#310


 

Holding hands—it sounds simple enough when you put it into words.

You just reach out and grasp each other’s hands. But what seems simple can surprisingly be difficult.

With a hundred people, there are a hundred different ways it could happen. Everyone has their preferences and dislikes. So even when you extend your hand, hoping to connect, sometimes they pass each other without touching.

Even when you want them to meet, it’s not that straightforward.

<BBX: Idk what this was all about>

 

Standing alone in the corridor, I stare down at the screen of my smartphone held tightly in my right hand. A notification from the messaging app is displayed there, naturally from Miyashita.

She left with a typical tsundere-like line, “Don’t you dare tell anyone I told you this!” before returning to the classroom ahead of me.

 

That’s not your character… But I won’t say anything.

What she sent me was a single URL. It’s probably a link to a video site. I don’t immediately open it. Pressing it would probably start the video immediately. Watching it now might give others a chance to reject my offer if they happen to see or hear it.

They say ‘haste makes waste’, but being too slow can also backfire.

 

Calming my rushing heart, I hurriedly stuff my phone into my pocket and return to the classroom. The discomfort from being overly full just moments ago is now gone.

The classroom is bustling. My classmates are chatting discontentedly, knowing that afternoon classes are about to start soon.

Glancing at them from the corner of my eye, I cross the classroom.

Despite the gazes from Shizuku and Kirasaka, who were still near my desk during lunch break, I quickly return to my seat and rummage through my bag. Pulling out my earphones, I quickly leave the classroom again, heading back to the corridor.

 

“Minato-kun? Class is about to start soon, you know?”

 

“…I’ll be back in a moment.”

 

As Shizuku asked me curiously, I replied briefly and retraced my steps. Slipping through the students, I passed by the spot where I had just exchanged words with Miyashita, climbed the stairs, opened the door at the far end, and stepped onto the rooftop. There, I sat on the bench placed there, immediately putting on my earphones.

Finally, I opened the link sent by Miyashita, and as expected, the screen of a well-known video-sharing site automatically popped up.

 

In the center of the “MUGIch” screen was the account name.

‘ch’ probably stands for ‘channel’.

 

It’s simple and appealing to me, but I wonder if it’s trendy.

I’m not very familiar with these kinds of sites, so I have no idea about the mainstream trends.

 

A lively BGM and opening sequence played, with a circular icon bouncing and a photo of the video uploader flashing inside the circle, making a peace sign with her eyes.

She wasn’t wearing a school uniform, but she looked like a modern high school girl.

Her hair was long and loosely curled, and in simple terms, she had a gal-like appearance. But her face seemed familiar.

 

“Isn’t this Nakayama?”

 

The person on the screen was Nakayama, a classmate of mine. She was the girl Miyashita had been walking behind until recently.

She’s one of the top-ranked students in our class, almost like a boss among the girls.

…So even students like her upload videos, huh? Surprising. That’s my honest reaction, followed by bitter memories.

 

Though our interactions are minimal, her impression of me is undoubtedly not favourable. In fact, she might consider me among the worst in the class.

Is this why Miyashita made me promise not to mention she told me about it? It makes sense, unexpectedly.

 

Even though our interactions have dwindled, having a top-ranked student in the school view me negatively could be troublesome in various ways, especially among female students’ social circles.

But people are always told not to judge solely based on appearances, though there might not be many cases as challenging to grasp as hers. I can understand short videos popular among high school girls, like TikToks or whatever.

But actively operating on a solid video-sharing site—that’s quite different from the image I had of her.

 

…Anyway, the problem lies in the content.

To move forward, I need to determine if her video editing skills meet my requirements.

I refocus on the playing video and start examining it. After the self-made opening, Nakayama appears and delivers an introductory phrase.

The main categories seem to be makeup and beauty-related. The videos are typically under ten minutes, covering essential points and making them easy to watch as a viewer. The use of sound effects and occasional flashy effects seems to reflect her personality. But I could finish watching it without feeling uncomfortable, which is likely because she’s accustomed to it.

