#294


 

Silently erasing the lesson content written on the blackboard, one of the duties of the day’s rotation, a slightly higher-pitched squeaky sound echoes through the school building, replaced by the voice of a female student reaching my ears.

 

“I wonder how many chocolates Minato has received so far?”

 

Leaning on the teacher’s desk with both elbows and giving me a challenging smile, Kirasaka, I sighed.

 

“…Does family count in the number?”

 

“Let’s not count them. Surprisingly, you’re willing to answer.”

 

“I can imagine being asked multiple times until I answer.”

 

Turning my gaze back to the blackboard, I recall the bitter memories. In elementary and middle school, there were times when female classmates prepared chocolates for everyone but deliberately left out mine, saying, “I haven’t prepared enough.”

I remember the days when I, unable to ask the obvious question of why, silently observed the backs of male students enjoying the attention.

…Come to think of it, there was a boy who, misunderstanding the situation because he received a slightly larger size than others, bragged about it, thinking a girl had a crush on him.

 

Thinking about it, with handmade chocolates, it’s easy to imagine that the sizes could be different, but Valentine’s Day can create misunderstandings.

I wonder if that classmate, who boasted to friends and later confessed in vain, is still living a lively life.

As for the fall, it’s a secret only here that the classmate had feelings for Yuuto and lined up in the confession line on the day of middle school graduation.

Indeed, he’s handsome, so he must be condemned as an evil.

Returning to my thoughts on the number of chocolates, or rather, there was no need to think about it.

 

“One.”

 

“Oh… only from Kanazaki-san, huh?”

 

“Stop with the pitiful eyes.”

 

I inform Kirasaka with indifference, then place the eraser I was holding at the edge and lightly brush off my hands.

In the back of the classroom, before heading to the home economics room, Shizuku and Miura discuss recipes for our class. Nearby, Yuuto occasionally receives advice from the two from a male perspective. Miyashita’s figure is also there.

It’s a gathering of members who usually share their lives.

In the midst of that, the fact that Kirasaka has walked up to the teacher’s desk instead of going to her seat means that she has no interest or concern in that conversation.

 

…The possibility of avoiding Yuuto cannot be denied.

Well, competing for the number of Valentine’s chocolates is like a ranking battle among the high caste in our school.

If girls were to hear about it, they would likely be indignant at the rudeness.

So, standing confidently and facing me she raises three fingers.

 

“Be relieved. This year, three is a certainty.”

 

“You can say that to someone you confidently give them to. That’s amazing…”

 

“There’s no need to hide or be ashamed of it, so it’s natural.”

 

Returning the body that had been leaning forward to the teacher’s desk to its original position, she releases a gentle, flowery fragrance as she turns around.

Taking a few steps back, she sits on the front row desk. Crossing her legs, she gazes at me with a look as if she’s checking my reaction.

This gaze will never be something I get used to. It feels like being tested, and it always leaves my heart pounding after I answer.

 

“Shizuku, Kirasaka, and President…?”

 

“Correct. It’s just like you not to consider Miura-san and Miyashita-san as candidates.”

 

“I just stated the obvious… Those two are more interested in what’s in front of them than obligatory chocolates.”

 

I shift the gaze from Kirasaka to the group in the back.

Certainly, the scene beyond doesn’t change, but among the four, Shizuku and Miyashita show a significantly higher level of interest in the conversation.

For Miura, it’s a valuable opportunity to receive advice from boys, and for Miyashita, the person she’s giving chocolates to is talking about his preferences.

There shouldn’t be any better judgment criteria.

On the other hand, my personal information, such as the number of chocolates I’ve received, isn’t something I want to talk about and doesn’t become a cause for pessimism.

 

“It was an uninteresting answer, wasn’t it?”

 

“No, from my perspective, it’s a delightful answer.”

 

When I ask her, she shakes her head and says, “No.” I wonder what made that content tickle her fancy so much.

Waiting for Kirasaka to continue her words, she says.

 

“At least, other than Kanazaki-san, it also means there’s no one else on Valentine’s Day who left a good memory in your mind.”

 

“…Is that so?”

 

“It is. Girls tend to care about such small details.”

 

Her chuckling smile, directed towards me, is probably a rare sight for other male students. I realize it’s a luxury.

Many students must wish they could have her gifts so badly it feels like their hands are coming out of their throats.

That’s why I can’t help but think about the gazes from those around me.

My usual relationships, and the evaluation from the same grade that has plummeted due to the school trip incident.

 

Additionally, Valentine’s Day is waiting to deliver another blow.

It’s easy to become arrogant and hold one’s head high, but it’s the worst choice.

I no longer have the luxury of being in a position where I can be selfish and rely solely on my own evaluations and rumors.

 

“At least, can you give it to me where no one is around?”

 

“Oh, my, Minato is starting to say he wants to be alone with me too.”

 

“How positive can one be…”

 

With a surprised expression, Kirasaka declares as if it were a pleasant miscalculation, and in contrast, I respond with a bitter expression. She laughs joyfully, and each reaction seems to be crafted to suit her intentions, making the conversation enjoyable for her alone.

Stepping down from the desk as if hopping lightly to the floor, Kirasaka closes her left eyelid and sends a cute wink.

 

“I’ll make something that you’ll say was the most delicious thing in your life. Look forward to it.”

 

“…”

 

With only that remark, Kirasaka turns around and walks towards the four people at the back of the classroom.

Her bold actions and words are something I can’t imitate.

That’s why, she looks so bright in my eyes.

This can be said not only for her but also for the others.

As she takes steps further away, a different breath escape from me than before.

 

However, any sense of admiration is overshadowed by the beaming smile on Shizuku’s face, who Kirasaka approaches.

 

“…”

 

“…”

 

Why can she intimidate people with such a smile?

Perhaps, from other’s point of view, the two engaged in conversation seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Come to think of it, Kirasaka mentioned earlier. Girls tend to care about small things.

 

This, too, should be taken as a lesson to try to live each day with that in mind.

And so, another day comes to an end.

 


<BBX> : Another day, another excuse, hostel wifi wasn’t working yesterday. 😅


Leave a Comment