably don’t need to worry.

I stay alone in the cafe, gazing at the now-empty seat where the president sat, sipping on the cooling cocoa, spending a moment in contemplation.

 


<BBX> : Don’t really feel like translating these days… 😛


2 Comments

  1. Mirilu says:

    I translated one short novel and it got way more popular than I had expected (I didn’t think of it as a good story just a nice thing to kill time since it’s entertaining). Was supposed to work on another one but did not. Now I’m in the exam prep phase.

    Like

    1. BrutalBotX says:

      I’m not really expecting to go BOOM!, or smth.
      Just liked the story personally -> translated it, nothing more nothing less
      kinda sad, it’s on hiatus.
      Well good luck for your exams, mine’s over, it’s time to chill here…
      Anyways I’ll try continue it, just a bit slowly, + another reason is, the sites which I use, become kinda slow at the usual time I translate due to traffic, so that’s that…

      Like

Leave a Comment