#272


 

November is coming to an end. The air is getting colder, with a chilly breeze brushing against the skin, sending shivers through the body. Breath escapes from the mouth in white puffs, dispersing into the air.

During this time, what do people usually think of? Christmas, of course. In the streets, in classrooms, even at home, everyone is bombarded with announcements and commercials proclaiming, ‘Christmas is here again!’

 

I can’t help but express my annoyance at the way we’ve begun to celebrate events that aren’t part of traditional Japanese culture, such as Halloween and, of course, Christmas. But every year, we worry about whether we should join in the loud, bustling festivities or risk being considered plain or even labelled as introverts.

 

On the other hand, those who dislike these events might harbour resentment towards extroverts, fervently muttering, ‘Extroverts should go die’, in their hearts. It’s hard to determine who’s at fault.

What we can say with certainty is that, whether you choose to participate or not, it’s essential not to inconvenience others. This is something that every elementary school student should be taught first and foremost.

 

One thing is sure in recent times, our manners have been lacking. At school, everyone’s discussions revolve around how they’ll spend Christmas. Among the major students in each class, many are already beginning to make plans for Christmas.

 

For those with partners, it’s all about crafting the perfect date, and the rest of us, who haven’t been invited anywhere, are feeling rather dejected.

For me, Christmas involves an important tradition. I always get a takeaway chicken from a shop that runs a personal barbecue joint in the shopping district. It’s reasonably priced, with generous portions and a fantastic taste. The only regret is that it’s only available for Christmas.

 

As the year-end approaches, I’m contemplating making a reservation soon, all the while observing the bustling scene in the classroom. Suddenly, Kirasaka, seated next to me, leans over and takes a look at the answer sheet placed on my desk.

It’s easy to forget, but as students, our main duty is to study, and tests are always a source of anxiety. The answer sheet in front of me is the result of the final exams held last week. It’s a math paper, and my score is neither impressive nor terrible; it’s right around the average.

 

Lately, there’s been a growing perception from people around me that perhaps I have good academic abilities… or at least, that’s what I think. So, I received an average score, as expected. I might as well be titled the ‘Average Score Master’ if such a thing existed.

We had tests in a variety of subjects, including math, contemporary literature, social studies, science, and English, as well as some unusual subjects not usually covered, given that these are final exams.

 

I’m also a member of the student council. If I were to get a failing grade, I can already predict the wry smiles that the other council members would offer. I did try my best, or at least I thought I did. But exceeding one’s imagination is a challenge.

Kirasaka looks at my answer sheet, checks the content, and then flashes a soft smile. She points out a few things.

 

“You made a mistake in the formula here, and you were on the right track with this problem until the middle. If you had reviewed it, you could have caught your mistake. Let’s review it next time.”

 

“I can’t even retort back.”

 

I barely had enough time to fill in all the answer spaces, or I might mention that I dismissed the formula because it’s a complicated calculation, which is usually my weakness. But those would be nothing but excuses for someone who received a perfect score next to me.

 

By the way, it seems like Kirasaka, who was once referred to as the ‘Ice Queen’, has become a bit more expressive. Even the smile she’s wearing now seems genuine, and it would undoubtedly make the guys around her fall for her.

I believe she’s now more approachable for other students…

As I’m thinking these things, Yuuto, who has come up to me with an answer sheet, is shocked, and his voice escapes him.

 

“Perfect score, as expected Kirasaka-san is amazing…”

 

“…”

 

Kirasaka remains silent as Yuuto mutters his amazement. In the end, it’s quite a challenge for him, and by extension, for the other students.

On the contrary, Kirasaka exudes a sense of self-assurance.

Shizuku, who sat down in front after Yuuto, examines my answer sheet and nods approvingly. She attempts to mark something with a red pen but puffs out her cheeks adorably, glaring at me.

 

“Minato-kun, this is the part I helped you with, right?”

 

“I did learn something… but I can’t promise I can solve every question.”

 

“No more excuses, okay?”

 

She retorts, puffing out her chest with her characteristic confidence.

This time as well, Shizuku and Kirasaka shared their strategies for tackling problems in all subjects. I didn’t use their method of concentrating only on the question range they predicted, as it almost feels like cheating due to its high accuracy rate.

 

Instead, I decided to review the entire curriculum, occasionally asking them to explain the parts I didn’t understand. However, in the end, I ended up with the same scores as usual, so it was probably just me.

 

Now that I’ve gotten through the final exams uneventfully, all that remains is to pass the months of November and December before the school year ends. After enjoying the New Year’s festivities, I’ll have to start thinking about preparing for the promotion exams that follow in the cold season.

Thinking too far ahead about what comes after New Year’s might just bring me down, so it’s best to focus on the immediate future.

 

Recently, due to the commotion around Kaede’s study abroad, mom came back home. Until now, the answer sheets were sealed in my closet in my room, but starting this time, there’s an agreement to show them, so I placed them in my bag as Yuuto watched.

 

“Christmas is coming soon, and the shopping district has already started putting up Christmas lights.”

 

“Do you all have plans for this year?”

 

As if she were waiting for Yuuto’s words, Shizuku asks with a hint of anticipation. It seems Kirasaka also wanted to bring up the same topic, as she nudged Shizuku’s shoulder while asking.

After initially adding this note, both of them direct their hopeful gazes at me… or perhaps it’s more like they’re expecting me to not have any plans?

 

“I do.”

 

Unfortunately, I do have plans. My plan is to enjoy the warmth of the kotatsu <Heated table> while munching on some chicken. Happiness beyond this is hard to come by.

I open my mouth before any feelings of regret or apology arise.

 

“Eh…?”

 

“You’re joking, right…?”

 

Why are you both looking at me like the world’s ending? It’s okay for me to have plans, even if they’re very personal.

However, they shake their heads as if not believing it, and after looking at each other, they turn their sharp gazes in my direction.

 

The sight of two women glaring at each other is rather terrifying. Yuuto is also smiling wryly.

I’m really sorry, but it’s not what you think. You’re looking at each other as if it’s a showdown, but it’s not what you imagine.

 

“I’m going to eat chicken at home.”

 

To avoid further misunderstandings and tension, I explain my plans. They both suddenly heave a sigh of relief.

Looking at each other, Shizuku and Kirasaka share a silent understanding, and Shizuku makes a proposal on their behalf.

 

“In that case, how about going out until dinner on Christmas day?”

 

“Eh… No way.”

 

Lately, I’ve been doing a lot with them, so they naturally suggested it, but I instantly decline. How naive; there’s no way I’m leaving my cozy kotatsu. I will definitely remain ensconced in the warmest heating device humanity has ever created.

To avoid the sudden chill that has taken over their gazes, I avert my eyes and look out of the classroom window.

 


<BBX> : Daily(?) dose of recommendation: Webtoon Character Na Kang Lim


 

2 Comments

  1. Mirilu says:

    Dude should have just kept it at that, would have been hilarious to see those girls look for thier new third rival that doesn’t exist.

    That being said, iirc, Japanese people see Christmas more of a couple’s holiday whereas New Years’ is for friends and family.

    Like

  2. idiotman69 says:

    What the hell is up with this transition. All that drama at the start and Shizuku and Rei’s talk at the end of the last chapter, and now this. I swear, this author is entirely too liberal with his use of time skips.

    Like

Leave a Comment