#261


 

On the second night of the school trip, under the moonlit night sky, the students of Sakuranaoka Academy gathered at an outdoor cooking area set up at their new accommodation, the cottages.

 

For our final dinner on the school trip, we were having a barbecue. Everyone knew that they would return to their familiar surroundings once the sun rose, so they all wore smiles on their faces, determined to enjoy these last moments.

The teachers, usually strict in enforcing the rules, were allowing the students a bit more leeway on this special occasion.

 

While the members of my group were in high spirits, preparing the ingredients, one person was tending to the fire.

As I gazed at the blazing flames, I felt a sense of relief, as if I had arrived somewhere far away from the crowd.

 

Lighting a fire in an unfamiliar place felt quite like a survival experience.

It might even be a great addition to future Okinawa tours.

I couldn’t help but think, perhaps it was a good idea to insert my name at the bottom of the brochure.

I entertained such playful thoughts as I threw another piece of wood onto the fire.

 

It was a simple task, but with the expertise I had gained, I could easily determine where to place the wood for the most efficient and spectacular flame.

Maybe I could become a survival expert someday.

 

As I silently worked, the sound of footsteps on the gravel path reached my ears, mingling with the cheers of the students.

I didn’t turn around, my gaze fixed on what was in front of me. In a calm and familiar voice that I had gotten used to hearing, she spoke softly.

 

“Shinra, can I help with anything?”

 

Next to me, I caught a sidelong glance at Miyashita, who was crouching down while holding down the skirt of the casual clothes she had changed into at the place we were staying.

 

“Don’t you want to join them over there?”

 

I asked, tilting my head slightly as I glanced in the direction where the other students were making a lot of noise. The central figures of the class, who were having a great time, hadn’t noticed that she had moved away.

 

She was quite the master of misdirection, perhaps more so than our classmates.

However, she had a different atmosphere than the others.

 

“Right now, the atmosphere there isn’t quite for me.”

 

I picked up a small twig with leaves from the ground and tossed it into the fire, causing the flames to briefly intensify before subsiding. It was much like human emotions, flaring up for a moment and then fading away.

 

“I’m sorry for causing you so much trouble.”

 

“That’s enough. It was my decision to help.”

 

How many times has she apologized; I can’t remember the exact count.

I’ve already run out of words to reply. She seemed to understand that, and a smile naturally formed on her lips.

 

But her smile appeared slightly forced.

The reason for that soon became clear.

 

“I’ve arranged to meet Ogiwara-kun on the rooftop of the airport tomorrow… I just wanted to let you know, Shinra.”

 

She tightened her grip on her hands, a hint of nervousness in her actions. Time was slipping away, and the moment was drawing closer. Even though she knew the answer, it was impossible to hide her nervousness.

I didn’t have many words of comfort to offer her, but I wished her the best.

 

“I see… I hope it goes well.”

 

I murmured softly without making eye contact. Afterward, Miyashita opened her mouth, and her gaze turned in my direction.

A somewhat unsettling but intriguing look filled her eyes, and then she said softly beside me.

 

“Shinra is unexpectedly kind… that’s surprising?”

 

Sorry for the unexpected surprise…

Well, it’s not about being unexpected, it’s more like people don’t notice kindness around them?

I’ve got stuck with inconvenient roles during decisions like picking class reps for the school trip, and they always end up passing those roles to me, but I don’t complain… much.

 

However, this kind of showy appeal to being a kind-hearted guy isn’t my style.

As chuckles came from beside me, the noise behind us escalated. It was some male students I had seen before.

 

“It’s our last night on this school trip, let’s talk about our true feelings!”

 

One of the students from Class 2-3 stood up and declared. His voice reverberated, attracting the attention of everyone around.

No one knew exactly who initiated this, but it wasn’t important; it was all in the spirit of the moment.

Before you knew it, the event was making the rounds, and this word ‘last night’ held a special significance.

 

There are no students who go out of their way to confess their true feelings to their crush in front of an audience.

I wonder why they don’t understand that.

 

With a frivolous comment, it was as if someone had poured oil on an open flame.

Who’s going to confess to whom? Is it him, you, or her? Meaningless questions spread through the air.

 

“What are those guys doing…”

 

“Once again, those guys are getting carried away…”

 

I turned a scornful eye toward the scene, and my neighbour, Miyashita, muttered her displeasure.

I knew all too well who would end up inconvenienced by these kinds of events.

 

My eyes didn’t look towards the male students, though; instead, it moved in the order from Shizuku, Kirasaka, and then Yuuto.

Shizuku, realizing something, looked uncomfortable as she hid behind a group of female students. Kirasaka focused on preparing the dinner she had been assigned. Yuuto, on the other hand, was attempting to calm down the excited students.

 

However, once lit, the flames of students’ expectations will not be extinguished that easily.

A student with blonde hair and dyed streaks approached Shizuku, Kirasaka, and Yuuto and cheerfully beckoned.

 

“Kanazaki-san, Kirasaka-san, please come to the center too!”

 

At dinner, someone, as if representing the feelings of all the students, stood on a chair and made a bold statement, prompting applause and enthusiasm from everyone.

Despite Shizuku’s subtle head shake, indicating her denail, the atmosphere made it seem like refusing was a terrible thing, and the others grabbed her hands and pulled her towards the center.

 

Next, the attention turned to Kirasaka. She cast a icy cold at the expectant gazes. Her facial expression remained emotionless, revealing no trace of interest. Her silence and disinterested demeanor dampened the spirits of those around her.

Shizuku wordlessly and coldly rebuffed their expectations, causing the atmosphere to cool off a bit. She gently pushed away the hesitant female students, who hesitated with heavy steps, and rushed over to Kirasaka’s table, as if escaping the situation.

