Extra: Happy Halloween 2020


 

“Happy Halloween!”

 

“Give us some candy, or we’ll play tricks on you…”

 

On a weekend, during a sudden call, the scene inside the Student Council room was filled with the figures of girls in costumes.

After confirming once again that the door I opened was the correct one, I once again affirmed it was certainly the student council room of our school.

 

“…”

 

My averted my gaze returned to focus on the two girls sitting there. They wore their school uniforms as a base, but they had black capes draped over their white shirts and large pointed hats on their heads.

Each of them had a basket in hand, and it was filled to the brim with pumpkin-shaped sweets.

 

It was then that I noticed that today was the last day of October, and in the world at large, this day was celebrated as Halloween.

Even though it was not originally a part of Japanese culture, this event was celebrated and adopted into the culture. I wondered if it was really possible to spend this day quietly and peacefully.

 

Actually, Halloween was so irrelevant to my life that my mental schedule only had ‘Saturday’ written for this day.

Every year, I would just watch the broadcast of people gathering pointlessly at the Shibuya Scramble Crossing on TV and wonder what these people were doing there for no apparent reason.

That’s why I was momentarily surprised when I saw people around me enjoying similar events.

 

“…Why don’t you say something?”

 

Kirasaka muttered with a blush on her cheeks. Considering her personality, I had assumed she had no interest in this kind of event, but it seemed I was mistaken.

She was acting bashful, trying to hide her body with the cape, and it was a behaviour that most male students would appreciate.

Even if I was told to say something, I wonder what I should say.

I placed my hand on my chin, checked their appearance, and then nodded slightly.

 

“You’ll just get fatter if you get more candy.”

 

I said with my eyes on their baskets, and the two girls scowled unhappily.

 

“Minato-kun, we want your impressions on these witch outfits.”

 

“This is exactly the reason no one other than us likes you, except us.”

 

“You don’t have to say it twice…”

 

I guess there’s no helping it. I’ve never really participated in review sessions.

I don’t know the boundaries between what’s okay and what’s not. Nowadays, a single word can lead to various troubles. It’s a good practice to be cautious in everything.

In other words, declaring my non-participation in events at every opportunity might be the right approach.

 

However, the costumes worn by these two aren’t as elaborate as those seen on TV, but they are just right for fun, and they fit well with people who have good looks. Neither of them should look bad.

Shizuku’s long black hair goes well with the witch’s attire, and Kirasaka embodies more of a stern witch. Both patterns work well in a way.

 

“It looks good, doesn’t it? I prefer it this way rather than overthinking it.”

 

I expressed my impression in a straightforward manner, and both of them opened their eyes wide and stiffened. Immediately, they turned their bodies to face away from me.

What’s this, some new form of teasing? Is it now trendy to ignore someone to the extent of not even facing them?

 

As I sighed softly at their reactions, I heard footsteps approaching from the back of the Student Council room.

 

“Hey, Shinra, how do you like the witch costume I chose?”

 

“Someone’s in a good mood…”

 

Tying her chestnut-colored hair into a single bundle and dressed in a red witch costume different from the two girls, our president, Hiiragi Akane, appeared right in front of us.

There was no need to hide it. It was clear to everyone that she was enjoying Halloween. After all, Shizuku and Kirasaka had put on their costumes over their school uniforms, but the president was different.

 

She had a red dress, and on top of that, she wore a cape. It was evident that she had prepared for this event beforehand.

 

“I’ve got a costume for you too, Shinra. You can change into it whenever you feel like it.”

 

“…I’ll never feel like it, so I’m good.”

 

Placing my hands on my hips, I gently declined the president’s proposal, and I took another look around the Student Council room.

There was no sign of Koizumi and the others, but I could hear voices coming from deeper within the room.

 

Perhaps they are changing in the room deeper inside.

The reason I was called on a holiday is quite something; the Student Council seems to be quite lively. Although there are a few individuals here who are not part of it. I guess it’s a bit late now.

If that’s the case, I should have brought Kaede who was spending time alone at home.

 

As her older brother, I’d be more than happy to accept her in costume. In fact, I’d want to capture her witchy appearance on my phone, maybe even set it as my wallpaper, and gaze at it every day.

With a tinge of regret in my heart, I turn my gaze towards the president.

Her enthusiasm seems to be in a different gear than the rest of us, but if she’s having fun, I won’t point it out.

I bring up something that caught my attention about the costumes.

 

“Isn’t that a bit tight?”

 

I point at the waist of the president’s dress. The dress structure, cinched multiple times at the waist with a central ribbon, gives the illusion of a slim waist. Even though it’s worn over her uniform, you can still get a sense of the president’s slim silhouette.

