#262


 

As the students finished dinner and began moving back to their rooms for sleep, I picked up my smartphone and made a call.

 

“Hello, Minato-kun, what’s wrong?”

 

“I just wanted to ask a favour.”

 

Shizuku’s photo appeared on the screen, and her voice came through the speaker.

I had left my room to find a quiet spot since I wanted some privacy, and I walked to a vending machine located a short distance away in the corridor. There was a bench nearby where two people could sit.

I took a seat and told her my request.

 

“Could you please let Miyashita know to come to the hiking course tomorrow morning at 5 AM?”

 

[ The hiking course? ]

 

The place was surrounded by rich nature, with the cottages as our accommodations. There seemed to be a popular hiking course within this facility.

 

The students would be waking up at 6 AM, and breakfast was at 7 AM. If anyone else were to visit, it would likely be after six.

If it were 5 AM, there should be hardly anyone there. It seemed like Shizuku had caught on to my intention, and she responded.

 

[ In that case, I’ll stay in my room to manage things so that no one gets suspicious of Miyashita-san’s absence. ]

 

“I appreciate it…”

 

I said through the phone, although she couldn’t see me, and I lowered my head slightly. I knew I was being selfish.

Miyashita had decided to go for it at the airport tomorrow. I’ve also agreed to it too during the evening today. Therefore, forcibly changing the timing was not my intention.

 

However, given Nakayama’s presence, the hiking course in the morning seemed to have the lowest chance of interference. At the very least, I wanted to ensure her final closure went smoothly without any unwanted disruptions.

 

After ending the call with Shizuku and purchasing a drink to take back to my room, I encountered Yuuto standing in front of the room. He noticed me and offered a wry smile. Perhaps he had something to discuss.

I stopped next to him and leaned against the wall. I opened the lid of the tea I’d bought and took a sip as Yuuto began to speak.

 

“Sorry about earlier. I should have tried harder to stop them.”

 

“Ah, it’s fine.”

 

“Fine?…”

 

Yuuto’s expression changed slightly, first showing surprise and then turning into a somewhat exasperated sigh.

This seemed to be a significant issue for him, although it wasn’t as big of a problem for me. If I had to provide an example, it would be the likelihood of being called ‘Tomato-kun’ in the future. Or given the context ‘Dense Tomato-kun’.

However, it might be a good idea to explain this to Yuuto. He wasn’t the type to be satisfied with vague explanations.

 

“Even if the three of you told them to stop, it wouldn’t have calmed down in that situation.”

 

“…”

 

It’s just my personal opinion, but I told Yuuto.

Just as the saying goes, ‘the right man in the right place,’ they are ideal for gathering support from the students. But on the contrary, in that situation, where the atmosphere became chaotic, I think I’m more suitable for calming it down.

 

They’re too kind, and they can’t bring themselves to say strong words. Although Shizuku showed her reluctance, she’s not good at dealing with assertive students.

 

In that situation, it was Kirasaka who remained the calmest.

By simply ignoring the situation, she made it quite clear to those around her.

 

However, individual expressions of intent aren’t enough to bring the heated atmosphere under control.

To put it plainly, I’m the kind of person who disrupts the rhythm of the group.

 

Just by not matching the rhythm, you can completely change the atmosphere. Uncooperative, troublesome, and various other things. It becomes discord, seen as an intruder.

Once the antagonist appears, the rest is easy. By targeting the core of the students, acting like the hypocrite they hate the most, you can naturally freeze the atmosphere.

So, I chose the role that was best suited to be disliked by the others and would lead to a quick resolution.

 

Yuuto is best suited to improve the awkward atmosphere among the students. I think Shizuku will support him, and Kirasaka…

Anyway, I believe this is the best approach to handle that situation.

 

Yuuto quickly managed the situation there. He did his job. So, there’s no need for apologies, neither giving nor receiving.

But it might be a bit late, but I have one more thing to ask.

 

“Tomorrow… in the morning, I’m thinking of going to the hiking course. Are you gonna come?”

 

“Alright, I’ll join you.”

 

As the students return to their rooms and there are no people in the hallway, I made an agreement with Yuuto on the last night of our school trip.

