#322


<Author-san> : Sugar warning at the end of the chapter.


 

The director returned the budget documents to me and crossed his legs, folded his arms and closed his eyes, looking up at the ceiling.

Before explaining my opinion, I want to make it clear where the curves came from. If it turns out they were different, that would be a problem in itself.

 

To confirm this with the director, I’ve taken a few screenshots from the remaining recorded footage at the school using my smartphone. In reality, the data is on Kirasaka’s phone, as her phone model, which she uses, has better camera than mine.

Glancing over at Kirasaka, who seems to be enjoying the conversation between us men, I direct my gaze towards her. Sensing the meaning, Kirasaka moves over to our side.

 

“Kirasaka, could you show the photos you took at school—”

 

“Oh, there are two Kirasakas here.”

 

“…Rei-san, the photos from earlier—”

 

“‘-san’ is so formal, you can just call me by my name as usual.”

 

She takes out her phone from her uniform pocket, but there’s a smirk as she didn’t hand it over. Instead, the screen displays a recording indicator.

REC with a big red button on the screen.

 

…What’s she waiting for?

It’s true that there are two of them when you include her parents, but there’s no need to say that now, and I sigh in frustration.

I’m the only one feeling nervous; she’s just business as usual. For her, the director is her parent, and I’m just a friend. She doesn’t have any reason to be like that.

 

Even so, there’s something nostalgic about this exchange of words. When I first talked to her after starting school, she said I could call her by her name just like usual.

I remember refusing at that time. I scoffed at the idea of calling someone by their first name right after meeting them, like some protagonist from a light novel.

But, spending almost a year together can easily change one’s feelings. The resistance I once felt to using her first name now feels embarrassing.

 

“Rei, please show the data to the director.”

 

“…Okay.”

 

“…Your ears are turning red, don’t react so innocently.”

 

As soon as I speak, she taps the screen, recording for just about three seconds. I’ll refrain from asking what she plans to do with that audio.

One should never intrude on a maiden’s secrets or touch her reverse scale.

She hands the phone over to her father and scrolls through a few photos for the president to confirm. He nods several times and immediately returns it to his daughter.

 

“I’m sure the photos are from the donation our company made, but I was a little surprised to see that your folder is full of pictures of him.”

 

“…Can you please not look at the unnecessary photos?”

 

Rarely displaying emotions, she takes the phone back from the director in a hurry and tucks it into her uniform to conceal it. At the same time, she places a tray of tea and steamed buns, enough for three people, on the table.

One in front of each of us, and one next to me. She then takes a seat next to me. We’re so close that our shoulders would touch if we moved even a little, and I can even feel her body heat.

But I’m not such a pure boy that I would be flustered by that.

My hand holding the teacup trembles, and I feel like the tea is about to spill, but that’s just my imagination.

 

“However, I’m a little surprised to be boldly criticized for wasting money, it’s being a long time since I’ve experienced it.”

 

He stifles his laughter, looking genuinely amused.

The Kirasaka family’s values ​​have many similarities. They become extremely gentle towards those they’re interested in.

As long as I remain a subject of interest to the director, I don’t think I’ll be brushed aside.

 

“Until we reach a conclusion in this conversation, let’s consider various things on the condition that you express your true intentions.”

 

“…Thank you.”

 

Leaning forward with my elbows on my knees, my eyes give off an eerie sense of seeing through everything. My clenched fist tightens and starts to sweat.

Don’t deceive, don’t try to hide the true meaning of your words, don’t hold back.

I don’t know what’s good about being Shinra Minato as a person.

If they like me, that’s fine.

I answered honestly, speaking what I truly felt.

 

“Specifically, where did you determine the waste?”

 

“Other companies also provide gifts for graduation ceremonies. There are no companies that prepare two gifts, including farewell parties.”

 

“Companies have their own ways of doing things, and I don’t think it’s right for outsiders to criticize them.”

 

“I’m aware that companies have their own ways of doing things. However, even if other schools receive similar treatment, it’s too much to allocate resources… even for a large company, money is finite.”