 

To say they couldn’t read the room in this situation might be accurate. The boys visibly scowled in disappointment, while the girls sighed.

They could get swept up in the enthusiasm when they were the ones creating the excitement, but as soon as they acted differently, they’d receive cold, disapproving glares.

 

So, they didn’t quite fit in with students like that.

However, it was one of the central figures in the class, much like themselves, who managed to change the atmosphere.

 

“It’s okay, hey Aya.”

 

“Tsumugi…”

 

Nakayama Tsumugi called to Miyashita as she stroked her vibrantly dyed hair.

It wasn’t a tone which asked for one’s approval.

It was a clear provocation.

 

The words held a hidden meaning. Stirred by Nakayama’s suggestive words, the liveliness that had previously subsided around Miyashita came back. The students gathered around Miyashita in the center.

Her figure, who was supposed to be next to me, quickly moved away.

 

Scanning the surroundings, the words that she wanted to say, that she didn’t want this, didn’t reach the other students.

An inescapable atmosphere overwhelmed her.

 

“…”

 

I turned my attention to Nakayama, who was observing the others. She notices my gaze and offers a somewhat taunting smile.

…Is this some kind of retaliation for what happened during the day? An attempt to claim a share of her time with Yuuto without her consent?

 

It’s a very obvious conclusion…

Subconsciously, I almost turn to seek help from Shizuku and Kirasaka.

But this is a mess of my making. I can’t afford to cause these girls any more trouble. Plus, I’m best suited to handle this situation.

 

Whatever the three of them say or do can be easily misinterpreted as humility.

And she’ll bend the information to suit her needs.

 

In that case, if someone completely unrelated takes action here, the atmosphere should cool down instantly.

 

Even as friends, we value connections, so even if it’s something bad, people around will follow.

If you don’t have any friends to begin with, there’s nothing wrong with establishing a bad impression here.

 

So, how do I gather some attention? I don’t really have a strong presence here.

It wasn’t much but I took an unused pot and a ladle in my hands and tapped the bottom of the pot a few times to make a clanging sound.

The high-pitched noise draws the attention of Miyashita and the others.

 

“Do you think the confessions you all glorify are meant just for show or something?”

 

I comment, then place the tools back on the countertop, stepping into the circle of students who were attracted by the noise.

They don’t need it, but Koizumi and Miura, who heard the commotion from afar, approached.

But that won’t be necessary.

 

Since all the eyes were naturally glued to the student who suddenly started saying something strange.

 

“Memories, youth… it must be really fun to watch the scene from away just because it’s not something related to you.”

 

I direct my gaze toward the male student who stirred up the commotion and deliver my message devoid of emotion. The curious stares shift away from me.

Anything conflicting with the group’s consensus is treated as an enemy, and in this situation, I’m the villain. The absolute sense of justice relies on the group.

So, these are just the words muttered by a solitary outcast.

 

“Have you ever thought about the people who suffer when confessions are put on display…? Have you considered what it feels like to have your hard work turned into a talent show…? Are you all making an equal effort to treat others fairly?”

 

A table was set up near the approaching students, on which the school trip pamphlet was laid, adorned with the elegant handwriting of a girl, reading ‘The Best School Trip.’

Is this the grand finale of the best school trip, I wonder?

 

Maybe this is what it meant to be like student-like.

Maybe I’m the one who is disrupting others.

 

“Let the serious people make the call, the half-hearted ones have no business interfering…”

 

I’m well aware that this is not something typical of Shinra Minato.

Even so, the words I uttered have utterly chilled the atmosphere around.

 

It might be me who’s out of place, just like how one person who’s entirely serious in a casual game stands out. I must be a truly ugly and embarrassing presence.

Still, in the midst of the words I’ve spoken, a voice can be heard from somewhere.

 

“What’s with all the seriousness, man, it’s boooring.”

 

Following these words, a round object soars into the air. A red, ripe tomato gracefully traces a parabolic path through the air as it comes flying towards me.

If it were Yuuto, he’d probably stylishly catch it with one hand and say something like, “You mustn’t waste food,” I imagine.

 

Unfortunately, I don’t possess the reflexes to catch or dodge a suddenly incoming object.

The tomato collides with my head, splattering vividly like fresh blood. There’s a small ripple of laughter around me as I think, ‘I’m going to get an earful from the tomato farmer.’

I look in the direction from which it was thrown.

 

“Did you enjoy that? I hope it gets added to your precious school trip memories.”

 

My changed clothes are stained red, and my wet hair is dripping.

As Koizumi and Miura rush to the scene, the other students disperse, and Shizuku and Kirasaka approached behind them.

 

“Minato-kun, are you alright?”

 

“You got hit right on the mark. Sit still.”

 

Unfazed by the fact that her hands would get dirty, Shizuku picks up the fruit pulp that’s stuck to my head, while Kirasaka wipes it off with a handkerchief.

However, I shake my head and turn around.

 

“I’m going to take a shower… It’s probably faster that way.”

 

Staying in this spot would only have a negative impact. I’ll thank Koizumi and Miura later.

 

Of course, I’ll thank them too. While walking away, I pay no mind to the disgusted looks directed at me. As I proceed, Miyashita enters my field of vision.

With an apologetic expression, guilt is written all over her face.

 

“If you decided on tomorrow… then don’t concern yourself with what others think.”

 

In my dirtied state, anything I say just makes me look worse.

I see her nodding slightly before my last night of the school trip comes to a close.

 


<BBX> : I’ll be out tomorrow, so keep waiting. 🙂


1 Comment

  1. Mirilu says:

    Was that one of the classmates or who…
    Also, these classmates are so pathetic. They’re just a useless mob that can’t think straight, 200+ chapters and they still behave like this…

    Like

Leave a Comment