#311


 

We’re not on good terms.

With minimal interaction between us, if I were to display the creative projects I’ve been working on and a classmate were to stand there, naturally, her guard would be at its highest.

Especially if it’s someone whose thoughts are usually hard to read.

As I take a step forward with my phone in hand, she takes a step back.

 

“Why are you here?”

 

“If you must know, I wanted to check on the cherry blossoms.”

 

“There are plenty of cherry blossoms planted all over the school. Your explanation doesn’t make sense.”

 

I gesture towards the towering cherry blossoms above as I speak, but Nakayama retorts sharply with a piercing gaze and a strong voice.

Of course, she’s right.

You can easily check how much the cherry blossoms have grown right here at school. If she didn’t know I’d be here, she wouldn’t have shown up on my phone’s homepage.

If we’re not close and there’s no favour involved, there’s no reason for me to follow her here. It’s a question that arises from a correct understanding of our relationship. Therefore, what she wants to know isn’t just the surface words but the underlying meaning.

 

“Why are you here, knowing about my actions?”

 

However, I have an answer prepared for that question.

 

“I was looking for something…”

 

“Looking for something?”

 

“What I was looking for was you.”

 

As I assert this clearly, she opens her mouth, stunned.

What a cool line that was, huh?

Maybe it ranks around seventh place on the list of lines girls want to hear. However, there’s one important point to note.

 

It only works with guys with handsome faces.

In other words, I’m aware that saying it makes me sound like a cringey try-hard, and yet, after pondering whether to change my wording just a bit, I couldn’t come up with anything else, so I went with this bitter choice.

 

“…Eww.”

 

“Yeah, I thought so too.”

 

Yeah, I kind of felt that way myself when I said it.

It’s like, even saying it myself makes me cringe at how cheesy it sounds. In shoujo anime, they say it with sparkling eyes and a lifted chin, but reality is different from them.

Using a roundabout approach with someone you’re not close to will only backfire.

 

Let’s get to the point, though.

I glance at her homepage once again before turning my gaze back to the real Nakayama in front of me.

 

“It’s a name derived from Tsumugi, and you even show her face… It shouldn’t be a problem until you gain some popularity, and besides, Nakayama probably doesn’t care about being recognized anyway. But.”

<BBX: Wordplay, her name’s kanji also means a type of valuable silk fabric woven from fine threads, and he also has to ‘spin’ and ‘weave’ together words to convince her.>

“So, what’s the point? Are you planning to confirm it and turn it into a joke? Or do you have a cross-dressing hobby?”

 

“No, no, I’d rather dress up a mannequin in a department store than try cross-dressing…”

 

Nakayama continues to maintain her strong demeanour without faltering. She posts videos of herself doing makeup, so maybe that’s the answer to whether I’m into cross-dressing as well?

Unfortunately, I’m more confident that the mannequins in clothing stores would make better disguises.

Minato-kun is known for his low self-esteem, so don’t criticize him.

 

“I’m looking for a video editor. The request is for you to join the organizing committee for an upcoming farewell party.”

 

As I put away my phone and express my intentions, along with the thoughts in my mind, I spit out the requirements.

Glancing briefly for a reaction, I’m met with skeptical eyes.

 

There’s no hidden agenda here, just my honest intentions. But that’s to be expected.

It’s only natural to be wary when someone suddenly appears in front of you and brings up such a topic out of the blue. If I were in her shoes, I’d be even more cautious, listening carefully to every word to avoid missing anything.

The only sound between us is the rustling of leaves in the wind, and Nakayama seems to be waiting for me to explain further.

 

“We want to give the graduates memories, something tangible to remember, not just something I’ve captured, but memories left by the underclassmen.”

 

She taps her pocket where her phone is, indicating that it’s recording. She doesn’t need to verbalize it, but it seems she’s grasped the gist of the conversation.

However, she’s arrived at the question that everyone would have.

 

“Why don’t you do it yourself? Nowadays, anyone can edit videos easily.”

 

“Well, that might be a valid answer.”

 

“And why should I bother with something so troublesome?”

 

She says this with dissatisfaction and discomfort.

No one readily accepts invitations from someone they categorize as disliked. That’s why I’ve prepared negotiation material with my limited wisdom.

 

The art of negotiation.

If I were to agitate her discomfort in a single stroke, the negotiation would undoubtedly fail. But that’s why I won’t compromise my style.

I’ve spent my life avoiding relationships where I have to fake smiles and present a good impression. I don’t have the confidence to pull it off with someone like Nakayama, who ranks high in the school’s hierarchy.

 

“In the future, even if it’s a clumsy edit, it might become a cherished memory when you look back… But what I want is not just immediate success. I don’t want to be known for lowering the quality to make it easier for everyone.”

