#298


 

Those who seek answers, and those who provide them. How do people navigate the choices forced upon them?

Before homeroom began, during the morning commute, students could be seen throughout the school presenting gifts to the opposite sex. Some did so in the shadows, others in the open courtyard.

 

There were also those who exchanged gifts as a matter-of-fact, straight at the entrance.

Changing into indoor shoes and climbing the stairs, passing by students facing each other at the stair landing. I wouldn’t engage in rude behaviour like staring directly at others, but I would subtly observe their situation as I passed by.

…I remember seeing this couple in the class next to me. With the package handed from the female student to the male, their hands intertwined in a slightly embarrassed manner.

At that very moment, a new couple was born in Sakuranaoka Academy.

 

Approaching the area where the stairs led up, several students from the same class as the couple gathered to witness the outcome and offered cheers. It felt like a festival.

As they exclaimed, “Yeah!” in unison, for some reason, I felt like covering my ears.

Why “Yeah”? I wonder.

 

I couldn’t help but hallucinate that it was a boisterous student speech, given that most students were saying it.

Beyond the backs of those who passed by, there would probably be a soft drink party in celebration of the newly formed couple.

Maybe even these two couples will cause a commotion.

 

Feeling like I had witnessed a decisive moment early in the morning, I advanced to the front of the classroom. The sliding door opened slowly.

The stares directed at me for a brief moment, and then quickly averted, were familiar. Only Kirasaka, immersed in reading, remained indifferent to the classroom’s usual atmosphere.

Even within the classroom, she didn’t blend into the air.

She alone, sitting there, seemed to exude a different atmosphere.

 

“…”

 

The gazes that had been directed at me had already dispersed. Despite being a special event, her usual figure and the familiar indifference of the classroom atmosphere made me smile inwardly.

Just for a moment, I thought I might see a slightly different Kirasaka.

But that faint expectation vanished without a trace.

Noticing that I had entered the classroom and was approaching my seat, Kirasaka closed the book she was reading and smiled, directing her eyes towards me.

 

“Good morning, Shinra-kun.”

 

“…Good morning.”

 

Placing my belongings to the side, I took a breath, having reached the sanctuary of the classroom. Before meeting Kirasaka’s eyes, I pondered my thoughts.

Undoubtedly, the developments that would follow here would be similar to those with the president.

 

However, the unpredictable factor was what action Kirasaka would take.

Even President, although different from her usual self, showed a mischievous action. That’s why the actions Kirasaka would take were somewhat terrifying.

Because she enjoys seeing my reactions, whether or not I’ll meet her expectations…

 

And for some reason, I found myself thinking about unnecessary things that weren’t needed.

And then, for some reason, there was movement beside me. Kirasaka, holding the school-issued bag, reached into it.

Showing signs of searching for something, she took out an orange-wrapped package.

 

Is everything okay? It’s just one, right?

The image of Senpai this morning, presenting two items, flashed in my mind. However, it turned out to be needless worry as Kirasaka took out only one and returned the bag to its original position.

 

“…”

 

Kirasaka gazed at the unwrapped package for a moment, as if contemplating something. However, when she directed her gaze towards me, she immediately placed the package on the edge of my desk as if nothing had happened.

 

“Here, a present from me.”

 

“Thank you…”

 

“What? You seem surprised. Is something wrong?”

 

I glanced at the placed package. It was neatly wrapped, exuding a warmth that indicated it was handcrafted. However… Maybe I was just overly afraid of Kirasaka.

 

“It’s nothing. Thank you.”

 

“All right, you’re welcome.”

 

After expressing my gratitude to Kirasaka, she smiled faintly and resumed her reading. …Is it over?

I had witnessed the reactions of those around me on the way to this classroom—through the commuting route, the main gate, and inside the school building. Her easygoing flow of actions left my thoughts temporarily suspended.

 

However, feeling it would be impolite to leave the gift untouched, I cautiously picked it up and examined it thoroughly.

…She had mentioned hoping I’d look forward to the taste, but what could she have made?

 

The weight seemed slightly lighter than President’s paper bag. Perhaps it was something small.

Cookies? Or maybe something like chocolate-covered strawberries? Probably not a cake.

Contemplating whether to open it or not, Kirasaka turned her gaze towards me again.

 

“What are you doing? Eat it already.”

 

“Oh, you want me to eat it now?”

 

“I don’t want you reacting somewhere I can’t see.”

 

“Right…”

 

I thought she might prefer me to enjoy it privately, especially since she had resumed reading. After all, she could witness my reaction before anyone else.

Today, I finally saw a side of her that felt typical.

Carefully unwrapping the orange package, underneath was a brown box. Opening the lid revealed six small sweets wrapped in white paper.

Peeling off the wrapping with my fingertips and delicately placing it in my mouth, I finally understood what she had made.

 

“Caramel, huh?”

 

“Yes, chocolate-flavored caramel.”

 

The moment it touched my tongue, a bitter chocolate flavour spread, followed by the caramel melting sweetly. It was delicious… embarrassingly so.

It was so good that I hesitated to voice it.

And Kirasaka, confident in her creation, waited for my reaction with a smug smile.

 

“…It’s delicious.”

 

“I made it myself. Isn’t that obvious?”

 

Kirasaka proclaimed with confidence, and I couldn’t help but frown at her boastful tone. Of course, I knew she was a versatile girl with excellent domestic skills, but a bit more modesty or shyness would have been nice.

Because, recently, the cool characters in the late-night anime I watched blushed when praised. I, a guy easily influenced by anime, fell into that category.

Frustrated, I immediately tried to put the second caramel in my mouth, but Kirasaka’s small white hand seemed to jump in front of my vision to stop me.

 

“There’s a hidden element that makes it even more delicious.”

 

“Hidden element? I’m not the type to fall for the usual pattern that kids love. Tell me about it.”

 

Kirasaka gestured with her hands, indicating that she wanted the candy I was holding. I placed the caramel in my right hand on her palm.

Just like when I ate it, she unwrapped it and delicately held it with her beautiful fingers.

 

“Open your mouth. This is an element that you can’t enjoy on your own.”

 

“Suspicious, but…”

 

Nevertheless, I had no choice but to comply. I opened my mouth slightly, watching her movements in my somewhat obstructed field of vision. She momentarily squinted her eyes and smiled.

 

“Come on, say ‘ah.’”

 

“…”

 

Kirasaka intentionally spoke loudly enough for the whole class to hear, and with an exaggerated tone, she placed a piece in my mouth. Feeling the chocolate flavour spread on my tongue, I quickly closed my mouth and glanced around unconsciously.

As Kirasaka had anticipated, the classmates directed their gazes toward us. The girls looked warmly at our actions, exchanging hushed whispers, while the boys glared at me as if casting a curse.

…What’s the hidden element?

 

Even the atmosphere in the class has turned bitter, thanks to this chocolate. I squinted my eyes and considered saying something to the girl next to us, but Kirasaka asked the same question again.

 

“How is it? Is it delicious?”

 

“…It’s delicious, but…”

 

“I see… I’m glad.”

 

When I honestly conveyed my impression, Kirasaka’s reaction was different from before. She still had her hand on her right cheek, but her expression was more girlish, and she showed a bright smile that she didn’t usually reveal.

 

…When I see a smile like this, I can’t bring myself to criticize her. Still, the second one might indeed taste better than the first.

Perhaps the hidden element was the magical touch of the contrast from her usual self.

 


<BBX> : Mistranslated Shinra as Masa last chapter, sorry for that…
<Author-san> : Next is Shizuku.


Leave a Comment