#313


 

One male student are three female students. In such a situation, what expression should one wear while walking?

Even though it’s after school, there are still many students lingering in the school building. Naturally, attracting attention is uncomfortable to the extreme.

Since I’m leading the way to our destination, the students’ suspicion towards me is undoubtedly significant.

 

It’s understandable.

The combination of the two in Sakuranaoka Academy’s buildings is quite inconsistent. Few students in the school haven’t seen her, with her wavy hair adorned with flashy accessories and a slightly dishevelled uniform. To put it bluntly, she’s a gyaru, even if I don’t put it bluntly.

On the other hand, there’s a male student with a normal appearance, albeit with his collar slightly loosened. He’s becoming famous for being friendly with the top-tier students in the school, but that fame doesn’t stem from his abilities or appearance.

Just before reaching the covered walkway leading to the first-year building, Nakayama opens her mouth as if she’s just remembered something.

 

“Hey, there was something I wanted to ask too.”

 

“Go ahead.”

 

Surely she’s building up some question she wants to ask. I respond without turning back while leading the way.

“It’s about two weeks until the farewell party, but how many people are currently preparing for it?”

 

…What a difficult question to answer.

From Nakayama’s perspective, it’s a natural question to wonder about the scale of the committee members who will participate in the activities from now on.

She might think that a certain number of students are selected from each grade or even each class.

So, the voice that came out of my mouth in response to her question was very quiet.

 

“…Just three.”

 

“Huh?”

 

“…Only three are participating. Sometimes the student council helps out, though.”

 

Carrying a bag with many jingling key-chains on her shoulder, Nakayama had been gazing out the window as we walked. She now turns her gaze back to me, her eyes widening as she stops in her tracks.

In a moment of stiffness, her right hand moves as if propelled by a spring and swings vigorously in front of her face.

 

“No, no, no, that’s too few… Is it possible to refuse now?”

 

“Of course not. Once we’ve shaken hands, I’m as tenacious as super glue.”

 

“Gross… It’s gross to say with a face like that.”

 

Yeah, I thought so too as I said it myself.

But once you’ve committed to participating, there’s no escaping it. Even if I thought I didn’t need to say it to your face, this time I won’t retort.

After all, my persistence is as strong as a cockroach trap.

Nakayama seems to be wavering despite my reaction, but she promptly shuts her mouth when met with cold stares.

 

“…”

 

“…”

 

The eyes of both Shizuku and Kirasaka are reflecting Nakayama’s back.

Inadvertently, the words that spilled from her mouth seemed to touch a nerve with the two, as their gazes weren’t directed as they were looking at her as their fellow classmate.

Their vacant eyes, multiplied by two, turned into a chill that assaulted Nakayama.

Without looking back, she immediately offered a correction.

 

“Ah, no, scratch that. It’s nothing. It’s rude to comment on people’s appearances, right?”

 

Her raised right hand trembles slightly, and cold sweat runs down her forehead. I felt as if her gaze towards me was seeking help.

 

“But, well, if these two are here, then I guess I’m not needed… Three people should be fine, after all.”

 

Her supplementary statement once again slows our progress.

With the explanation that three people are enough, everyone will surely assume that the three of us currently present are the members.

 

…I had planned to explain everything once we reached the classroom, but now I’ve been put on the spot.

With a sour expression on my face, I muttered under my breath, hoping not to be found out.

 

“The remaining two are first-year students, Shiraishi and Hino… They’re the ones I asked to refrain from participating.”

 

“Huh?! I don’t get it… Wait, just me?”

 

Even Nakayama, who had been tense with the attention focused on her, now wore a shocked expression.

She didn’t understand. Not just in her words, but in her entire demeanour, she showed confusion. The two who had previously seemed vacant-eyed nodded in agreement.

 

“Don’t worry, it’s not like I’m fully convinced either.”

 

“I really want to help out as much as possible, but…”

 

While responding to Nakayama’s question, the two spoke as if urging a reconsideration.