 

“That doesn’t give me a reason to help you…”

 

With a sigh, she moves as if to end the conversation and leave this place.

I hurriedly string my words together to stop her.

 

“The potential is limitless… That’s a fallacy. For those who cannot pick up the small fragments that fall before them, there is no infinite potential.”

 

“What’s with the sudden sermon?”

 

“Just the mutterings of a guy with twisted personality.”

 

With a wry smile, I speak, and although Nakayama sighs, she listens without interrupting.

She might surprisingly be a good listener. With that thought, I refocus my attention on the conversation.

 

“High schoolers are seen as bundles of potential, but is that really true? In reality, we’re just searching for the best among the small, narrow choices available to us.”

 

Even if it’s the right thing to do, people still seek reasons.

They label altruistic service as hypocrisy and consider paid service as normal. As high schoolers, we’re even more inclined to seek answers that explain why someone does what they do.

 

 

If one person does what others won’t, they’re seen as isolated. To fit in among people, you need to understand what they’re thinking and how they’ll act.

You can adjust your pace accordingly. But if you’re going to match your pace, you’ll also stop when they stop.

Even if you know you’re right, the silent stares around you warn you not to step ahead of the crowd.

 

So, I just need to tell Nakayama.

A noble cause, a reason from the good-hearted people she may consider extending her hand to. If her cooperation can even slightly enhance her reputation, then this is the right choice.

If I dangle a bit of her favourite treat, there should be no problem.

 

So, what is it that she wants?

Money? Popularity?

The answer is simple: numbers.

When it comes to creating art, the problems to overcome, the challenges to surpass, are all about numbers.

The number of people who support and cheer for you is the only unique indicator in the world of creation where you don’t have to face others directly.

 

Even though I’m not adept at the internet and not particularly interested, I can still find information about her activities with a little research. It seems she has an open personality when it comes to her activities.

I doubt there will be another moment in life where I’ll feel the phrase ‘looks can be deceiving’ as strongly as I do today.

So, the negotiation material is straightforward, a direct approach.

 

“If you’re not hiding anything, then just show it. If you were to announce your involvement in the production of the school’s graduation video to the students, it might be considered a trivial level by some, but it could have the publicity effect of several hundred people.”

 

“Huh? There’s no way I’d do something so embarrassing.”

 

“As I said before, this is just a fragment of a possibility that happened to fall into your lap. Whether to pick it up or discard it is up to you.”

 

Just as Nakayama was about to retort, I take out a piece of paper with handwritten numbers.

It’s makeshift information, but it’s about how many students today are involved in the internet. And the total number of students and the events held annually.

For events where attendance is optional, I’ve included the attendance numbers for the past three years.

 

I managed to prepare it during class by asking the student council president if it was okay to rely on memory. They’re baseless numbers, but this isn’t business. It’s an imitation of negotiations conducted by adults.

There’s no need to back everything up.

If I can make the presented possibilities seem credible, then success is already within reach.

 

“You can also plan future school events as video projects… If the catchphrase is ‘a school that understands students’ dreams,’ then the school won’t be able to interfere, especially if I inform the student council, and I will. They won’t have much say.”

 

“A project… Hmm.”

 

As someone who uploads videos, she responds beautifully to phrases that seem to pique her interest. However, it doesn’t seem effective enough to warrant an immediate response.

…I don’t want to resort to this kind of tactic, but perhaps.

 

“Yuuto is also among the students helping out. The possibility of spending time together is just one of the small things.”

 

“Huh, really!?”

 

She shows even more interest than I expected in my words.

The existence of the school prince seems to be even more desirable than I thought.

 

If the bait I dangled was indeed enticing, then now it’s up to her to think and decide.

Extra pushing might backfire. In this good flow of conversation, giving her options and a little time limit should turn things around.

 

“Well, that’s all I wanted to say… If you decide to help, please stay after school tomorrow.”

 

“Is it really just going to be you talking and then leaving? You really don’t have many friends, do you?”

 

Faced with an undeniable fact, I shrug.

It might be something unimaginable for a student like her, but I only have a handful of friends. Whether that’s good or bad is up to the individual. I like my current environment.

 

So, without answering Nakayama’s question, I turn back the way I came. If I hurry, I should be able to participate in after-school activities fully.

Suppressing the urge to hear her answer, I resume my steps towards the school building.

 


<BBX> : Minato’s sermon had me like …what am I tl’ing a cultivation manhua xD, He wouldn’t make a good philosoper imo…


1 Comment

  1. Mirilu says:

    Maybe it’s just me but something like: “I can get you a date with Yuuto” would have done the trick but I guess he wants to do his solo thing. He could have also just blackmailed her but that’d be too much.

    Like

Leave a Comment