 

Judging by the frequency of her uploads, she’s been active for over a year.

Ignoring my personal preferences, her slightly flashy editing might be suitable for a graduation video.

Removing my earphones and looking up at the sky, I gently close my eyelids.

 

…She surely has her own PC, and if I’m looking for someone within a short period, she might be the most suitable candidate. Whether I can invite her or not is not something to think about right now.

 

I have no choice but to invite her.

It’s one of the few tasks left for me to do.

 

As a precaution, I also check the channel’s description and related URLs. Her SNS account is listed there, just in case.

I should confirm this much before proceeding.

Opening the app I recently installed, her account had posted something just five minutes ago.

 

“Shall I go see the cherry blossoms on my way home?”

 

The attached photo showed a cherry blossom tree along a roadside embankment known locally as “Sakura Avenue.”

If I want to contact Nakayama, this might be my only chance.

She’s always at the center of attention in school. This is something to discuss in private. Since there are two more classes in the afternoon, I still have at least two hours to think about it.

 

“Oh…!”

 

Since there’s no clock on the rooftop, I check the time on my smartphone screen and accidentally let out a sound. It’s already been twenty minutes since the start of class.

 

Oops… What’s the first class in the afternoon again?

Returning to the classroom, the cold stares I received upon my arrival are something I’ll never get used to, no matter how many times I experience them. Fortunately, it seems Yuuto or someone else made up a reason for my absence, citing stomach pains from overeating lunch. Despite feeling apologetic for the concerned inquiries, I assured them I was fine and took my seat.

 

She’s not someone I’ve ever really bonded with. With our limited interactions, convincing her would likely be difficult using my usual approach.

But it’s okay, there’s still time. I clasped my hands together on the desk, took a deep breath, and calmly submerged my thoughts into the sea of contemplation.

 

When was the last time two hours felt this short? The classroom had transitioned into an after-school atmosphere, with students chatting and preparing to head home. Where were they planning to go afterward? Were club activities tough today?

Amidst the various conversations, Nakayama’s presence was absent. She must have already left for home, taking photos of cherry blossoms along her route.

Swiftly gathering my belongings and rising from my seat, I turned to face Shizuku who had approached me.

 

“Sorry, could you let the student council know I won’t be attending today? I have something I need to take care of before the day ends.”

 

“Eh, okay… but…”

 

“Sorry. I appreciate it.”

 

Hurrying to deliver the message to Shizuku and then swiftly exiting the classroom, I should be able to send a message to the committee.

After talking with Nakayama, there should still be some time left to assist with the preparations upon returning to school.

Taking cautious steps forward with my somewhat rusty legs, I head towards my destination, knowing that even if she’s not as agile as before, I should still make it on time.

 

 

Underneath the rows of cherry blossom trees along the embankment, a high school girl holds her phone, stretching her arm out as if trying to get closer to the branches, completely absorbed.

Seeing her figure, I obtained the ultimate confirmation that the person in the video was indeed her.

 

I’ve thought through the structure of the conversation. After devoting all my class time to contemplation, I should have found a plausible sequence and reasoning.

Now, all that’s left is to gauge her reaction and respond flexibly.

 

“…Can you take good pictures?”

 

Though my lungs felt tight and sweat trickled down my forehead, I maintained composure and addressed the girl engrossed in her photography.

 

“Oh, um, I can’t seem to get the focus right… Wait, it’s you.”

 

“Hello there.”

 

As Nakayama turned around, her expression noticeably shifted upon seeing my face.

There’s no reason for her to want to meet after school.

I fully agreed with that sentiment. However, I needed to humble myself and make the request.

Setting aside personal feelings, I lined up the words as planned.

 

“I have a favour to ask…”

 

With a bowed head, I proceeded to make my request while displaying Nakayama’s channel on the screen.

 



Leave a Comment