 

The amount might be small enough not to hurt, but it adds up.

Kikyo Girl’s Academy, where Kaede is attending, is nearby. That academy should have a similar relationship with companies like ours, so they’re probably receiving similar treatment.

There are also several other high schools in the adjacent city. As a large company, we have wider connections than others.

That’s why it seems like a waste to me.

 

“Children are treasures for both the town and our company. There shouldn’t be any problem celebrating them grandly.”

 

“For us, it’s a big problem. The graduation ceremony should be a congratulatory message from everyone involved, but the farewell party is a gift from current students… if the spotlight is taken away from the main event on both days, our plans and efforts will be in vain.”

 

Unfortunately, humans are creatures of money.

Even if someone doesn’t have a romantic mindset, if they’re presented with lavish fresh flowers, anything we prepare afterward will look cheap.

We, high school students without financial resources, naturally lean towards things that appeal to the spirit.

A huge impact is nothing but a disadvantage.

As it stands, my response seems to have earned the director’s approval, as I see him nodding several times.

 

“While it’s true that my daughter attends Sakuranaoka Academy, many of our employees, including those from our subsidiary, are graduates. Therefore, it’s true that we want to celebrate more generously than others… however, if it’s unnecessary, we’ll limit it to the graduation ceremony this year. But unless you present what you’re looking for and what benefits there are, it won’t lead to any support.”

 

It is indeed reasonable.

So, I take out a red pen from my pocket and start circling some parts of the documents I received back. The pages contain the budget proposal for this financial year. Among them are several important sections.

Both the director and Kirasaka next to him peer in, and all three of our gazes converge.

 

“We’re planning to ask for cooperation from nearby facilities for things like packaging materials for wrapping gifts, DVDs for dubbing, etc. So, could you bear the expenses for things like snacks to be given as a small token of appreciation? Of course, it may be a small amount, but we’ll make sure to mention your company in our promotion.”

 

It’s not a discussion about giving up one donation for another. If we can set a precedent and build a relationship, it might pay off for the juniors in the future.

Even so, gathering everything I’ve mentioned will still inflate the amount.

The amount of 150,000 yen provided by the school is a large sum for high school students. However, if we assume that the gifts from current students cost about 500 yen each and there are about 150 graduates, that would be 75,000 yen alone, half of the budget.

Even if we cut back on decorations, we’re planning to make a video letter this year.

We want to give students the option to receive something other than just data like DVDs.

 

“We plan to publish the video letter we create on the school’s website. The video will be easily accessible and will catch the attention of prospective students considering enrollment, as well as companies involved in internships and such. We’ll make sure to clearly state the names of cooperating companies there.”

 

…I haven’t actually discussed this with the school yet.

If I had brought it up first, the whole proposal might have been stopped in its tracks. That’s why I plan to report to the school afterwards, with the agreement I’ve made with the director.

If Nakayama’s video quality is high, it will also serve as promotion for the school on a website where many prospective students are likely to see it. I believe I can negotiate with the school somehow, even if it’s difficult. If not, I’ll try to push it through with the help of the chairman, Shizuku, or Kirasaka.

However, it’s a fact that the effectiveness of the proposed benefits to the director is weak.

 

So, this is just a whim of a child.

With that awareness, I’ll make my request after stating upfront that it’s a whim.

But the negotiation itself isn’t equal.

Promotion would benefit the school more, and from the company’s perspective, it’s just a small gesture.

 

“What facility are you asking for cooperation from?”

 

“It’s a kindergarten across from the school. I’m just thinking about negotiating with them to have the current students hand the gifts to the seniors… it’s just a hope since I’m about to start negotiations. Especially girls like that, right, little kids?”

 

“I’d like to see that. It must be heartwarming to see the kindergarteners rush into the gym.”

 

“You’re welcome to peek from the shadows.”

 

However, I want to present this condition if they’re willing to cooperate. Of course, since I’m the one making the request, I won’t say something like that outright.

Even if I present benefits that are difficult to realize, the president will immediately reject them. Even if the proposed content is laughed at as pathetic, this is my limit.

