#327


 

The time was too short, to the point where I wanted to rewind an hour.

Since Maeda’s group visit,

Between the weekend holiday and Monday after school, the approaching event echoed repeatedly in my mind like a echo.

Not only after school, but also before morning assembly and during break time, I worked with gratitude towards the gathered individuals, even though no one was directing us, and made sure to confirm with each person about their respective tasks.

The necessary supplies were mostly gathered through a shopping trip with Shizuku and Kirasaka over the weekend.

The only things left to buy were items for decorating the gym on the day itself.

 

… If there’s an opportunity to talk about the time with them, let’s do it somewhere.

While everything hasn’t gone perfectly smoothly, it’s commendable that there haven’t been any major problems in this unfamiliar environment.

I was honestly getting nervous because I had prepared for one or two more troubles, but things were progressing smoothly.

Both the physical education classes and club activities are suspended on the day of the event and before the graduation ceremony, and arrangements have been made for cleaning staff to wax the floors.

There will be two witnesses: one from the school’s facilities staff and one from the student council.

Koizumi and Miura volunteered for this role.

 

Regarding the creation of the commemorative video, there haven’t been any objections or refusals from other students, and things have been progressing smoothly.

Nakayama made a fuss about there being no suitable background music for the video, which led to everyone searching for their favourite music on their smartphones, creating a memorable moment.

Individuality varies from person to person. It took some time for everyone to choose something that everyone could agree on.

 

 

Kirasaka chose classical music, Shizuku chose a traditional Japanese-style background music, and the first-year duo of Shiraishi and Hino-kun surprisingly chose rock music.

Before the graduation ceremony, Nakayama, riding the wave, chose natural sounds. There was a continuing argument about why soothing music was being used in a commemorative video, but when asked by the ever-reliable Yuuto, he quickly found a suitable background music for the graduation theme, which settled it.

If the discussion took too long, I would have suggested a collection of cat meows, causing chaos.

 

However, despite the extra effort, we’ve overcome the biggest obstacle as Nakayama mentioned, so now we’re trimming the excess and nearing the final touch-ups.

An hour ago, we received a call from the kindergarten.

We contacted the parents over the weekend, and since we received mostly positive responses, they want to have a final meeting including the day of the event.

It might not have been possible to get approval from just the students’ activities alone. The influence of adults with visible achievements and the name of the company cannot be estimated by us students.

 

There was a discussion about who should go, but it was concluded that Shizuku, who mainly led the first discussion, would be suitable.

Of course, she won’t be alone, and both Kirasaka and I will accompany her, but the flow will be centered around Shizuku.

As the form nears completion, changes have also occurred in the surroundings. First and foremost, the number of participants has increased.

At the stage where the outline was completed, Yuuto proposed something.

 

“What about getting Miyashita-san to join too?”

 

“I don’t know… well, I guess she’ll be fine.”

 

It’s unlikely that Miyashita would join out of selfish reasons and disrupt the group.

 

…Although the reason for her participation is definitely just to see Yuuto.

But we’ve spent some time together. I glanced at the other members, but no one voiced opposition, so I nodded, and Yuuto immediately went to bring Miyashita from the sewing room to join us in the classroom.

 

When she came with Yuuto, there was another person following behind.

It was Machida, the captain of the baseball team, whom I had seen and exchanged a few words with a little while ago.

He stood in front of the sewing room door and briefly expressed his feelings.

 

“I want to help too.”

 

With a shaved head and a large build, but perhaps not very articulate. His short words didn’t convey any understanding of his true feelings.

However, his eyes, as he looked at me, didn’t give off any sense of suspicion. It must be pure in essence.

Whether he wants to send off a senior he’s indebted to or he just enjoys this kind of activity, I found Machida to be quite likable among the group.

Around the table where everyone was gathered and working, I pointed to an empty seat.

 

“Are you good with your hands?”

 

“I’m quite good because I like knitting.”

 

“…That’s cute.”

 

He seemed serious, probably a bit stiff. And it’s uncomfortable how his strong personality, like liking knitting, makes it hard to figure out how to interact with him.

But it’s reassuring to have more manpower. Yesterday and the day before, there was a lot of heavy lifting involved in moving chairs, desks, and various equipment.

I’m famously weak and embarrassed to even be considered a force to reckon with, so we definitely need to make use of the baseball team’s strength.

