#249

 


 

People seek reasons, they seek answers.

They want to know what makes them different from others.

However, they often lack interest in the process and prefer the shortest and quickest way to get to the answer.

 

Why was someone who is not better in us in anyway able to bring about a result that is better than us?

There are a few people who are actually able to reach the true answer but then deny the reality that is present before them.

As a high school student, I couldn’t help but ponder if people were deteriorating due to the changing times and environments.

But I probably don’t have the knowledge or wisdom to speak about human superiority, progress, or decline. This is probably nothing more the rambling of a child.

 

Passing by the hotel’s front desk, I sat down on a sofa near the shop, lost in thought.

Even with a large number of students staying here for a school trip, regular customers still visited.

Perhaps I had come at the busiest time, as the elegant background music was drowned out by the chatter of people, the sound of movement, and the elevator bell signaling its arrival at the front desk.

 

I had unintentionally shifted from feeling like I was touring the facility to merely observing people.

I could hear the voices of young people nearby, probably our school’s students, looking at souvenirs in the shop.

Their enjoyable school trip was still ongoing.

In our room, the male student who had become my roommate would probably be tilting his head not knowing what I said.

In the midst of this continued lack of enthusiasm for the school trip, I let out a sigh and relaxed. Suddenly, I heard the sound of footsteps approaching from the hallway.

 

Even though I was aware of the gradually approaching footsteps, I kept my gaze down, not looking up. Then, words similar to those from before were spoken.

 

“Shinra Minato-kun?”

 

“…?”

 

In response to the name being called, I lifted my gaze.

In that instant, the thoughts that had been dominating my mind disappeared, and a wry smile escaped as I spoke first.

 

“I think it would be difficult to pretend that you are here by chance when you know the exact date, time, and place, isn’t it, director-san?”

 

I raised my gaze to find Kirasaka Reiya standing there, dressed in an expensive-looking suit that was well maintained and seemed brand new.

Even in the same space, his presence felt different from an ordinary person’s. It was like the feeling people have when they see a celebrity and realize that their aura is different.

The way he closed his eyes while listening to my words while smiling, was remarkably similar to his daughter, Kirasaka Rei.

 

I was surprised a bit but I had been informed that Kirasaka’s father was in Okinawa before we came here.

It wouldn’t be surprising if he visited during a break from work. Thinking he might sit next to me, I moved slightly closer, and director naturally took a seat beside me.

 

When I directed my gaze toward the front desk, there was a different commotion compared to earlier. It was probably because the owner, this man, had arrived.

I wonder if he’ll call the manager?

 

However, the man himself didn’t seem to care and casually looked around the hotel.

 

“I visited this hotel a few years ago, so I was concerned, but they’re attentive to detail. There’s no need to worry.”

 

“…Yes, it’s a beautiful hotel.”

 

As soon as I entered the hotel, there were Okinawa-themed decorations, like the Shisa statues and potted plants, making even someone like me who had never been to Okinawa feel Okinawan.

 

Or rather, what exactly is this ‘Okinawan’ feeling?

I felt it just by looking at the Shisa statues. Rather, just seeing palm tree-like trees growing by the beach made me feel like I was in Okinawa.

 

Surely, he didn’t come here to check the hotel’s situation.

I looked at him with a somewhat puzzled expression, and he seemed to understand my question. He leaned back in his chair, crossing his legs.

His slightly slanted eyes became more serious, and in a voice that was low but reached my ears clearly, he began to speak.

 

“You seem to have a brighter expression than when we met before the cultural festival, but you don’t seem to be enjoying the school trip.”

 

“…I’m sorry, it’s not that I have any complaints about the hotel.”

 

The gaze directed at me seemed to see through everything—my background, my feelings, everything. I couldn’t help but avert my eyes and replied as if trying to divert the topic.

 

“Well, it’s okay. Your age is a time for plenty of worries. Besides, there are two people I want to see today.”

 

“People you want to see?”

 

Saying that, director gazed at the adjacent corner where souvenirs were displayed, right next to the shop.

Our school’s female students, including some from our class, were descending from the elevator and browsing the souvenirs.

 

Some of the girls are in the same class, and Shizuku and Kirasaka were also present.

At first glance, they seemed to be getting along well and looking at souvenirs together, but…

 

“They aren’t looking good…”

 

Especially Kirasaka…

Every so often, Shizuku would ask Kirasaka for her opinion, but Kirasaka would frown and cross her arms, looking uninterested.

She probably gave some casual responses, but now Shizuku was frowning and saying something that seemed to annoy her.

In response, Kirasaka reluctantly picked something up.

 

What are they up to?

I can’t hear their conversation from here, but when they express their opinions openly, the director seems to be impressed with Shizuku.

 

“She’s an extreme girl. Her reactions change drastically based on whether she likes something or not, and whether she’s interested in it or not.”

 

A fatherly, gentle gaze.

So, this is the warm gaze of a father.

 

His appearance hasn’t changed much, though.

He still gives off an intimidating vibe that makes employees hesitate to approach him, so in a way, there are even fewer employees at the front desk than when I last saw it.

 

Power and popularity are not the same, it’s quite enlightening.

It feels like I’m learning life lessons without words, and the conversation shifts to the main topic.