The rest is to judge whether the proposals from the president are feasible and to support them.

 

“In that case, how about making a personal request to you for something?”

 

Anticipating that I’ll follow up, Director proposes, contemplating how to handle it. Of course, betting on myself was also one of the considerations.

So, I’m not surprised, but I’m anxious about whether it’s within my capabilities alone.

 

“If it’s within my capabilities, I don’t mind… I’m planning to be privately exploited by Rei-san as thanks for arranging this seat for me.”

 

I express my agreement and a small complaint, and Kirasaka stares at me with dissatisfaction.

Oh no… even if she looks at me like that, all I can do is break into a cold sweat.

The problem is, what exactly will I be asked to do?

Kirasaka doesn’t seem to have been informed in advance either, as she waits with apparent interest for her father’s words.

 

“How about marrying Rei?”

 

“…”

 

…Do fathers in this world like to marry off their children?

I can easily imagine a father who firmly opposes his daughter’s marriage.

Is this just a little joke in the conversation?

 

No… given the flow of the conversation and the look in the president’s eyes, few would think it’s a joke. While his mouth and eyes show a smile, his eyes are completely serious.

It’s not about enjoying the reaction, but rather testing it. In that case, I won’t deceive or tell lies.

 

“Okay.”

 

“…Minato? As expected even I, feel dissatisfied with the sudden development.”

 

“Well, well…”

 

Kirasaka interjects with more discontent evident in her glare than before. I try to calm her down with both hands and then turn back to face the director.

The voice that comes out of my mouth in front of a superior is surprisingly devoid of emotion, even to myself, it’s chillingly detached.

 

“If that’s truly what Kirasaka wants and it’s her genuine desire, then I don’t mind.”

 

At the very least, the Kirasaka Rei I know would never want her future decided on rails laid down by her parents.

And even if the director affirms it, the real thing isn’t there.

The accumulation of memories, the time spent, the struggles, the happiness—all of these determine the fleeting future, not some predetermined destiny.

 

Somewhere, there will be flaws that will make the child unhappy. Decisions made without allowing them their own will are merely for the parents’ self-satisfaction.

Life may be short, but that much I can assert with confidence.

If my reaction earns indifference and gets rejected, I’ll apologize to everyone with a dogeza.

 

Without averting my gaze from the intersecting stares, Kirasaka, who was suddenly brought into the conversation, anxiously shifts her gaze between the two faces.

It may have been just a few seconds, but after the staring contest that feels like minutes or even hours, the president suddenly smiles gently.

 

“Alright, proceed as you wish. If there’s anything you need during the process, send the invoice from Rei to me.”

The director swiftly moves the conversation forward and stands up. I had forgotten that a person as busy as him had made time for me in the first place.

I hastily get up to express my gratitude, but the director raises his hand as if to say it’s unnecessary.

 

“It’s a loan, I intend to have it returned soon though.”

 

Lastly, with a mischievous grin on his face, like that of a mischievous boy, Director promptly leaves the reception room. I lower my head in gratitude, knowing it’s meaningless with the door now unmanned.

 

…What will he demand when we meet next time?

As soon as I lift my head, the tension drains from my stiff body and I slump into the chair. A sigh escapes, and perhaps a bit of my soul escapes with it.

Kirasaka wraps her arm around me as if to comfort me, and her face approaches mine. Just five centimeters more, and our lips would touch at this close distance.

She lightly touches my cheek with her white, slender fingertips and whispers along with her breath.

 

“I wish we really got married.”

 

“…”

 

As soon as I hear her words, embarrassment washes over me.

What a third-rate line she has uttered…

Not knowing where to direct my embarrassment, I touch her hair with my left hand, just slightly.

 

“Your hair… it’s grown a bit more.”

 

“But you like it that way, don’t you?”

 

She says those words in a cheerful tone.

It seems I’ve managed to hit the mark for Kirasaka Rei’s passing grade.

 


<BBX> : (❁´◡`❁)

PS: I’ll be out for 2-3 days before resuming the updates, got some work IRL


Leave a Comment