#284


 

Leaving the discussion room, I parted ways with President at the door, making my way to the second-year building.

The sound of my footsteps echoed up the staircase, and every small noise that wouldn’t usually stand out amid the usual chatter and noise after school seemed to have a bold presence in the quiet hallways of the school.

 

Yet, was it just me who felt this way? I seemed to be the only one enjoying the peace of this seemingly deserted world at the school, where every single footstep reverberated through the hallways. The serene, quiet space where no unnecessary noise entered was occasionally quite pleasant.

 

In such a quiet environment, it was easier to collect one’s thoughts, and my mind seemed to clear as if unnecessary mental fog was dissipating.

On the other hand, the stillness of the surroundings often led me to overthink, considering every aspect of the quiet space.

 

Starting a business or becoming a sole proprietor as a potential future job…

The words the director, Kirasaka’s father, had said were indeed appealing to me. It was evident to everyone that I struggled with group activities, and this was not lost on myself either. The fact that President had openly recommended me to her father was a surprise, but his decision was not wrong.

 

If I were in the opposite position, I would likely make the same choice. It wasn’t a judgment based on personality but rather a matter of fate. People with a tendency to avoid conforming to the norms and collective behaviours that society typically favoured found themselves in situations where they couldn’t let go of their individuality, a concept that modern society struggled to accept.

There was nothing but uncertainty.

 

Turning against others would be troublesome, and keeping such a secret hidden in your heart was no easy task.

Thinking about the conversation that had taken place right in front of me a while ago, I couldn’t help but chuckle.

It would indeed be uncomfortable, wouldn’t it?

 

Director’s expression, too, had a sense of helplessness to it.

It was refreshing to have a decisive answer like that, rather than concealing possibilities, based on judgment from life experiences as an adult and a member of the workforce.

 

“Anyways… what should I do?”

 

I mused while walking down the hallway with my hands clasped behind my head.

The chants of club activities were faintly audible throughout the school, creating the typical atmosphere of a school after classes.

Originally, I didn’t have many options when it came to my future. It was a combination of academic performance, financial situation, and the area where I lived that dictated my choices. With these constraints, the universities and vocational schools I could attend were limited.

 

Among these limited choices, everyone was pondering which one would be the right path for their future.

What about those close to me? I wondered, thinking about the few friends I had.

 

Yuuto, I thought, would probably attend a four-year university. There was a large university campus not far from our town. Many students from Sakura Gakuen were likely to consider that as their ideal destination for further education. Without exception, I believed that Yuuto, too, had selected this university as his desired future path. He often followed the crowd, aligning his actions with the expectations of others, and it wasn’t different when it came to his educational choices.

Everyone wished to go to the same university, and I could align myself with their expectations.

Yuuto had developed a unique way of thinking that set him apart from kindness, but that was who he was.

 

As for Miyashita… honestly, I wasn’t sure. Right now, I thought there was a high chance she’d follow Yuuto to the same university, but women often expressed interest in fields different from men. It might be futile to speculate.

Now, about Shizuku and Kirasaka…

 

“It’s like they will have their pick.”

 

I muttered to myself.

Even if they couldn’t secure a recommendation, they had the skills to enter almost any university. It made me both envious and jealous but also proud.

Ideally, I wanted all three of them, including Yuuto, to attend universities where the environment matched their abilities. There, they could become aware of their true potential, realize the power of possibilities, and decide which direction to take them.

As a friend, I wanted to see them excel.

 

Certainly, many people say that high school friends are friends for life, but as we go through the reality of choosing our career paths and jobs, we slowly drift apart from those we once considered close.

Even so, friends who keep in touch, maintain their bonds, and meet up despite being physically apart are the ones who can be considered true friends.

 

From that perspective, the notion that high school friends are friends for life isn’t entirely wrong, as adults often say.

While pondering these thoughts, the main issue was ultimately about which educational path I should choose. Is it correct to opt for a safe choice when I haven’t found what I truly want to do or a job that suits me?

 

Well, maybe it is correct.

Perhaps it’s the right thing to do to choose a university, where I can re-evaluate my future and decide on a direction. I might be overthinking it and delaying my answer when I question whether it’s right to opt for the safe choice.

Most people make their decisions this way because everyone is doing it, and Minato-kun dislikes that line of thinking, which complicates things.

While pondering on those thoughts, I made a five-minute walk to the classroom take thirty minutes. When I opened the door of Class 2-3.

 

“Welcome back, Minato.”

 

“You’re quite late.”

 

I found it hard to believe that Shizuku and Kirasaka were having a casual chat, so I assumed they had quietly waited in the classroom.

It was strange, and I felt both apologetic and grateful.

 

“You could’ve gone home earlier.”

 

I said those as my first words. Shizuku picked up my bag, which was on the chair where I usually sat, and began preparing to leave. In the meantime, both of them started tidying up the classroom.

They put a bookmark between the pages of the books that were open and abandoned the assignments they were working on. Once the three of us were ready to leave, Shizuku called out to me from behind.

 

“Minato-kun, has today’s conversation given you any ideas about your future plans?”

 

“No… It was more about what kind of work style might suit me when the time comes.”

 

I answered, and Shizuku seemed to accept this explanation. Kirasaka, on the other hand, had heard the conversation but didn’t appear particularly interested; she was adjusting her hair.

Both of them were wearing the gifts I had given them discreetly. It felt a bit embarrassing to have that in my mind during our conversations.

 

But it’s good that nowadays, even high-end items can easily be put up for sale in online shops.

In response to my answer, the conversation with Shizuku seemed to come to a close. We opened the classroom door, and after making sure all the doors were closed, Shizuku spoke up again.

 

“We will be attending the same university you choose, Minato-kun.”

 

 

 

 

“…Why?”

In response to Shizuku’s words, Kirasaka stood next to her without offering any corrections or objections. Her attitude suggested that what Shizuku said was true. Shizuku looked at me with a seemingly natural expression.

 

Why would they do that? It shouldn’t be their choice.

There are better places for them, places that would be more suited to who they are. Sure, there are concerns about their personalities, but even now, Shizuku is gradually overcoming her tendency to conform to her surroundings, and Kirasaka is growing into a more age-appropriate girl.

 

So, they should choose their own paths. Certainly, there is a big problem between me and these girls.

That is love, and perhaps it is also the feeling that I would like to know, even if I put the pursuit of higher education on the back burner. So, could that be the reason?

 

Without being able to give a clear answer, we had reached the point where our choices for future education were imminent.

So, did the choices they made lead them to the same ordinary university and were considering to spend their important years as students with me, despite their own abilities and talents?

 

“Too much treasure is treasure lost… You two deserve–“

 

“At this point, we’ve simply stated our preferences.”

 

My words were cut off, overwritten by Kirasaka. Her expression showed no sign of joking.

It seemed that they had already discussed this between themselves. Even so, my feelings urged me to wish for them to choose a different path.

 

It might be unnecessary meddling, as it’s their own lives. But I was free to hold my desires.

Without saying anything, they continued walking, as if to say, ‘Don’t worry about it.’ Their gentle smiles felt like needles piercing my heart.

 

I didn’t dislike the idea of going to the same place as close friends. It could be reassuring. But within me, there was a choice I had already made.

The thought that they might follow the same path as me, suppressing their talents, was unbearable.

 

 

Regardless of what others might think, I was determined to avoid becoming a burden on Shizuku and Kirasaka.

 


<BBX> : Oh, so he’ll become serious now?
I  got ill. If I disappear someday, please be patient, I’ll try to be back soon.


1 Comment

  1. Mirilu says:

    Hope you get better. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Comment