#305

 


“Shinra… hey, are you even listening, Shinra!”

 

The stern voice of the most veteran history teacher in the grade echoed not only in the classroom but also out into the corridor.

Realizing for the first time that I was being called, I instinctively raised my eyes and shook my shoulders.

It felt like being startled suddenly by something nearby.

 

“Ah… sorry.”

 

As both my classmates and the teacher’s slightly displeased gaze were directed at me, it was a typical scene of a teacher scolding a student not paying attention in class.

However, it had been a long time since I found myself in the same position.

 

While not entirely focused, I usually made an effort to appear less conspicuous than my other classmates.

I approached the class with the seriousness to answer whenever called upon.

But today, my textbook was open to a page unrelated to the content on the board, and my notebook remained blank, unaware of what was being asked or pointed out.

 

Glancing forward in the classroom, I unexpectedly caught sight of Shizuku, who puffed her cheeks as if to say to pay attention and Yuuto, whose mouth turned into a grin.

A sigh escaped Kirasaka next to me, and chuckles could be heard throughout the class.

 

“…From now on, focus on the lesson. Open your book to page 76.”

 

“I’m sorry…”

 

Opening the designated page and contemplating my own answer to the question asked, the teacher nodded in approval.

With the class returning to normal without further incident, no one continued to watch me.

 

Shifting my gaze to my notebook amidst the returned class atmosphere, only unrelated numbers were scrawled across it.

When the bell signalling the end of class rang, the teacher left, leaving assignments behind.

 

Released simultaneously, students gathered in small groups with friends, engrossed in trivial conversations.

Amidst this, I stood up to buy a drink from the vending machine to ease my cramped and rigid thoughts.

As I left the classroom and walked down the corridor, I heard light footsteps approaching from behind.

 

“It’s rare to see Minato getting scolded by the teacher.”

 

“…And the guy who seemed to enjoy it is right next to me.”

 

“Well, if a guy who seems to be clueless most of the time gets scolded out of the blue, it’s hard not to laugh.”

Remembering and laughing, Yuuto poked my right side with his finger and teased.

I brushed his hand away, increased my pace, and distanced myself from him.

 

During the short break, there are limited places to go, so whether I distance myself or not, I end up in the same place. I buy cold tea despite it being winter and gulp it down to soothe my throat.

…Will this help cool my head a bit? No, probably not. I understand that physically chilling won’t change much, but it’s just a way to comfort myself.

The situation is not favourable at all.

 

It’s been two days since I talked to Kirasaka, but there has been no progress. While Hino-kun and I confirmed details like the positions of students, the layout of the stage, and where the teachers would stand using diagrams in the gym, we were stuck on the main content.

To respect the students’ wishes, the teachers didn’t interfere. But this freedom was a disadvantage in this case.

 

With fewer people, the opinions of experienced teachers could serve as a valuable reference compared to our own ideas. Even if it’s similar to previous years, the words and opinions of those who have interacted with the current students are valuable.

We need at least two more people, preferably three, if possible.

Yuuto, who bought warm tea from the vending machine, leans against the wall and looks at me. After giving me a meaningful glance as if pondering something, he speaks up.

 

“Well, it’s partly because we can’t tell what you’re thinking.”

 

“…Are you here to praise me or something?”

 

It’s nauseating. Please stop.

If this were a shoujo manga, his eyes would sparkle, his face would sparkle, and even his dialogue would sparkle. It’s like a storyline straight out of a bygone era with shoddy artwork.

Mina Yuuna or was it Yuu(na)Mina? I’m just curious about that, can you tell me?
<BBX: A bad pun about magical girls Mina and Yuuna being famous, smh>

 

Naturally, Yuuto didn’t come all the way to the vending machine just to say something embarrassing like that. I turn my gaze to Yuuto, who is elegantly enjoying his tea time. Then, his voice echoes softly in the corridor.

 

“It must be tough, preparing for the farewell party.”

 

“Not easy.”

 

“It’s enough to get you called out by the teacher during class, right?”

 

Without hesitation, I reply, and Yuuto chuckles while poking fun at me.

He stares at the sip of tea, his slightly dishevelled uniform, brown hair, and the ear with an unusual ear cuff glinting.

…He’s annoyingly put together, looking like a stylish high school boy.

However, surprisingly, his tone gives off a sense of casualness, as if he just wanted to confirm something factual.

 

“…”

 

“What, did you think I came to help?”

 

Yuuto smirked and said, twisting his mouth.

It’s somehow infuriating that I imagined the scene according to his liking.

I couldn’t come up with any words to retort, thinking that my anxiety must have been evident to others.

 

“I won’t ask for the reason, but you want to do this alone, right?”

 

With a distance that is understood without words, considering the longer relationship compared to other students.

He neither gets too close nor pushes me away.

The sense of distance with Yuuto that I had almost forgotten.

It made me feel a sense of familiarity with the old me, as the distance with him seemed to have settled.

 

“However, doing nothing about an interesting problem isn’t an option. Let me give you one piece of advice, Minato.”

 

Raising a finger and puffing his chest slightly, Yuuto looked at me with a slightly pompous air.

 

“What Minato dislikes is generally liked by most students, and what Minato likes is generally disliked by most students… Even things other than preferences are somewhat similar.”

 

“What’s that… some kind of riddle?”

 

I couldn’t help but ask back, and Yuuto, satisfied, wore a wicked smile and turned away.

He finished the remaining half of his tea, then threw the can into the nearby trash bin like shooting a basketball, and headed back to the classroom alone.

The final smile seemed to anticipate what kind of response I would give to his advice, like a boyish smile.

 

“What’s up with that guy…”

 

I feel like I understand, but still can’t quite grasp the essence of who Ogiwara Yuuto is.

Doesn’t that way of speaking make me seem like a contrary complainer?

 

Well… In general, it might.

Despite being called advice, I still don’t quite understand the true meaning. But it’s almost time for class according to my internal clock.

Using my smartphone, which usually only comes out to check the time, I confirm the time. The bell for the start of class will ring in three minutes.

 

…This is bad, I won’t make it unless I run back.

Yuuto may have left stylishly, but he must be dashing back from somewhere out of sight.

I was late because I was caught up in watching him leave.

As I was about to put my smartphone back in my pocket and start running, something caught my attention, and I stopped to stare at my phone.

 

[ What Minato dislikes is generally liked by most students, and what Minato likes is generally disliked by most students ]

Yuuto’s words replayed in my mind.

 

“Ah…”

 

As if a tangled thread in my mind had finally unravelled, I felt like I understood the meaning of Yuuto’s words a little.

In that moment, I instinctively tapped a contact on my phone and made a call.

The person answered after a few rings, and behind them, the typical noisy classroom voices flowed in as background music.

 

“Hey, Hino-kun, it’s about your smartphone.”

 

“Smartphone? What’s going on all of a sudden?”

 

That’s right, Yuuto’s words were actually quite spot-on advice.

Thanks to his indirectness, considering that I might dislike blatant cooperation at the moment, I was able to realize something.

 

Perhaps, even if the true meaning of his words were clearly stated, I might not have taken it seriously and might have thought of various negatives.

So, let’s be grateful. I won’t hesitate to express my gratitude, even resorting to the last resort of Cheese-flavoured Karaage-kun.

 

I’ll explain to Hino-kun in detail after school, but finding a foothold to solve the current problem might have just been discovered, which made a smile creep onto my lips unintentionally.

 


<BBX> : Here’s the next recommendation, I Became the Leader of the Monster Circus Troupe, it took about 100 chapters for me to get into it and start enjoying it tho.


Leave a Comment