The situation was not good at all.

This exchange was only generating negative effects. There was nothing but silence from me, the one responsible for creating this situation.

 

“There are various reasons… We’re proceeding with the current number of people at full capacity.”

 

It sounded like a child’s excuse.

That’s all I could say. Nakayama’s words were indeed correct.

Should I make the choice to back down and not ask anything further, like an adult would? Or should I be perceptive enough to understand the situation?

However, precisely because it wasn’t a delicate relationship, Nakayama could speak honestly and deeply.

 

“Is it like a matter of man’s pride? But if that’s the case, it’s surprising that the two wouldn’t help out. It’s like they’re obedient girls who follow the requests of the boys they like, which I don’t really like. But, I don’t think that applies to Kanazaki-san and Kirasaka-san, right…?”

 

“…”

 

“…”

 

“…”

 

“Huh, I was just kidding… No, wait, is it actually true?”

 

Did she hit the nail on the head? No, it’s just a red herring.

<BBX: Coincidence>

With just her first words, she accurately guessed our feelings, and the two blushed slightly and looked down, perhaps feeling that their thoughts had been seen through.

Even Nakayama herself, who started the conversation, seemed awkward and flustered, her gaze wandering.

 

…What’s with this atmosphere?

How much more of our lives will be shaved away during this short time walking down the hallway?

For the remaining few minutes of the journey, no one spoke, which was perhaps the only common consideration in this conversation.

 

Opening the door to the classroom where the committee members gather, the first thing that caught our eye was Hino, who was preparing tea.

It’s a scene we’ve become accustomed to, but for newcomers, it’s nothing but discomfort.

 

“Big, red, scary!”

 

“That’s terrible to say to someone you’re meeting for the first time!”

Her words were short and direct. Indeed, Hino is big, has red hair, and has a scary face. There’s nothing wrong with that.

 

I’ve got nothing to retort to.

As I ignore the interaction between the two, I place my belongings on a seat by the window. The sound of footsteps hurrying down the hallway echoes, and then Shiraishi enters through the door, looking like she wants to say something as she puffs out her cheeks.

However, her momentum was halted by the sight of a senior she didn’t usually see in this state.

 

“…Hello.”

 

“Hello! I’m Momiji Shiraishi, a first-year member of the student council. Nice to meet you!”

 

As Nakayama gave a slight nod, Shiraishi reflexively smiled and introduced herself. Her voice was a tone higher, and the angle of her neck when she smiled was a calculated movement to show her best side.

…That reaction must have been automatic. Such a charming junior, her first impression is perfect.

 

Passing through the group with a bright smile, Shiraishi stopped beside me. Naturally, since all eyes were on us, there was no change in my expression.

However, Shiraishi spoke in a volume only I could hear.

“I haven’t heard anything about her being a gyaru.”

 

“I might not have mentioned it, but as you can see, she is.”

 

It’s okay. Even though you’ve only had a short conversation, I think Nakayama gets along well with you.

Because she’s the type to speak her mind.

With that thought in mind, I averted my gaze from Shiraishi’s resentful eyes.

 

“Then, we’ll head to the student council room.”

 

“Sorry for asking you to stay… but we’re counting on you.”

 

Shiraishi and Kirasaka called out to us near the entrance of the classroom.

In reality, it was already time for us to have arrived at the student council room and started our activities.

Feeling apologetic for asking them to stay, I stood up to see them off, and Nakayama, who had been sitting at the teacher’s desk, glanced at the two.

 

“Hey, Kanazaki-san, Kirasaka-san.”

 

Unusually, Nakayama called out to the two. As they looked at her, wondering what she wanted, she briefly stated her business.

 

“You two are surprisingly docile.”

 

Surely, it was just an honest impression without any ill intent.

The two first-year students couldn’t possibly understand the meaning behind her words.

In this situation, they couldn’t miss what wavered beneath Shizuku’s smile and behind Kirasaka’s sharp gaze.

 


<BBX> : lol


Leave a Comment