#314


 

The committee members had gathered in the sewing room, with two at the teacher’s desk, one at the back near the window, and one at the front by the window. Despite meeting for the first time just now, they seemed to blend into the familiar scene effortlessly.

This was probably because the two at the teacher’s desk seemed to have better chemistry than imagined, leading to lively conversations.

 

“Amazing! Did Nakayama-senpai make this herself?”

 

“Yeah, that’s right! I’m quite proud of how cute it turned out!”

 

Shiraishi and Nakayama stood shoulder to shoulder, focusing their gaze in one direction.

Ahead of their gaze was cheerful music flowing from the laptop on the desk. It was the same music that played in her videos’ end credits. Nakayama must have shown Shiraishi her videos as a self-introduction. As women, makeup and beauty were likely common topics for them.

However, considering Shiraishi’s personality, I had imagined she wouldn’t get along with a typical cheerful student like Nakayama. But it seemed I was wrong. I breathed a sigh of relief seeing them enjoy each other’s company, as Hino-kun approached quietly from the front of the classroom with freshly brewed tea.

 

“You two seem to be having fun… I’m quite surprised.”

 

Contrary to his appearance, Hino-kun delicately placed the teacup on the edge of my desk and turned around to speak.

Since joining the committee, he had temporarily brought his own serving set from the student council room, offering tea to each of us as we began our activities.

 

While initially not keen on the task assigned by the student council, he seemed to have become accustomed to it and was now even experimenting to brew better tea. Anything could become a weapon if honed properly. It turned out that his interest in Japanese culture was unexpectedly advantageous.

Taking care not to burn myself, I gently warmed my hands around the cup and looked in the same direction as Hino-kun.

 

“Indeed, it’s not what I had imagined.”

 

If the two could get along well, that was all that mattered. It would prevent any awkwardness and delays in our work.

However, the problem lay with us, not with them. Taking a sip of tea and immediately lowering my gaze, I saw a calendar and a notepad spread out in front of me.

 

The farewell party was scheduled for the week after next. We needed to ensure everything was ready by then, including a rehearsal the day before. Failure was not an option; we couldn’t settle for excuses or expect understanding. We had a responsibility to conduct the ceremony we had agreed to undertake.

Even with all the time spent contemplating, it still felt insufficient. I had too many shortcomings. But there was no time to feel inferior compared to others. I had to think with what little I had.

 

I wasn’t sure about Nakayama’s work speed, but the reality was that we couldn’t do anything without providing materials. We needed to improve our efficiency and help Shiraishi while also participating in physical work like Hino-kun.

Despite being physically weak, as males, the two of us couldn’t handle it alone. And it’s beyond the scope of what Hino-kun can handle by himself. Thus, there were many challenges in planning the schedule.

We needed at least ten students for the farewell party’s proceedings. Would the school agree to our request for teachers to assist in the roles we couldn’t assign to students? Even after thinking a lot, it still felt inadequate.

 

Even when I think about it, there aren’t many places I can refer to. The truth is that the video isn’t enough to give the gist of it. I needed to consult someone, but I couldn’t bring myself to do it.

I have and idea who I can go to, but I can’t seem to move ahead with it.

 

“Are you lost in thought? Moving your body might help with that.”

 

Physical appearance was just one aspect of a person’s judgment, but visual information often constituted most of the impression. Hence, it was inevitable that I chuckled at the red-haired big guy’s words who was brewing tea, despite feeling sorry for him.

 

“You sound like someone’s mother…”

 

Looking up at Hino-kun’s face, he appeared unusually worried.

Taken away from the student council and repeating work with no end in sight, it was understandable to feel anxious, especially when the person in charge was incompetent.

With those muttered words, I redirected my gaze downward, away from his face.

As if cutting through the somber atmosphere, Shiraishi spoke up.

 

“Shinra-senpai! Let’s get started soon.”

 

She gestured with her hand towards the teacher’s desk, where she was sitting. Nakayama, sitting next to her, also glanced at me while fiddling with her hair.