It’s a pure curiosity, but President answers with a broad smile.

 

“It’s extremely uncomfortable.”

 

“I can imagine…”

 

After all, it’s incredibly slim. It’s somewhat evident even when she’s wearing her uniform. Nonetheless, the waist of her dress is cinched even tighter than usual, so I was curious. But it’s indeed uncomfortable.

It’s a beauty standard that boys wouldn’t understand.

 

“President, I’m done changing!”

 

“It was quite tricky.”

 

As I talk to the president, Koizumi and Miura appear from the back. Koizumi has slicked his hair all the way back and has large fangs in his mouth. He seems to be going for a vampire look.

On the other hand, Miura has two small horns on her head and wings on her back.

 

“What’s with that…?”

 

“What do you mean? I’m a demon, a demon.”

 

…That’s a pretty weak-looking demon, huh? Koizumi hasn’t done much makeup on his face, so his naturally kind expression doesn’t make him seem scary in the slightest.

Nonetheless, if all we’re doing is having a tea party in costumes, there’s no need for everyone to gather.

While I walk around, not having heard the plan, President announces.

 

“Then, when everyone is ready, let’s go visit the club activities.”

 

“…We’re going to visit the club activities in these costumes?”

 

“Of course, it’s for that exact purpose.”

 

I hadn’t heard about it…

Nevertheless, was that why they stuffed so many sweets into the baskets of Shizuku, Kirasaka?

A few things now make sense, but even if I’m not in costume, it still feels a bit weird.

 

Considering it’s President’s idea, she likely thought of playing a Halloween-themed game of giving sweets to club members. But it’s still quite embarrassing and cumbersome.

In fact, I think it would be more efficient and less wasteful if they just came to pick up sweets from the Student Council.

But since everyone has already changed, my objections would likely be ignored.

 

Koizumi and Miura, each carrying a basket, are waiting for a student who hasn’t finished changing yet.

The only student who comes running from the back is Hino-kun.

I wonder what kind of costume he’s wearing.

I have a few seconds to think while he approaches.

 

Since Koizumi chose to be a vampire, he might go with the vampire theme. Alternatively, he might choose Frankenstein, based on his height.

No, I decided to go on with the vampire since Shizuku, Kirasaka and President already had a coordinated theme.

Once I had the answer in my mind, I waited for his appearance.

But his costume turned out to be completely unexpected.

 

“Why a mummy?”

 

“Low budget…”

 

Indeed, bandages might be a way to cut costs, but…

Couldn’t he have been a bit more creative?

I mean, there’s no need to go overboard, but in his case, he looks more like a delinquent student who got into a big fight and got himself all bandaged up.

 

However, he seems to be quite pleased with his choice and smiles at me.

 

“Oh, did Senpai come too? In that case, I brought a costume for Senpai!”

 

“Nah… Changing is a hassle.”

 

While waving my hand in front of my chest to decline, Shizuku, who had her back turned until now, moves to my left side and grabs my arm.

 

“It’s okay, Minato-kun. I thought you would say so, so I prepared a simple outfit for you.”

 

“I didn’t want to change my clothes either, I can’t let you be the only one who doesn’t feel embarrassed.”

 

Grabbing my right arm Kirasaka revealed her true feelings.

I still don’t like it.

Despite my efforts to resist, realizing that everyone has already changed, I come to terms with the fact that I have no choice.

 

At the very least, I hope I’ll have a simple and inconspicuous costume.

With that in mind, the most astonishing moment of the day hits me as I put on the costume prepared in the back room.

 

“What’s this?”

 

“It’s a jack-o’-lantern.”

 

Shizuku releases my arm, lifting the costume in her hand.

It’s a round, mask-like item. A simple costume with two holes on either side for arms and legs to pass through.

However, it stands out more than anyone else’s costumes.

 

This feels like a punishment game.

A cold sweat runs down my entire body as I instinctively try to retreat, my steps indicating my clear intention to escape.

However, the soft touch of hands that come around to block my path.

However, there was a soft feeling that wrapped around me and stopped my body.

 

In normal circumstances, a high school boy might be overjoyed by such a situation, but for me, it feels like being imprisoned and held down.

With a wicked smile, Shizuku and Kirasaka, along with President standing behind them like a final boss, emit an atmosphere of playful cruelty, as if they’re venting their pent-up frustration.

 

Ahh, it’s the worst.

Without a doubt, this is the worst Halloween I’ve ever had.

Afterward, my red, embarrassed face was captured by multiple cameras, with these images likely saved in their folders, something I’d rather not think about.

 



Leave a Comment