#293


 

“Shoichi doesn’t like chocolate… I never would have expected that.”

 

In the student council room, with only the three of us after today’s activities, Miura muttered while holding her head in both hands, her posture slumped. Her voice contained a mix of astonishment and unease.

From a slightly behind Miura, I called out.

 

“You, who has known him the longest, didn’t know. Didn’t you give him anything last year?”

 

Among the people I knew, Miura was the one who knew Koizumi Shoichi better than anyone else. If she didn’t know, it meant this information was unknown to the majority.

 

“If I recall correctly, last year I still thought of him as just another member of the student council.”

 

“Well, that makes sense.”

 

Well, it was a predictable response. If she thought of him as just another student council member last year, it wasn’t strange that she didn’t know.

Everyone has different tastes.

There are as many preferences as there are people. So, I don’t find it strange no matter what kind of food someone likes. Still…

 

“His favourite sweets are traditional Japanese ones, mainly daifuku, manju, and senbei.”

 

“Completely an old man’s taste… I forgot about it myself. His preferences lean toward the refined.”

 

Shizuku, based on the conversation she had with Koizumi a while ago, continued to talk about the sweets he likes. As she spoke, Miura, who had been holding her head, began to sway her body left and right while whispering.

Right.

I was thinking the same thing. From the perspective of high school boys of the same age, his choices are indeed sophisticated. While young people tend to prefer snacks like potato chips, chocolate, and gummies, choosing only traditional Japanese sweets is not a dislikeable attitude.

 

“I don’t think it is just limited to just chocolate.”

 

I asked while leaning against the wall, to which Shizuku responded.

 

“All our practice so far has been limited to chocolate. So, it’s natural that Miura-san can confidently make them…”

 

“Chocolate, huh?”

 

I don’t know the extent of Miura’s cooking skills, but it seems she doesn’t enjoy a wide variety of sweets like Shizuku or Kirasaka. Well, comparing her to them is already a mistake…

An awkward atmosphere began to spread in the student council room. To interrupt it, Miura, with a heavy sigh, finally lifted herself from her chair. Although her expression remained somewhat dark, her usual fearless eyes returned. She sighed once more as she spoke.

 

“…There’s no point in mulling over it. The fact that I didn’t give him sweets he dislikes is a positive piece of information.”

 

“If it’s traditional Japanese sweets, I’ve had some experience making them too! I hope I can be of help.”

 

“Thank you. It’s very reassuring.”

 

With a slightly softer smile than usual, Miura expressed her gratitude, and then, with a determined look, Shizuku offered her encouragement.

It was a heartwarming scene, typical of youth. It felt somewhat out of place, like peeking into an all-girls space and witnessing a clandestine meeting.

Grasping the firm hand extended by Shizuku and solidifying her resolve to face the challenges ahead, Miura turned her face towards me.

It was clear what these two would be doing next.

 

“So, are you two going to have special training in the home economics room from now on?”

 

“Yes, sorry, but I’ll be borrowing Kanazaki-san.”

 

“…Well, she seems up for it.”

 

I wondered why Miura was asking for my permission. Perhaps Shizuku and Kirasaka wouldn’t contact each other, so if I spoke up and left, they’d have no way to coordinate their actions. As I pondered this, I prepared to leave.

Just as I touched my bag, I noticed my phone was vibrating inside. It could be a shopping request from Kaede, a whimsical message from Kirasaka, or a summons from President. Three choices floated in my mind.

Expecting a shopping request from Kaede, I opened the screen. To my surprise, instead of Kaede, there was a mysterious stamp from Kirasaka. It depicted a cat with a lack of motivation. Unable to grasp the intention behind this uninspired cat stamp, I replied with just [home economics room]. In response, another stamp from the same series arrived—a cat expressing a circle.

If it’s like this, there seems to be no need for a detour…

Time saved, it’s truly wonderful.

 

I’d like to return home quickly and take a nap in the warm kotatsu.

By the way, if there are mandarins at home, it would be the ultimate happiness.

I wonder what kind of scene is unfolding in the classroom where the girls’ confectionery training will take place later.

Shiori with an apron, sleeves rolled up, giving instructions and advice to Miura, and Kirasaka, seemingly imparting her own techniques to interfere.