Gathering my things on the desk, I grabbed the tea that Hino-kun had brewed and moved to a nearby seat. Similarly, Hino-kun approached with a notepad and pen in hand from his belongings. Finally, today’s activities began to take shape.

 

Since introductions were already done, there was no need for formal greetings. We simply shared information with each other, discussing the current progress and the status of collecting video messages from underclassmen.

At our current pace, we estimated that we needed four more days for collection and five more days for video production before the event.

 

“With Nakayama-senpai joining us, we can start preparing in earnest, but we need to work hard first.”

 

“Yeah… Let’s quickly share the data we have and gather any additional ones needed in the near future.”

 

We all looked at Shiraishi’s smartphone placed on one desk, as both Shiraishi and I muttered.

On her phone, nostalgic records were being sent via messaging apps from classmates who had reached out to her before today’s gathering.

I didn’t care that she had more friends than me, even in double digits.

Beside me, Nakayama, who was carefully reviewing each video with a serious gaze, asked.

 

“Is it okay for seniors to give instructions and move accordingly?”

 

This question made Nakayama pause scrolling through the screen and turn to us. Since it concerned the future direction for me too, I couldn’t remain indifferent.

With all eyes on her, I took a moment before responding.

 

“Well, for video creation, let’s proceed with Nakayama’s approach.”

 

She nodded slightly in agreement with my decision.

 

“I don’t mind, and it’s easier to move that way.”

 

“I’ll discuss the data sharing method and structure, but I don’t intend to meddle unnecessarily as an amateur.”

 

I conveyed the same message to Shiraishi and Hino-kun. Both of them looked at each other, slightly puzzled. Although Nakayama was welcomed as a video editor, she was still a newcomer to them.

 

They probably didn’t expect to seek instructions from her. This was something I had considered since deciding to include Nakayama in the project.

I knew that the best choice was for us to clash opinions and collaborate to achieve the best result. But we didn’t have time for lengthy discussions.

 

Given our limited past relationship and the time constraints ahead, it would be unwise to favour one side too much when adjusting our vision between me and Nakayama.

 

The choice was obvious.

Those without knowledge should refrain from unnecessary interference, which could lower the quality and motivation.

While it might be seen as relying too much on others, it was a necessary choice for intensive short-term progress.

 

“Let’s start by sharing the data we have on hand… Shiraishi, sorry to ask, but can I rely on you? There’s someone I need to make a quick call to.”

 

“It’s okay, but…”

 

“Thanks.”

 

With that, I told Shiraishi and left my seat, opening the classroom door and stepping out into the corridor. As Shiraishi’s voice echoed through the hallway, talking to Nakayama from across the wall, I moved to a quieter spot.

 

 

Walking down the hallway, up the stairs, I took out my phone on the landing. From there, I could see students engaged in club activities in the schoolyard.

Pressing the call button on the screen, I heard a familiar voice after a few rings.

 

“…Sorry to bother you while you’re busy, President.”

 

The person on the other end of the call was Hiiragi Akane, who had served as the head of the farewell party committee in the past two events.

Is it really appropriate to call the person we’re sending off? Despite feeling a sense of certainty that President wouldn’t be bothered by it, I couldn’t help but wonder.

However, it was a fact that she was the only one I could turn to for advice.

 

“If it’s a call from you, I don’t mind at all. So, what’s the matter today? I’d be delighted if it’s an invitation for a date.”

 

President joked in her usual calm voice. Why does her voice feel nostalgic even though it’s only been a few days since we last spoke? Is there a connection to the idea that people tend to forget someone’s voice before their face?

Shaking off these unnecessary thoughts, I expressed my thoughts aloud.

 

“Unfortunately, it’s not a request I can fulfill… Do you have a moment to spare?”

 

I couldn’t help but feel like I had a really unpleasant personality, knowing that President would make time for me even if she was busy.

And, as expected, President readily agreed without hesitation.

 



1 Comment

  1. Mirilu says:

    dude doesn’t make sense at all, oof

    Like

Leave a Comment