#251


Back when I had just entered middle and high school, I had been asked for similar favors.
Sometimes, I was approached as a mediator, while at other times, they wanted to know about us so that they could appeal to them in advance.

The requests this time, however, were far more complicated than I had expected.
Simply asking someone to help with their confession could be quite a challenging endeavor.

For someone to attract someone who can’t even promote themselves, you need more than just a request.

If you genuinely want to be seen favorably by someone you’re interested in and be involved with them, you have to take action yourself.
But she still asked.

Confessions are significant life events, and to increase the chances of success, you need to narrow down your options and simplify your methods. But it made me wonder whether I should have even listened to her.

I couldn’t help but think that maybe I was repeating the same pattern with other students as I did with Miyashita Aya.

“Why are you asking me…?”

In situations like this, I often throw this question out there.

After all, it’s crucial to understand why they’re making this request, especially when they don’t stand a chance.

The response varied time to time, but the answer which I received this time was completely unexpected.

“Because I thought you were the only friend of Ogiwara-kun.”

“…”

I couldn’t help but wonder what she was talking about.

Yuuto’s friend list was already well beyond its limits, and it was common knowledge.

My gaze seemed to be filled with suspicion.

Then she explained further to supplement her words further.

“No, not in a bad way. I just thought you two were really close.”

“No, no, no…”

When I thought of people looking at me like this it felt uncomfortable, it made me feel sick, like a pair of people who are close.

When I shook my head and denied it, she burst out laughing, and for a moment, the atmosphere lightened.

However, it quickly became tense again.

This was no laughing matter.

“Even if I help, it won’t necessarily increase your chances.”

“I know, but I just want to create a situation where we can talk alone.”

If that was the case, then there was no need for me to get involved. I was about to retract my offer before even voicing it.

The image that came to mind was Nakayama’s figure at Shuri Castle, where she had ignored Miyashita’s suggestion.

Even if she came up with some reason to create a situation for them to be alone together, she probably wouldn’t agree.

However, I have to confirm the reason for not relying on the female students.

“Is there an option of relying on Nakayama by any chance?”

“That’s not possible, If it goes to that I might not even be able to join the group.”

The weight of those words revealed that the complexity of the female students’ friendships was even greater than I had imagined.

Perhaps they all shared this desire because they all idolized the prince-like figure?

There is no reason nor any obligation to help.

Seeing how modestly and cautiously Miyashita approached me for this request, it seemed clear that she expected the possibility of rejection when making this request.

Although I didn’t have any intentions of getting involved with human relationships in this school trip but…

There’s one thing that stuck me when I thought about it.

I realized something amidst all this.
Maybe this was a chance to straighten things out between Shizuku and Yuuto.

Whether the reasons were sound or not, this problem concerned me as well.

Shizuku and Yuuto were still dancing around each other in a vague relationship.

Perhaps it was time for an outside intervention.
However, during the school trip, we were bound by group activities. Even with my influence, managing eight people for a single purpose was a bit overwhelming.

“I’m not enough by myself. If we can get someone who understands the situation a little better, we might be able to find a way to make time for a conversation during our group activities…”

When I made this suggestion, Miyashita became silent with a thoughtful look on her face.

Since I only have limited connections, there’s only a few people I can rely on.

I suggested, and after considering it for a moment, she agreed.

“You can talk to Kirasaka-san if you want. But what worries me are Kanazaki-san and Ogiwara-kun…”

“You don’t need to worry about them. I don’t think there’s anything to worry about… Besides, if you don’t have solid evidence, you shouldn’t have come to me in the first place.”

When Miyashita said that, the corners of her mouth turned up slightly, and she smiled.

At that moment, I realized that I had let slip more than I intended.

Even the real reason for this conversation seemed like a reason to confirm whether the rumours of Shizuku and Yuuto dating were true or not to someone who knew about it.

It seems like she’s a more cunning than I thought.

But maybe you have to be a little sly to date Yuuto.

He’s such a good-natured wandering prince.

Creating a reason to get involved has been accomplished.

Now, the question is whether I really need to get involved.
Once again, I laughed at myself for creating reasons first and then facing my own feelings.

Miyashita looked at me strangely. After saying ‘it’s nothing’ I resumed my thoughts.

Helping someone with their love life might help me understand something I haven’t understood about myself.

So, even if it goes against my nature, taking action might not be a mistake.

“Alright, I understand. I’ll help.”

“That’s great… Thank you.”

Perhaps relieved, Miyashita let out a sigh and relaxed her tense body.
Having a conversation with someone she had hardly talked to, discussing her crush, and asking for advice must have been quite nerve-wracking.

Although I felt sorry for her in this situation, I blurted out one more thing.

“Now, there’s one proposal I have right away.”

“Eh, already?”

Amidst her confusion and panic, we began discussing the first move.



1 Comment

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for your hardwork!!

    Like

Leave a Comment