 

With Miyashita and Machida joining in, preparations are moving into the final stage.

In the sewing room, some were editing videos on computers, while others were competing to see who could make the most beautiful paper flowers for decoration.

 

Koizumi and Miura went to check the final schedule with the third-year class teacher, and Shizuku and Kirasaka used the venue layout to simulate the day repeatedly, considering the optimal positions for students, the waiting area for kindergartners, and the timing of the entrance.

Amidst all this, I pondered over the task assigned to me.

Alone in front of the teacher’s desk, in a place where I could see the entire classroom, I wrote and erased text on manuscript paper repeatedly.

 

“…”

 

“You look scary, Minato-kun.”

 

“We’re not sending a declaration of war to the enemy, so relax a little.”

 

Being pointed out by the girls working in the seats in front of me, I unconsciously exhaled the breath I had been holding.

Leaning back against the backrest of the chair, I looked up at the ceiling.

The ceiling I had become accustomed to recently wouldn’t inspire any ideas.

 

From early morning until the end of the day, I had occasionally stopped to help with other tasks, but I mostly focused on this manuscript work.

It was a farewell address from the current students to the graduating students, for the farewell party or the graduation ceremony.

At Sakuranaoka Academy, first-year students don’t participate in the graduation ceremony.

 

All grades gather only at the farewell party, so according to Koizumi, a farewell address from the current students is necessary for that occasion.

It’s something I thought the Student Council President would handle, but somehow I ended up being tasked with crafting the text.

There are many subjects I struggle with in class and assignments. However, if I were asked about something I particularly dislike, it would undoubtedly be anything related to arrangement. In fact, there are probably fewer students who like it than those who don’t.

While I’m good at putting together selfishly written texts like the classic book review essays for summer assignments, it’s a different story when it comes to crafting a farewell address.

 

It’s the words from current students to graduating ones. Each word requires careful consideration. Which ones are appropriate, and which ones are not?

Perhaps if I had some experience, I could write it fluently, but this is my first time. If I can effortlessly complete this task, I might even glimpse a future in the humanities.

 

Furthermore, it’s strictly forbidden to copy and paste templates. In this age of the internet, you can find countless similar texts if you search, but Koizumi insists that there’s value in coming up with your own thoughts.

Perhaps he’s starting to show a side of himself befitting a Student Council President. And his friendly but serious personality won’t tolerate any shortcuts.

In the bustling sewing room, where conversations are exchanged between tasks, the sound of tapping desks with sharpened pencils echoes softly. When Kirasaka spins her pencil with her fingertips and asks,

 

“So, have you decided who will speak on stage?”

 

“…Not yet.”

 

The problem isn’t just the content of the manuscript. I’m also struggling to decide who will stand on stage and address the graduating students.

I’m entrusted with everything in the farewell address. It sounds good in words, but it’s also a heavy responsibility.

 

However, the fact remains that I’m burdening Koizumi and the others in the Student Council with responsibilities outside their duties.

There’s no choice but to handle it within the Executive Committee.

Fortunately, there are suitable people around as manpower. Even if I entrust them with the task of standing on stage on the day of the event, I must complete the manuscript myself, or I’ll have no standing.

I’ve prepared several drafts to be reviewed by the grade-level coordinator, but none of them seem quite right.

 

Without knowing the correct final form, it’s hard to feel a sense of accomplishment.

Perhaps it might be one option to work in the Student Council room with Koizumi and Miura, who likely have some knowledge, while finishing the manuscript. Resetting my rigid thought process and replenishing my sugar levels could be accomplished in a single trip to the vending machine.

 

As I reached for my wallet, intending to go and do just that, a knock on the door announced the arrival of a visitor.

All eyes turned, and the voices that had been chatting stopped as the door opened slightly.

With large eyes and chestnut-coloured hair peeking through, her gaze met mine, and a reflexive greeting slipped out of her mouth.

 

“Oh, President.”

 

“Hello, sorry to bother you. Did I interrupt?”

 

President, who suddenly showed her face, held up a convenience store bag, probably a token of appreciation, and uttered words of encouragement.

 


<BBX> : If you have time, do read the announcement, I’ll post next to this after sometime.
PS: This maybe my last note, idk 😗

Leave a Comment