And then time passes.

 

 

 

The final morning of the school trip arrives, with various speculations and emotions swirling around.

At 5 in the morning, while the students are still in their dreams, I step outside. I thought about wearing my uniform, but wearing a uniform for a long time this early in the morning seems too troublesome, so I step outside in the loungewear I had brought with me.

As I left the cottage, I saw Yuuto waiting for me, bathing in the morning sun with a refreshed expression.

 

“Good morning, Minato. Shall we go for a morning walk?”

 

“Yeah, sure.”

 

We both stretched our bodies and then walked shoulder to shoulder towards the hiking course. After passing through a corridor lined with buildings, we entered a lush tunnel of trees.

The refreshing morning breeze helped wash away any lingering frustrations from the previous day. The natural surroundings seemed to brighten our expressions.

 

Yuuto also seemed relaxed, humming a tune as he enjoyed the walk.

After about five minutes, we reached a secluded area with benches, like a resting place. It felt like the perfect spot to enjoy a meal.

 

As I was thinking that, I noticed a woman standing there. Of course, I knew who she was.

It was Miyashita Aya.

She, too, was in casual attire, gazing up at the trees. When she heard our footsteps, she turned around.

 

“Good morning, both of you.”

 

“Good morning, Miyashita-san.”

 

“Morning…”

 

We exchanged morning greetings and approached her. Yuuto didn’t suspect anything. He likely assumed that she was just enjoying the morning hike, like us.

So, I turned towards him, intending to tell him about our planned meeting and why I had asked him to come out at this early hour. However, before I could speak, Miyashita spoke first.

 

“Minato… I’m sorry, but could you wait over there for a bit?”

 

She pointed towards the direction from which we had come. There were some rocks that were suitable for sitting, so waiting there wouldn’t be a problem.

 

But from her tone, I couldn’t tell if she was planning an unexpected encounter and confession. Although I had asked her to change the timing to the morning, I had originally planned to apologize to Yuuto and explain everything.

However, her words should take priority right now. I nodded and said a few words to Yuuto.

 

“I’ll wait over there. Let me know when you’re done talking.”

 

“Alright, sorry for this.”

 

Yuuto must have sensed something about the reason she called only him closer. After I replied back with just a word, his expression became more serious.

I moved a little further away and sat on a rock, but still, I was close enough to hear their conversation. While focusing my attention on what’s happening in front of me, I failed to notice the woman who had taken a seat beside me.

 

“Good morning, Shinra-kun.”

 

“…Could you stop approaching me while hiding your presence?”

 

“It’s a woman’s hobby, you know.”

 

What kind of hobbies is it? It almost seems like that of someone skilled in assassination.

My suspicious gaze towards Kirasaka was effortlessly brushed aside, and she turned her focus forward.

 

“Kanazaki-san is waiting in the room to avoid raising suspicion among the other students. She told me that I should come here because I’d be fine.”

 

“Is that so?”

 

Both of them have the right to witness the outcome of the cooperation they provided. Originally, Shizuku probably wanted to do the same.

However, she has taken on the bothersome role, and for that, I’m grateful. I redirected my gaze towards Kirasaka, then turns her attention back to Miyashita and Yuuto.

Miyashita spoke.

 

“I have something I want to tell Ogiwara-kun. Can you please listen to it?”

 

“Of course, what is it?”

 

Since his back is facing us, I can’t see his expression from here, but he’s probably smiling.

He has been faithfully reproducing the appearance of the ideal prince that everyone desires, and everyone admires.

That’s why the real Ogiwara Yuuto is invisible to everyone’s eyes.

 

After Yuuto confessed to Shizuku, something should have changed. No, something had to change. However, Yuuto has continued to behave as he always has, and Shizuku has also maintained her friendly relationship with him, showing consideration.

The relationship that was supposed to have ended once has stepped into a state of ambiguity.

 

Can a stone be cast into that negative relationship?

I listen carefully to every word Miyashita says.

 

“Ogiwara-kun, I like you! Please go out with me!”

 

As Miyashita confesses, her face turns bright red. Her trembling arms and the nervousness and anxiety she’s experiencing are evident.

