#271


 

I rang the doorbell of the old and well-maintained house with a distinctive tiled roof. From the back, I heard hurried footsteps approaching the front door. Even before seeing who was about to greet me, just from those footsteps, my cheeks relaxed ever so slightly.

As the door was swiftly but carefully opened, my younger sister, Kaede, stood with a worried expression.

When she saw me, she seemed relieved and looked at me with upturned eyes.

 

“Nii-san, how did it go?”

 

Compared to this morning, when she had gone to our mother’s hometown on her own without any prior notice, her expression was somewhat brighter.

I lightly stroked her head, and she nodded slightly.

 

“I’m okay. Well, it didn’t go entirely smoothly, but…”

 

“Really!?”

 

She put extra force into her embrace, wrapping her arms around my back and burying her face in my chest. She didn’t say it out loud, but it seemed like a mixture of relief and joy overwhelmed her. The hug was almost too tight, causing a bit of discomfort.

From behind Kaede, an elderly man slowly emerged from the house. It was our grandfather, with neatly trimmed white hair.

 

“Did the conversation head in a positive direction?”

 

“Sorry for coming so early, Grandpa… For now, I think we can consider canceling the idea of studying abroad.”

 

Having experienced a situation in which he was struck on the cheek by mom, I prefer not to bring up anything prematurely. In reality, even if a similar situation arises again, the response from me and Kaede will not change. I can only hope that there won’t be a second time, but for the time being, I believe everything will be fine this academic year.

 

“What about grandma?”

 

Expecting to see my grandmother following my grandfather, I asked Kaede. However, they exchanged glances and shared a knowing smile.

Is there some secret between them that they can’t tell me? I really don’t like the sound of that.

With a bitter expression on my face, Kaede answered my question.

 

“She’s in the back making a call to our house. She’s pretty angry about Dad bringing up the whole study abroad thing on his own.”

 

I see, that explains it.

Grandpa and Kaede exchanged looks, and it became clear why they had these expressions.

 

The call was either with Dad or Mom. Based on the fact that Mom left the house, I assume she’s making the call to make Dad hear her out.

Well, this is a good opportunity for Dad to break a sweat. This isn’t what I expected, but since it’s been a while since I visited my grandparents’ house, why not take it easy?

 

 

Rei’s side…

A solitary cafe sits along the national highway leading to the neighbouring town. The interior of the cafe is sparsely populated, considering its location on the opposite side of the road from the direction of the city. It primarily serves coffee and tea, with light snacks like sandwiches on the menu.

I personally appreciate the simplicity of this place. While people might assume that I indulge in extravagant items at home due to our family’s wealth, that’s just a baseless misconception. Spending some quiet time alone during off-peak hours on weekends is one of my simple pleasures.

I had thought that I would bring my favourite person to this place. By introducing him to my cherished spot, I could also create a pretext to invite him on other occasions. I had secretly harboured such cunning thoughts.

 

However, I ended up inviting someone entirely different from my plans and imaginings.

I had requested Ji <Kuroi-san, the driver, for those who don’t remember>, who serves as my father’s secretary, to provide transportation, and according to our agreement, he should be arriving soon.

 

As I glanced at my watch and turned the page of my partially read novel, the gentle background music in the quiet cafe made for a comfortable atmosphere. The doorbell announcing a new guest rang softly.

I directed my gaze towards the entrance and confirmed the arrival of the visitor. Upon seeing me seated, the visitor smiled at the cafe staff, nodded to indicate their accompanying person, and walked towards me.

 

“Hello, Kanazaki-san.”

 

“Hello, Kirasaka-san.”

 

The person I had summoned is Kanazaki Shizuku, the childhood friend of Shinra Minato. She is the person Minato trusts the most besides family, and she herself holds affection for him.

In the past, we were not in a relationship where we would go out together on weekends. But today, I wanted to talk to her.

 

“Would you like something to drink?”

 

“I already placed an order with the server. However, I certainly didn’t expect you to invite me.”

 

“Well, I didn’t expect it either.”

 

I closed my eyes, let out a small chuckle, and replied. She took a seat at the opposite table. With her beret and white dress, she had a cute appearance that made her popular among guys.

I was dressed mainly in black with a skirt. I wondered which outfit he might prefer. Such insights were something I wanted to obtain from her. I envied Kanazaki Shizuku for having so much information about Minato.

 

“Today, I want to talk with you.”

 

“Talk…?”

 

She naturally tilted her head and seemed puzzled. Perhaps there were no apparent reasons for this. It had been like this before.

I had interacted with him in a different context than she did. However, that changed on the final day of the school trip.

 

I had realized something and, by putting it into words, I discovered the name for the feelings welling up inside me. Now, we shared a common point.

I smiled and whispered softly to her, who still seemed to be pondering the content.

 

“As girls who love the same guy, I thought we might want to share information.”

 

“…Is that so?”

 

She looked surprised for a moment, but her expression soon shifted to a calm one. As if she expected that answer, or as if she had known all along, she smiled.

 

“Isn’t it difficult for you too, falling in love with him?”

 

“Indeed… but even while thinking it’s tough, I believe the desire to see him persists.”

 

I want to meet him, talk with him. Even if it’s just idle chatter with no substance, I don’t mind. I want to quietly watch his profile while he looks bored, gazing out the classroom window beside him. If I feel this way, then it’s real. These feelings aren’t misunderstandings or deceptions; it’s genuine love.

 

“Today, let’s talk about love.”

 

I proposed to her.

This might be the only chance, so let’s discuss our feelings about that boy. Not with hostility, not as two exceptional individuals, but just as two girls talking about one boy.

She let out a sudden laugh and leaned forward after taking off her hat.

 

“It will be long if I start talking about Minato-kun, you know?”

 

“Yes, I’d enjoy that.”

 

I returned her challenge with a mischievous smile.

Maybe tomorrow we’ll be love rivals, facing off again. But having days like this, I thought, might not be so bad. And I’ve been able to think this way since I met Minato.

 

What is he doing right now, I wonder? If I suddenly called him, would he answer with that troublesome tone and ask about my business? That might be amusing too.

 



1 Comment

  1. Mirilu says:

    Tbh, author writing about girls falling for the MC of MCs that looks out of the window with a bored gaze feels like such a wish fulfillment. Or maybe my view got just too twisted after seeing so many mainstream anime going for that niche. (Hyoka, Oregairu, Jaku-chara etc.)

    Like

Leave a Comment