Imagining the two of them in such a situation brought a small smile to my face.

…If the two of them can help each other happily, that’s good.

 

“Well then, I’ll take my leave for today.”

 

“Goodbye, be careful on your way home.”

 

While receiving a word typical of the student council from Miura, I waved my hand lightly and left the student council room.

As I walked away, Miura stared intently at my back, and in a small voice, she asked Shizuku next to her,

 

“Has he… started smiling a little?”

 

In response to that question, Shizuku nodded happily.

The academy is bustling with students actively engaged in club activities, so once outside the school building, students in various club uniforms are seen busy moving or running.

Passing them, leaving a distance that doesn’t get in the way, some underclassmen who noticed I’m a student council member greet me.

Being acknowledged is still something I’m not used to, so I involuntarily startle a bit, but even so, I return a small word of encouragement and continue walking towards the main gate.

Then, a familiar figure stands in front of the gate.

 

“…Continuing the greetings again today?”

 

“Shinra-kun, it’s like a tradition from the former president.”

 

The current student council president, Koizumi, was conducting a greeting routine for the students leaving school alone in front of the gate.

It’s been about thirty minutes since the meeting ended.

If he had told us, we could have done it together as part of the student council activity.

Thinking about such things, I stopped walking next to him.

Even now, as students pass through the gate and leave school, Koizumi, who is greeting them to be careful on their way home, looks up at the sky, which is beginning to be dyed crimson in the brief pause between the waves of students.

 

“Senpai is watching me for just about another month… I want to show a bit of growth.”

 

The confession of his feelings tinged with loneliness is audible only to me, as it is drowned out by the sounds of club activities.

Indeed, there is only about another month left for us to spend in the same school. However, showing a growth isn’t something that has to be done only during the remaining school days.

Still, as the current student council president, Koizumi and the present student council are still in their early days.

Slowly, even if the pace of his steps is different, he can move towards the same goal.

 

The person who admires him, among many others, is probably standing in front of the cooking table in the home economics room, currently pondering.

Surely, she would be happy to have someone approach her and not work alone.

 

“Don’t overdo it. There are people who are worried about you.”

 

“Thank you, but becoming a student council president like her is impossible with the limited time I have to work hard.”

 

“…”

 

When I said that, Koizumi smiled wryly and then spoke with determined eyes.

As much as the predecessor was great, the successor tends to strongly pursue that legacy. He, too, is probably chasing after the back of a senior he admired.

I could see something familiar in his figure.

It was me in the past.

There was a time when I, too, worked hard to be close to and stand shoulder to shoulder with those outstanding individuals I admired. So I know, I understand the answer he’s going to face.

 

Unlike me, Koizumi is an excellent student.

Therefore, he may not necessarily follow the same path as me.

However, he is not a charismatic genius, just an honour student who cannot go beyond the realm of being a model student.

The insurmountable wall of effort is likely to be a challenge that blocks his path.

That’s why I think…

 

“Admiration is important, but if imitation is the result, you may need to change what you’re aiming for.”

 

I, who had become indispensable to the environment I live in, unintentionally wanted to protect the place where I am now. Even though I used to dislike trouble and enjoyed a quiet life, I have certainly changed over the past year.

So, I don’t want to see him in a moment of frustration. And if possible, the future where he and the girl who admires him can spend their time happily together would be the best.

The words I muttered quietly were heard clearly by Koizumi. However, he tilted his head, not fully understanding the meaning.

 

“Huh? What do you mean?”

 

“No… just talking to myself. Just be moderate in how you work hard and manage your pace.”

 

“Thank you! Take care on your way home, Shinra-kun.”

 

If I ever seriously think that Koizumi’s path is wrong, I’ll gladly take on the role of being disliked. If that’s the best choice I can make.

So for now, let’s watch what kind of results will unfold for him and the shape of the feelings the girl creates.

 


<BBX> : Although late, Happy New Year!
Was busy moving to dorms again, so couldn’t post for a while, sorry for that.


1 Comment

  1. jasad says:

    thx for the chapter~
    happy new year~ ^_^

    Like

Leave a Comment