Yuuto, upon hearing Miyashita’s words, also trembles slightly. What kind of expression is he wearing?

 

“I wonder why people confess.”

 

Next to me, Kirasaka muttered as she witnessed the scene.

In response to this pure question, I craft my own words.

 

“Be it friendship, love, they’re different from family… there’s nothing to indicate that, which is why people want it in words. They want to be sure that both sides share the same feelings.”

 

“Words…”

 

Because it’s intangible, because it doesn’t exist.

That’s why people put their feelings into words, to get assurance, to show others that they share a mutual understanding.

 

Human connections are incredibly fragile. In a brief moment of misunderstanding, paths can diverge for a lifetime.

So, should we not talk at all?

That’s loneliness. People can’t live in isolation.

Right now, what Miyashita has conveyed to Yuuto is her desire to make these invisible, fragile relationships clear and strong. She wants to be sure that, for her, he’s a special person.

That’s what it seemed like to me.

After Miyashita’s confession, Yuuto remains silent for a while. His gaze is slightly downcast before slowly lifting it.

 

“I’m sorry… I can’t respond to your feelings right now.”

 

“…I see.”

 

Yuuto’s response was exactly as expected, just as Miyashita had anticipated. No one could blame Yuuto. Nor should they.

However, this confession was very important to her, and her expression now carries a shadow.

Knowing that she might leave soon, with a somewhat downcast Miyashita, Yuuto continues speaking.

 

“I had feelings for someone… I confessed and was rejected, and I thought my feelings had cleared up, but it seems kind of petty that I still follow her with my eyes.”

 

The person Yuuto is talking about seems to be clear to not only me and Kirasaka but also to Miyashita. If she truly had feelings for Yuuto, then her gaze would naturally follow the woman he had in his line of sight.

However, between the two of them, there is a clear answer. That’s why Miyashita took this big step.

 

“Yeah, it’s kinda petty… but I’m honestly happy that you told me the truth.”

 

With uplifted eyes, Miyashita gazes at Yuuto and whispers softly. Her expression is no longer filled with pessimism from the moment she was rejected; a glimmer of hope can be seen.

 

“In that case, I’ll do my best Ogiwara-kun’s gaze will shift from that girl to me.”

 

The words expressing determination and resolve reached the ears of the three of us, including me.

Just like Shizuku, in her declaration of continuing her pursuit, Yuuto was taken aback.

 

“Hey, Ogiwara-kun, would you like to take a walk on the hiking trail together?”

 

Without waiting for an answer to her question, Miyashita took Yuuto’s hand and proceeded to the hiking trail.

As they left, she glanced back and nodded towards me.

 

She knew that her confession would be rejected, so should she give up already or not?

Miyashita possessed a determination not to give up. Her determination was strong, and surprisingly devious.

 

Yuuto would undoubtedly have his hands full with her in the future, but it was better than pretending to be a nice guy and hiding behind a fake smile.

He was being led by Miyashita’s hand, watching him panic the corner of my mouth turned up into a grin.

 

“Well… our role is over, so let’s go back.”

 

After they disappeared from sight, I stood up and told Kirasaka.

She was still gazing at the spot where the two of them had been. With a serious expression, she gently rested her chin on her hand.

 

“I wonder if I should put my feelings into words…”

She murmured softly, and Kirasaka looked up at me.

There wasn’t enough information for me to interpret the meaning of the lines she whispered. Seated on the rock, her gaze met mine, and she turned her next.

 

“What are you talk—“

 

“I love you.”

 

Normally, her eyes were cold, but they now held warmth, and the light filtering through the trees made her black hair shine.

In this magical setting, her brief confession carried profound significance. It was a sudden confession at an unexpected moment.

 

Stunned, I stood there, as if turned into stone, unable to move.

In response to my reaction, she smiled with a hint of mischief and joy.

 

Standing up, she approached me until she was right in front of me, then ran her white fingers across my cheek.

 

“I love you… and I won’t give you to anyone.”

 

With those few words, Kirasaka began to walk gracefully toward the cottage, humming a tune.

 


<BBX> : LET’S GO!!


 

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous says:

    Kirasaka confession? Uwooooggghhhh

    Like

Leave a Comment