 

“There’s another student in the same grade as you, Ogiwara Yuuto.”

 

“Yes, there is, but did you hear that from your daughter?”

 

Let’s be clear, she doesn’t like Yuuto.

There’s no solid evidence, but it’s clearly visible.

 

I can’t imagine her ever bringing up Yuuto as a topic of conversation at home, though.

When I asked, director shook his head.

 

“Besides Akane, there are only three people whom she has talked directly to, you, your sister, and that girl.”

 

His gaze shifted to Shizuku, who was in the front.

I wonder how she explained Shizuku to the director. I’m very curious, but also quite scared.

Their relationship is like oil and water.

 

But this raises another question.

If Yuuto’s name didn’t come up, where did the conversation about Yuuto come from?

However, that question was quickly answered.

 

“Kuroi said that he had taken five people, including my daughter, to the amusement park, so when I wondered who the missing person that my daughter didn’t mention was, I asked him during the cultural festival.”

 

“Oh… I see.”

 

That makes sense.

Certainly, Kuroi-san, who also assists the director, was in charge of the transportation that day.

Even without bringing up the topic himself, he must have noticed the discrepancy between the number of people his daughter mentioned and the report.

 

“What kind of person is Ogiwara Yuuto from your perspective?”

 

I don’t need to think twice about that.

I’ve asked myself this question many times.

 

“He’s handsome, smart, good at sports, and sickeningly kind.”

 

“It sounds like you’re talking about someone you hate.”

 

“I hate him… the way he is now.”

 

I said it with a bitter smile.

Although I’m not as extreme as Kirasaka, I’m also the type of person who has clear likes and dislikes.

 

I don’t engage with people I don’t like.

But why is Yuuto different?

Is it because of our past relationship?

 

That’s just a story from the past, and it’s just an excuse in the present if I said that he used to be a good guy.

But even so, I can’t cut ties with him because he’s the person I dislike and admire more than anyone else.

 

The reason is trivial.

Even though I know I can’t win, I subconsciously felt that I shouldn’t let go of the feeling of not wanting to lose to him.

 

I’m sure it won’t come back if I let go of that feeling.

He’s more valuable to me than a world-famous person I only know by face.

 

But there is something troublesome on his back.

His kindness is hiding his true self.

There’s no need to look back. The back that I wish would continue moving forward with unwavering determination has stopped, waiting for me to stand alongside it.

 

Kindness can sometimes turn into a hindrance, becoming an obstacle that obstructs one’s own path.

It’s frustratingly irritating to see him suppressing his abilities, which should be equal to or even better than Shizuku and Kirasaka.

I’m becoming frustrated with this self-indulgent anger because this isn’t what I was pursuing.

 

However, I can’t confide in anyone about this, and certainly not the person standing next to me.

 

“A story needs a villain more than a friend A for the protagonist.”

 

It was something that came to my mind, but considering our relationship, I think it’s an appropriate expression.

Personally, I think having a villainous character in the story would be more interesting rather than A, who doesn’t seem likely to play a significant role in future developments.

 

“But why are you so concerned about Yuuto?”

 

“I’m just a father worrying unnecessarily from my daughter’s perspective.”

 

A smiling face with a voice that didn’t go along with it.

His smile and his voice, which lacked warmth to an extent that was hidden deep within, sent shivers down my spine.

 

“Letting bad bugs fly around my daughter is something I’d like to avoid, if possible.”

 

“….”

 

That’s scary, it’s a joke, isn’t it?

No, this is different, he’s serious.

 

His gaze resembled that of a wild animal assessing its prey, or at least, that’s how I compared it, having only ever seen the eyes of my neighbour’s cat.

Contrary to me, who was sweating in cold sweat, the company director said with a sigh of relief as if his fears had cleared up even though they were unfounded.

 

“But it seems that such worries were unnecessary. I thought there would be no one except Akane who my daughter would bother to be with.”

 

“I see…”

 

To me, they just seemed like two girls who didn’t get along while looking at souvenirs.

But the director must have a different perspective.

 

“While her interaction with my daughter is natural, her interaction with her classmates seems calculated. It’s not easy to figure out what kind of reaction the other person is expecting and what she should do.”

 

With that, director rose from his seat, as if satisfied with our conversation, and headed towards the exit.

 

“Is it okay not to talk to your daughter?”

 

If he continues down the aisle a little to the left, his beloved daughter would be there. He went through the trouble of coming to the hotel at dusk, so wouldn’t it be okay to exchange a few words with her?

However, when I asked this, he smiled confidently.

 

“I’ve already informed her that I would be coming today. Besides, it seems that the three of them have already noticed our presence.”

 

He said, pointing to the shop. My gaze shifted towards a large pillar in the hall to the right rear.

From behind the pillar, bright brown hair peeked out, and as soon as his eyes met mine, he flinched.

 

“So, you were here too.”

 

As I did, Yuuto awkwardly revealed himself from behind the pillar, wearing a wry smile. Director smiled kindly at his reaction and resumed his steps.

 

Honestly, personally, I was reminded that this person is like a storm who disrupts my state of mind and then leave.

 


<BBX> : What’d ya think, I’d disappear again? XD


1 Comment

  1. Anonymous says:

    Keep continue your work!

    Like

Leave a Comment