Extra Chapter: Banquet of Memories


President’s POV


 

A school event created by all students coming together, commonly referred to as a cultural festival. In our school, it is known as the Sakura Festival, a grand event. It’s something we look forward to, but also something we’d rather not face.

Once it arrives, all we’re left with is the task of dismantling what we’ve created. We tear it down, and it becomes a page in our memories, something we’ll reflect on with deep emotions and talk about in the future.

 

But that’s what a cultural festival is all about. It’s enjoyable because it has an end, and the memories shine brightly within us.

However, this work I do in the Student Council, being a part of it, is something I genuinely enjoy. I joined the school, gained support, and even took on the role of the president as a freshman, and I’ve been enjoying a fulfilling school life.

 

Last year, being my first cultural festival after entering the school, the days were a bit chaotic as I wasn’t familiar with everything. However, by my second year, I’ve understood the flow of things.

I also have two reliable underclassmen who’ve joined the Student Council. We’re currently in the middle of preparations, and my role includes overseeing the whole school premises, and things seem to be going well. In the final stage of presentations, various contests are taking place.

Completing one role, I move on to the next. Perhaps others see me as constantly changing roles.

But that’s perfectly fine. In this school, this image is the one I should portray.

 

“President, the stage’s progress is proceeding as planned.”

 

“Thank you, Koizumi. I’m glad it’s going smoothly.”

 

Koizumi, one of the new Student Council members, who is in charge of the backstage of the stage, runs over to report on the progress.

I nod and respond as we both shift our gazes in the same direction.

 

The students have gathered, and they’re announcing various rankings that they’ve calculated on their own.

I see Kirasaka Rei’s name mentioned in some of them, someone I know quite well. It brings a smile to my face without me even realizing it.

Popularity, appearance, she doesn’t care about any of that.

 

Right now, she’s probably somewhere reading a book, having too much free time.

I consider sending her a message and teasing her about it. But as I’m thinking about it, someone catches my eye out of the corner of it.

He’s not well-known and just an ordinary student. Ordinarily, there’s no reason I should take an interest in a male student who is one year younger and in a different grade.

 

However, his circumstances are slightly different.

Due to family circumstances, which seem to align suspiciously well with my own convenience, I knew about him.

 

His name is Shinra Minato. Lately, he’s become somewhat of a concern, someone I want to talk to but can’t seem to find the right timing.

He was sitting alone on a bench in a secluded area of the courtyard. Alone, just gazing blankly in the direction of the stage.

But his gaze held nothing within it.

No discernible emotions, no signs of joy, anger, sadness, or any other feelings.

It was a true lack of emotion, unlike anything observed in other students. It was an unusual and slightly disconcerting display of pure apathy.

 

I couldn’t entertain him, and it wasn’t from a condescending standpoint.

Those eyes, they looked like they had realized something. Whether it was a talent, appearance, or something related to his social interactions…

He didn’t seem to have the faintest expectations for the future that people of his age usually harbour, or the contrary practice of living in the moment.

 

With astonishing composure, he observed himself objectively. How he was perceived by those around him and how he could behave to avoid trouble.

He didn’t step in or let others step in.

 

In fact, at this moment, two students were approaching him. One was a female student, and the other was a male student.

Both of them were well-known and highly popular among the incoming students. They were often discussed in the Student Council due to their high popularity. These students were Kanazaki Shizuku and Ogiwara Yuuto.

 

The two of them, seemingly with a close relationship to him, smiled and greeted him, but wherever they went, a group of students followed them.

Popular students, whether they wanted to or not, had people eager to be around them.

Though they probably just wanted to have a casual conversation with Shinra, it was clear that they couldn’t do so with all the students flocking around them.

 

Sensing this quickly, Shinra changed the topic to something light, standing up from the bench.

The students standing behind Kanazaki and Ogiwara looked disappointed. Clearly, they found the student named Shinra amusing. Their expressions clouded, and their gazes turned sharp.

Sensing this, he left them.

 

The attractive duo looked at him as he sadly left, and the students behind them seemed to take advantage of the fact that there was no one in their way, and started talking to them.

But my attention was not on the two attractive students whom everyone was captivated by.

 

It was only the figure of the student who had distanced himself.

His expression revealed nothing.

He didn’t react with any discomfort to the envious glares directed at him as though he were an intruder. He simply moved away, as if it were the most natural thing to do.

 

What kind of world are you looking at, and what kind of life do you desire?

 

I silently asked myself this unattainable question, directed toward the younger boy who was one year my junior.

His actions and gestures were not an act; they were his true self.

 

Everyone puts on a mask at times, but he seemed to have none.

We had never spoken to each other, and I had merely observed him from a distance. I knew there was no reason for him to care about what I thought. Nevertheless, I couldn’t help but understand it.

What I desire more than anything right now is someone who can see, judge, and accept my true self, without any prejudice.

 

I want to hear.

What do you seek in people?

But now is not the time to talk.

There is still time, and time will come if I wait.

 

So, for now, let’s continue to observe and deepen my understanding of Shinra Minato.

As my underclassman in the Student Council calls me from behind, I turn on my heel and walk towards the stage where the students are gathered.

One last time, I look back to confirm the presence of my junior male student, and I mutter the words.

 

“We’re almost there. Our encounter…”

I mutter, and I realized that my lips had slightly curved into a smile.

In a relationship where we haven’t spoken a word to each other and where I’ve imposed one-sided recognition.

 

If he denies it and proves me wrong, so be it.

But there was something resembling confidence. He is probably a person who closely resembles my imagination.

 

I’m looking forward to it, and it’s a shame that I can’t talk to him right now. Just a bit more, a little more, and our conversation will become a reality.

At that time, I will thoroughly enjoy the person you are.

 

As I turn my back and begin to walk, I light a small beacon of hope in my heart.

 



Leave a Comment