#306


 

“Video… you mean?”

 

“Yeah, exactly. It’s more like a memory video.”

 

After school, in the AV room that had somehow become the headquarters for the student council with Hino-kun, we discussed while watching past videos. On the screen, similar videos were playing, showing graduates reminiscing about their time.

 

“So, are we going to make something like this?”

 

“Your understanding is mostly correct. However, this is more like a collection of gratitude and celebration messages from underclassmen, which is a bit different from what I want to create this time.”

I took out my smartphone and placed it on the desk in front of Hino-kun as if offering it to him. He peered at the phone as if examining it and let out a slight groan as he thought.

At that moment, I decided to ask Hino-kun something.

 

“…What do you usually do on your smartphone?”

 

“What do I do? Well… I watch YouTube videos, make calls, send messages, stuff like that.”

 

“I’m pretty much the same… but what we, as young people, commonly use isn’t just limited to that.”

 

I unlocked my phone and opened the home screen, where I had prepared three apps that wouldn’t normally be there. Presumably, tools that people like Hino-kun and I tend to avoid.

 

“Twitter, Instagram, and TikTok?”

 

“TikTok, huh? Now that you mentioned it, it seems you’re similar to me and indifferent to these kinds of tools.”

 

Social media and short video-sharing platforms are used by people who want to interact not only at school but also on the internet, aiming to be seen by as many people as possible out of a desire for approval. …At least, that’s how I dismiss them as unnecessary based on my values.

But, this is just my perspective. The majority of other high school students use these platforms, and some devote themselves to them entirely.

 

Today, social media can lead to job opportunities. It’s not necessarily wrong to strive for popularity more than others.

Just remembering Yuuto’s words, it occurred to me: what I dislike, everyone else likes, and what I like, everyone else dislikes.

In other words, I just need to reverse my thinking.

So far, I’ve been struggling to come up with the best solution in my mind.

 

But if asked whether it’s the best solution for the graduates, I can’t simply nod my head in agreement.

However, if I think about the opposite of what I consider the best solution, could it be something that aligns with the preferences of many students?

Ironically, it felt like I hit the nail on the head.

 

“But does this relate to a video letter?”

 

“Not directly… but essentially, it’s about using the smartphone camera.”

 

I flipped the surface of the smartphone over to the back and pointed to the small camera embedded in it.

Exaggerating a bit, most students carry around a decent camera and use it in their school life.

 

Even on social media, having a high-quality smartphone camera is an advantage when interacting with others.

In reality, I haven’t posted anything, and I haven’t even registered on these sites, but the talk inevitably reaches my ears.

Stuff like 4K, 6K, 1LDK…

I can’t help but wonder why the latest smartphones have three cameras.

But you can’t ignore the potential of utilizing this feature.

 

Even in past records, there were many instances where video letters were adopted.

Patterns from underclassmen, teachers, and seniors who have graduated. Video letters themselves are not that uncommon. The word ‘safe’ might suit it well.

You could start right away by pressing the record button on the video camera lying dormant in the school’s equipment storeroom.

However, this time, there’s no need for filming, essentially.

 

We’ll use existing footage for our purpose.

 

“When you look at old photos and videos stored on your own smartphone, it’s nostalgic. But wouldn’t it be even more nostalgic and sentimental if it were videos and photos you don’t have, from other students’ smartphones?”

 

As I opened the photos stored on my smartphone, several pictures whose capture dates I had forgotten appeared.

As I looked at each one, fragments of memories from those times replayed vaguely in my mind.

 

Since it was in front of Hino-kun, I avoided showing a photo of my sister, Kaede, because it could lead to various complications.

Instead, I selected a scene of Shizuku enjoying a crepe we bought together at a stall when the three of us went shopping.

 

“Are you planning to gather videos from current students for the alumni?”

 

“Yes… as many as possible, from all the clubs, committees, and close friends.”

 

After hearing my response to the question he posed, Hino-kun remained silent for a while with his mouth slightly open. He must be calculating something.

Sakuranaoka Academy has over 100 students in each grade level. The number of students involved in clubs and committees would naturally be substantial.

If we run around for about two weeks and gather as many videos as possible, we might manage somehow. But there’s a problem.

 

“…How are we going to get the data from them? Not to be blunt, but Senpai and I aren’t very popular.”

 

“That’s the problem… What should we do?”

 

Truly, it’s a serious problem. While the Student Council might cooperate, we don’t have much influence in other clubs and activities.

And this is just one problem among many. Another issue is that we lack the skills to edit the collected videos.

 

So, this is an area where we need personnel to solve it. In this internet age, there should be students who edit and post videos like YouTubers.

We need to find them and come up with a convincing excuse to get them on board.

 

“…Just thinking won’t get us anywhere. For now, let’s ask Koizumi and the others if they have a video of President.”

 

As I thought to decide on today’s course of action and stood up with a sigh, the door to the AV room swung open widely.

Although there wasn’t a plan to lend it out for a while, when I turned around at the sound of the door, there stood a familiar figure.

 

“It seems you’re troubled, Shinra-senpai!”

 

With high spirits, impeccably dressed in accordance with the school rules, it was none other than Vice President-sama Momiji Shiraishi.

Her slightly worn-out notebook, a personal trademark of hers, peeked out from her pocket, catching my eye as she confidently made her entrance.

 

“What about the Student Council work… Are you slacking off?”

 

“Fufufu… No problem at all! I’ve already smoothed things over with the president, thinking that Senpai must be in trouble!”

 

“What’s your real intention?”

 

“…I can’t afford to miss such an event where my popularity might skyrocket!”

 

With a gesture that seemed to convey a mischievous ‘fufufu’, Shiraishi blushed while fiddling with her hair, and I couldn’t help but smile wryly. Since I joined the farewell party planning committee, perhaps she had also secretly decided to participate.

It seemed she had been meticulous, as she had already informed Koizumi about it. Considering I had told him that I needed more manpower, I couldn’t refuse her without being rude.

Moreover, Shiraishi, who had expanded her network through the student council elections, would have connections with many clubs and committees through the first-year students.

 

…Kirasaka might get angry.

Standing just before the entrance, Shiraishi took out her notebook from her bag and opened it slowly, as if searching for something. Perhaps she had compiled ideas and opinions for the event.

Combining her ideas, which she had just explained to Hino-kun, with the suggestions I had given, would be a step in the right direction. But before that, I had to tell her something.

 

“…Shiraishi, Koizumi has been struggling to enter from behind since a while ago.”

 

“Eh? P-p-p-president!? When did you get there?”

 

“Ahaha… I’ve been behind you since you left the student council room, but was I really that inconspicuous?”

 

“I-I didn’t notice at all…”

 

With a slightly embarrassed but somewhat downcast expression, Koizumi finally showed himself behind her, now that she had finally noticed. She promptly followed up with a teasing remark.

He probably had a faint idea. Despite being the student council president, he seemed to have a weak presence.

 

Well, being unobtrusive can also be a personality trait.

So, have confidence, current student council president-kun.

But I had just wanted to ask Koizumi about President’s video. With Shiraishi and Koizumi joining us after arriving later, I began explaining the plan I had devised to both of them.

 



Leave a Comment